Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: Apollo Team announces the Vampire V4  (Read 25758 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Niding

Re: Apollo Team announces the Vampire V4
« Reply #30 on: August 04, 2017, 01:29:35 AM »
Before people jump off a bridge due to the FPU/MMU issue, there is always the chance there will be library support for missing compability.

But in true Amiga tradition, we go nuts instead.
 

Offline jdryyz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Mar 2004
  • Posts: 477
  • Country: us
  • Total likes: 0
  • Gender: Male
Re: Apollo Team announces the Vampire V4
« Reply #31 on: August 04, 2017, 01:42:39 AM »
Quote from: Niding;829041
Before people jump off a bridge due to the FPU/MMU issue, there is always the chance there will be library support for missing compability.

But in true Amiga tradition, we go nuts instead.

:rofl:
 

Offline Matt_H

Re: Vampire v4
« Reply #32 on: August 04, 2017, 01:47:15 AM »
Quote from: QuikSanz;829036
That's a good idea but, how to drive the floppy?


Er, good question. Can those I/O ports do the trick? Hang a Catweasel off the IDE port? Hang a Kyroflux off a USB port? (are there Amiga drivers for it?)

Quote from: Oldsmobile_Mike;829037
It's 2017, people need to let the floppy go.  :laughing:


Some might say the same about the Amiga :)
While it's true there is no use for floppies in day-to-day use, it would be good to have the option for onboard imaging of disks.
 

Offline LoadWB

Re: Vampire v4
« Reply #33 on: August 04, 2017, 02:30:12 AM »
Quote from: Oldsmobile_Mike;829037
It's 2017, people need to let the floppy go.  :laughing:

Pry it from my cold dead hands, Muchacho.
 

Offline QuikSanz

Re: Vampire v4
« Reply #34 on: August 04, 2017, 02:35:21 AM »
Quote from: LoadWB;829044
Pry it from my cold dead hands, Muchacho.


In true Charlton Heston fashion, love it!
 

Offline Iggy

Re: Apollo Team announces the Vampire V4
« Reply #35 on: August 04, 2017, 02:39:41 AM »
Quote from: Niding;829041
Before people jump off a bridge due to the FPU/MMU issue, there is always the chance there will be library support for missing compability.

But in true Amiga tradition, we go nuts instead.


No, the Amiga tradition is making excuses for persistent flaws in hardware and software and fawning over said flawed products like infantile schoolboys with a crush. :hammer:

But, if all you're doing is playing games, hey you're all set (except for the few games that need an fpu).  :laugh1:
"Not making any hard and fast rules means that the moderators can use their good judgment in moderation, and we think the results speak for themselves." - Amiga.org, terms of service

"You, got to stem the evil tide, and keep it on the the inside" - Rogers Waters

"God was never on your side" - Lemmy

Amiga! "Our appeal has become more selective"
 

Offline midway

Re: Apollo Team announces the Vampire V4
« Reply #36 on: August 04, 2017, 03:22:01 AM »
Sounds cool. I will keep my tekmagic though:roflmao:
 

Offline QuikSanz

Re: Apollo Team announces the Vampire V4
« Reply #37 on: August 04, 2017, 03:34:05 AM »
Quote from: midway;829047
Sounds cool. I will keep my tekmagic though:roflmao:


Wish I still had my 2060 but with all this I may just keep my A2000 an 030/40 for games and use the A4000T CS MKIII w/CV64 3D for heavy stuff. Have heavy expansion for both anyway, just need Indys.
 

Offline Crom00

Re: Apollo Team announces the Vampire V4
« Reply #38 on: August 04, 2017, 03:50:47 AM »
The new FPGA in V4 has more space for things like AGA RTG and FPU and is one of the best in it's Cyclone version 5 class. It's able to run the ram at very fast speeds.
 

Offline QuikSanz

Re: Apollo Team announces the Vampire V4
« Reply #39 on: August 04, 2017, 04:18:52 AM »
Quote from: Crom00;829050
The new FPGA in V4 has more space for things like AGA RTG and FPU and is one of the best in it's Cyclone version 5 class. It's able to run the ram at very fast speeds.


