Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Hi everyone, newbie here :)  (Read 2114 times)

Description:

Offline tonto2kTopic starter

• Show only replies by tonto2k
Hi everyone, newbie here :)
« on: May 13, 2004, 11:38:32 AM »
Hi,

I am new to amiga's. I couldn't afford one back in the day, but now the hardware is a bit cheaper(or is it?) I thought I would get into the scene.

I am the proud owner of a 500 with 512k expansion from a car boot sale. A 600 standard and I recently bought a gvp impact series II off a good old boy called Matt. I have a 540 mb quantum fireball scsi drive in it and a load of old sims off ebay for it. I also have the gvp 286 expansion plug in for the expansion slot thing(lucky me?) The 286 came with the 600 for some reason even tho it only works with the 500 !

Anyone any experience with these gvp impact series II hd+ and installing ram on them?

thanks in advance guys.
tonto.

Offline Martyn

• Show only replies by Martyn
Re: Hi everyone, newbie here :)
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2004, 12:55:06 PM »
Welcome tonto.

I recently bought a gvp impact series II off a good old boy called Matt. I have a 540 mb quantum fireball scsi drive in it and a load of old sims off ebay for it.

Anyone any experience with these gvp impact series II hd+ and installing ram on them?

You've bought a Impact Series II for the 500?  I thought it was an A2000 card? And the A500 version was the
Impact 500?

Also, if it's a Impact Series II 2000-HC rather than a Impact Series II 2000-HC+8 you can't fit ram anyway.

But that's beside the point.  What have you got?

Cheers,
Martyn.

p.s.  If you've got 'a load' (i.e. more than you need) of GVP simms (they use their own propriety simms), then I'd buy some off you.

p.p.s  I haven't confused you, have I?!
If you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup. You put water into a bottle and it becomes the bottle. You put it in a teapot it becomes the teapot.