Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: EmuTOS + FreeMiNT for Amiga!  (Read 309 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline slaapliedje

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 835
  • Country: 00
  • Total likes: 3
EmuTOS + FreeMiNT for Amiga!
« on: September 07, 2016, 06:30:05 AM »
Was looking back a few months in the Freemint mailing list, and since I don't see a post here about it, figured I'd share.  Apparently there is a port of EmuTOS running on the Amiga.  Until someone sticks it in a ROM then of course it'll only work on emulators and such, but apparently you can run the whole GEM compatible stack.

http://mail.atariforge.org/pipermail/freemint-list/Week-of-Mon-20160627/000063.html

Now if I could get kickstart to launch on my Falcon.. :P
A4000D: Mediator 4000Di; Voodoo 3, ZorRAM 128MB, 10/100mb Ethernet, Spider 2. Cyberstorm PPC 060/50 604e/420.
 

Offline XDelusion

Re: EmuTOS + FreeMiNT for Amiga!
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2016, 03:40:40 PM »
That's actually really cool!

If you could now get the Amiga to run Magic as well, then we'd pretty much be set would we not?
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
 

Offline slaapliedje

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 835
  • Country: 00
  • Total likes: 3
Re: EmuTOS + FreeMiNT for Amiga!
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2016, 07:23:32 AM »
Well, if you could get EmuTOS running in an Amiga, I don't know why you couldn't run Magic on top of that.  If I recall correctly you could basically run Magic one of three ways, replace the ROM in the system, load the MAGIC.RAM, or just run it with single-tasking TOS.  

Granted the first two options are probably the better ones.  I would think once you have EmuTOS loaded, you should in theory be able to run any TOS/GEM level software you wanted.  

From the Aranym site;
"On the top of TOS 4.04 or EmuTOS you can boot into MagiC or FreeMiNT,  ARAnyM support for MagiC is unoficial, though (but its latest version  6.20 does work in recent ARAnyM pretty well)."
A4000D: Mediator 4000Di; Voodoo 3, ZorRAM 128MB, 10/100mb Ethernet, Spider 2. Cyberstorm PPC 060/50 604e/420.
 

Offline amiman99

Re: EmuTOS + FreeMiNT for Amiga!
« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2016, 10:37:18 PM »
I got EmuTOS running on A1000 as a kickstart replacement.
Works in BW only, no official floppy support. On A1000 you can  only get 256K RAM because ST RAM uses the chip RAM, you can use the Fast RAM, but you need to patch ST program to use it, or something like that.
A500 KS 2.1, 1MB Chip, 68000
A600 KS 3.1, 2MB Chip, ACA630 32MB RAM
A1000 KS 1.3, 8MB RAM
A1200 KS 3.1, Blizzard IV 50MHz 64MB RAM
A2000 KS 2.1, 68030 25MHz, 6MB RAM
A3000 KS 3.1, 68030 25MHz, 16MB RAM
A4000 KS 3.0, 68040 25MHz, 16MB RAM
CDTV KS 3.1, 4MB RAM
CD32
(AROS BOX) Dead :(
 

Offline slaapliedje

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 835
  • Country: 00
  • Total likes: 3
Re: EmuTOS + FreeMiNT for Amiga!
« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2016, 01:10:24 AM »
Hmm, straight EmuTOS?  I would think FreeMiNT would be able to use the memory beyond chip ram.
A4000D: Mediator 4000Di; Voodoo 3, ZorRAM 128MB, 10/100mb Ethernet, Spider 2. Cyberstorm PPC 060/50 604e/420.