Put a real MMU & FPU in it and I'll get one. Otherwise I pretty much have it all already covered.
 

Offline nyteschayde

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 638
  • Total likes: 2
    • http://www.nyteshade.com
Re: Apollo Team announces the Vampire V4
« Reply #40 on: August 04, 2017, 04:22:21 AM »
YES!!! I can't wait **fangirl scream**
Senior MTS Software Engineer with PayPal
Amigas: A1200T 060/603e PPC • A1200T 060 • A4000D 040 • A3000 (x2) • A2000 Vamp/V2 • A1200 (x4) • A1000 (x3) • A600 Vamp/V1 • A500
 

Offline gregthecanuck

Re: Apollo Team announces the Vampire V4
« Reply #41 on: August 04, 2017, 05:57:55 AM »
Quote from: QuikSanz;829051
Put a real MMU & FPU in it and I'll get one. Otherwise I pretty much have it all already covered.


It has an MMU, but it is an evolved design from previous chips. This has good/bad points. Bad point is it is not backwards compatible. Good point is it is a forward-looking design supporting MMU features (such as non-executable memory) that are not in previous MMU designs. Also has other bonuses that contribute to overall system performance.

Gunnar has taken a long-term view on where the design should be going forward and I agree completely with the decisions being made. I am no fanboy but this guy does know what he is doing. Some short-term pain for sure as the tools/utilities catch up with the new MMU.

The FPU side - short-term the team has recently delivered the "femu" software that allows *any* FPU-less Amiga to run programs requiring an FPU. Pretty cool. Is it as fast as a real FPU - heck no! Does it let a lot of new programs run - yes. How much of a hit the software FPU makes on performance depends a lot on the program. Also this software is very new (version 0.10 recently released) so in theory the speed could be improved going forward.

Long-term the plan is for an FPU to be there in the core. It is just a resource/priority issue (and maybe an available LE issue). At least for now there is a short-term solution.

For some people a hardware FPU is very important. I can understand that completely. For example I think Quake ran at like 2 or 3 FPS (instead of not running at all). In that case you just need to keep waiting for the feature to be implemented... only 2 more weeks... ;)

Cheers!
« Last Edit: August 04, 2017, 06:01:29 AM by gregthecanuck »
 

Offline Motormouth

Re: Apollo Team announces the Vampire V4
« Reply #42 on: August 04, 2017, 06:15:19 AM »
This is great news.  Also it is an indication of actual financial success of  an actual amiga product!!!!!

A couple thoughts/comments

1)
I just got my Vampire 500 V2+  just over a month ago.   Very fast!
My A2000 has become my primary amiga machine, (over an 040 A4000 and A3000s)

2)
mmmmm an A500/A2000 etc version or standalone.  very hard decision?

3)
What about a3000 and/or a4000 version?

4)
I know the FPU thing keeps coming up, but it is some fast that the vampire is still 50%-100% of the speed of a 25 mhz 68882 or 25 mhz 040 fpu unit in floating point calculating using brute force integer.
My biggest problem on not having FPU to more of an issue with installing software.  installers detect an 040 or 060 and assume an FPU.  Sometimes you need to install the 020 version.  This in not horrible (but I majorly crashed my A2000 twice where I had fall back to older backups)
 

Offline nyteschayde

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 638
  • Total likes: 2
    • http://www.nyteshade.com
Re: Apollo Team announces the Vampire V4
« Reply #43 on: August 04, 2017, 06:45:59 AM »
Are there any old software FPUs that the Vampire could run? Something to simply emulate one or tell the OS and other software there is one even if the ops are slower than potential hardware?
Senior MTS Software Engineer with PayPal
Amigas: A1200T 060/603e PPC • A1200T 060 • A4000D 040 • A3000 (x2) • A2000 Vamp/V2 • A1200 (x4) • A1000 (x3) • A600 Vamp/V1 • A500
 

Offline Methanoid

Re: Apollo Team announces the Vampire V4
« Reply #44 on: August 04, 2017, 08:11:04 AM »
I wonder if the standalone will also run other FPGA cores like MIST does... Atari ST might be fun to do as well as Amiga