Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

AuthorTopic: WiFi modem for all Amigas?  (Read 229 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JimDrew

  • Lifetime Member
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jun 2012
  • Posts: 233
  • Total likes: 0
WiFi modem for all Amigas?
« on: July 11, 2016, 08:06:28 PM »
I recently released the WiModem for the Commodore 8 bit computer (see: http://www.lemon64.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=58889)

I have had a couple of people ask if I would make a version for the Amiga.  I took a look and it would be fairly easy to make a version for the Amiga that plugged into the serial port (via DB25).  It could be powered by the Amiga.

This would give you a WiFi modem that you could use to "dial" up BBS's.  We are doing that now with the C64. I am not sure how many Amiga BBS's are out there right now.  There are dozens for the C64.

Is there any interest in this?
 

Offline Matt_H

Re: WiFi modem for all Amigas?
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2016, 02:17:07 AM »
I'm a little confused as to how it works. Is it like a serial version of the plipbox? Or is it a modem emulator? Or both? Or something else?

If it's like the plipbox, it would need a SANA-II driver so that any of the TCP/IP stacks could use it to get online. plipbox needs a separate power supply, so if this thing didn't need one, that would be an advantage.

If it's a modem emulator, how does it "dial" a BBS through Ethernet/TCP/IP? It would be cool if it could allow users to natively play direct-dial or serial-link games through the internet instead of the phone line or in-person.
 

Offline Ral-Clan

Re: WiFi modem for all Amigas?
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2016, 03:00:19 AM »
Yes, how does the 8-bit version work?  Can I just plug one into my VIC-20 and somehow "dial up" an internet BBS with any piece of old terminal software?  Also, will this work on the PET computer?

Found the purchase page but no mention of the PET.  I know it says "for the Commodore 8-bit" but just wanted to make sure.

https://www.cbmstuff.com/proddetail.php?prod=WiModemOLED
« Last Edit: July 12, 2016, 03:21:05 AM by ral-clan »
Music I've made using Amigas and other retro-instruments: http://theovoids.bandcamp.com
 

Offline JimDrew

  • Lifetime Member
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jun 2012
  • Posts: 233
  • Total likes: 0
Re: WiFi modem for all Amigas?
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2016, 05:49:08 AM »
This is a modem emulator.  It supports all of the standard Hayes commands.  You could select 19200-57600 baud and use JR-Comm and other terminals.

I could look at making a SANA II driver.  I do have some info from when I supported these drivers with EMPLANT and FUSION.

I think the PET user port is not the same as the VIC-20 and C64/128's user ports.
 

Offline psxphill

Re: WiFi modem for all Amigas?
« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2016, 09:10:41 AM »
Quote from: JimDrew;810975
I think the PET user port is not the same as the VIC-20 and C64/128's user ports.

The VIC-20 and C64/128 user ports aren't the same. There are differences in the 1-12 pins, only A-N are the same. As long as you avoid the differences then it's possible to create a device that is compatible with both.

The PET user port is also the same on the A-N pins, so it's certainly possible to make a device compatible across all three. Except you don't have any 5v/9v power, so you would need to cut those traces on the adapter and grab power from somewhere else.

http://www.hardwarebook.info/Commodore_PET_Parallel_User_Port
http://www.hardwarebook.info/VIC-20_User_I/O
http://www.hardwarebook.info/C64/128_User_Port

The plus 4 is entirely different, as A-N are no longer connected to a CIA/VIA. However they are connected to the 6551 UART, so RS232 (and only RS232) devices should be able to work across all four. The power pins are there too, so no cutting traces. However you will need to make sure that you are using the correct polarity for all the pins, as you can't do cheap hacks on the plus 4 by violating the RS232 spec.

http://www.hardwarebook.info/Plus4_User_Port
« Last Edit: July 12, 2016, 10:06:11 AM by psxphill »
 

Offline JimDrew

  • Lifetime Member
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jun 2012
  • Posts: 233
  • Total likes: 0
Re: WiFi modem for all Amigas?
« Reply #5 on: July 12, 2016, 03:46:17 PM »
The WiModem works with the VIC-20, C64, SX-64, C128, and should work with the Plus 4 (I just got one in to test).  I knew the PET didn't have power available, which is why I didn't bother adding it to the compatibility list.  With power added, it should also work.  The Plus 4 and PET might need the UP9600 hack disabled, something you must do when using it in C128 mode.
 

Offline JimDrew

  • Lifetime Member
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jun 2012
  • Posts: 233
  • Total likes: 0
Re: WiFi modem for all Amigas?
« Reply #6 on: October 14, 2017, 04:59:43 PM »
Just an update, the WiModem232 is now in production!

This device supports ALL of the RS-232 lines (Tx/Rx/RTS/CTS/DSR/DTR/DCD/RI) so that you can use it to run a BBS.  Up to 115200 baud is supported (requires baudbandit.device or some other high speed serial.device replacement driver).

The WiModem232 is powered via a USB mini-B connector.  I have been using a portable iPhone charger (with rechargeable batteries) for testing as well as 5v wall wart.  This product is FCC/CE certified and comes with a lifetime warranty.

I expect to have these available next month.
 

Offline Ral-Clan

Re: WiFi modem for all Amigas?
« Reply #7 on: October 14, 2017, 05:24:44 PM »
Quote from: JimDrew;831742
Just an update, the WiModem232 is now in production!

This device supports ALL of the RS-232 lines (Tx/Rx/RTS/CTS/DSR/DTR/DCD/RI) so that you can use it to run a BBS.  Up to 115200 baud is supported (requires baudbandit.device or some other high speed serial.device replacement driver).

The WiModem232 is powered via a USB mini-B connector.  I have been using a portable iPhone charger (with rechargeable batteries) for testing as well as 5v wall wart.  This product is FCC/CE certified and comes with a lifetime warranty.

I expect to have these available next month.

I am definitely buying one for my SuperPET. Is there a waiting list I can be put on?
Or, if not will you be posting here when they are available at your on-line store?
« Last Edit: October 14, 2017, 05:26:46 PM by ral-clan »
Music I've made using Amigas and other retro-instruments: http://theovoids.bandcamp.com
 

Offline amyren

Re: WiFi modem for all Amigas?
« Reply #8 on: October 14, 2017, 06:47:37 PM »
Quote from: JimDrew;810975
This is a modem emulator.  It supports all of the standard Hayes commands.  You could select 19200-57600 baud and use JR-Comm and other terminals.

I could look at making a SANA II driver.  I do have some info from when I supported these drivers with EMPLANT and FUSION.

I think the PET user port is not the same as the VIC-20 and C64/128's user ports.


A sanaII driver will make this usable as a internet connection as well, and not only for BBS etc usage?
 

Offline Iggy

Re: WiFi modem for all Amigas?
« Reply #9 on: October 14, 2017, 06:50:03 PM »
Neat idea for the 8-bit systems.
For Amigas, I'll still use a network connection.
Amiga legacy or NG is a bit more competent that way than the 8 bit systems.
And generally we don't really need BBS' anyone, as our systems have no problem with the  more graphically orient web environment.
"Not making any hard and fast rules means that the moderators can use their good judgment in moderation, and we think the results speak for themselves." - Amiga.org, terms of service

"You, got to stem the evil tide, and keep it on the the inside" - Rogers Waters

"God was never on your side" - Lemmy

Amiga! "Our appeal has become more selective"
 

Offline motrucker

  • Classic Amiga snob
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2004
  • Posts: 2310
  • Total likes: 0
Re: WiFi modem for all Amigas?
« Reply #10 on: October 14, 2017, 07:05:51 PM »
Will these be in the same price range as the 8 bit versions?
A2000 GVP 40MHz \'030, 21Mb RAM SD/FF, 2 floppies, internal CD-ROM drive, micromys v3 w/laser mouse
A1000 Microbotics Starboard II w/2Mb 1080, & external floppy (AIRdrive)
C-128 w/1571, 1750, & Final Cartridge III+
 

Offline madgrizzle

Re: WiFi modem for all Amigas?
« Reply #11 on: October 16, 2017, 01:44:20 AM »
Can a stock Amiga handle web pages?  I struggle with an Amiga with a 68030 and plipbox running Ibrowse and have switched to using Links instead.  Text only is bearable at least.  I dont know if an xsurf would help me.. it seems that even the 030 can't handle the processing of the webpages.
Only Amiga *woo-woo* Makes It Possible
Only Amiga   ... Makes.. It .. Happen!
Amiga 2000, 2MB Chip RAM, OS3.9, GVP Combo 030/22 13 MB, Supra 4MB
Amiga 3000, 16 MB RAM, OS3.9, A3640 v3.2 with 060 Processor, Picasso II, A2065, PCD-50B
Dead VA2000/CX :(
 

Offline Oldsmobile_Mike

Re: WiFi modem for all Amigas?
« Reply #12 on: October 16, 2017, 02:51:29 AM »
Quote from: madgrizzle;831783
Can a stock Amiga handle web pages?


I used to browse with an A1200 with just some extra ram. But I suppose I was a glutton for punishment. :lol:
Amiga 500: 2MB Chip|16MB Fast|30MHz 68030+68882|3.9|Indivision ECS|GVP A500HD+|Mechware card reader + 8GB CF|Cocolino|SCSI DVD-RAM
Amiga 2000: 2MB Chip|136MB Fast|50MHz 68060|3.9|Indivision ECS + GVP Spectrum|Mechware card reader + 8GB CF|AD516|X-Surf 100|RapidRoad|Cocolino|SCSI CD-RW
 Amiga videos and other misc. stuff at https://www.youtube.com/CompTechMike/videos
 

Offline kolla

Re: WiFi modem for all Amigas?
« Reply #13 on: October 16, 2017, 12:30:21 PM »
Quote from: JimDrew;831742

This device supports ALL of the RS-232 lines (Tx/Rx/RTS/CTS/DSR/DTR/DCD/RI) so that you can use it to run a BBS.  Up to 115200 baud is supported (requires baudbandit.device or some other high speed serial.device replacement driver).


What is on the Wifi/IP side? ESP8266?
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC
 

Offline JimDrew

  • Lifetime Member
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jun 2012
  • Posts: 233
  • Total likes: 0
Re: WiFi modem for all Amigas?
« Reply #14 on: December 03, 2017, 12:13:47 AM »
Yes, a ESP-12F module.

I have boards, but I am waiting on displays and more DB-25 connectors.   You can put your place in line now by clicking on the "notify when back  in stock" link.  I have decided not to make a plastic case due to the  cost and the lengthy delay.  I will be providing the 3D printer files so  you can print your own.  I expect to be shipping next week!

Thanks for your patience!

https://www.cbmstuff.com/products.php?cat=2