Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: my laptop got virus  (Read 1627 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline lassie

my laptop got virus
« on: November 22, 2012, 07:46:18 PM »
Hi i been so unlucky to have gotten virus on my laptop, my system is Windows 8, It was a virus that said i had to pay 100 euro or it will erase the Hard disk, at first it came when i turned on my computer, but now there is just White screen all the time. Do any of you know what i can do? I do not know how to start Windows in safe mode with Windows 8, they have change that from Windows 7. Do any of you know how to do that?
Amiga 4000 030 18 MB ram. 16 Gb HD.
Amiga 1200 030 34 MB ram. 8 Gb HD.
Amiga 1200 Tower Apollo 1240
Amiga 2000 030. 9 MB ram. 1 Gb HD.
Amiga 2000 68000 5 MB ram. 500 MB HD.
Amiga 2000 68000 9 MB ram. 1 Gb HD.
Amiga 600 4 MB ram. 4 GB HD.
Amiga 600 1 MB ram. 60 MB HD.
Amiga 500 1 MB ram.
Amiga 500 Plus
Amiga CD32
Amiga CD32
Commodore 64
Commodore 64C
Commodore 128
Commodore 128D
 

Offline som99

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2005
  • Posts: 1566
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.som99.se
Re: my laptop got virus
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2012, 07:55:44 PM »
Quote from: lassie;716105
Hi i been so unlucky to have gotten virus on my laptop, my system is Windows 8, It was a virus that said i had to pay 100 euro or it will erase the Hard disk, at first it came when i turned on my computer, but now there is just White screen all the time. Do any of you know what i can do? I do not know how to start Windows in safe mode with Windows 8, they have change that from Windows 7. Do any of you know how to do that?

It's not a real virus. Quite common now days to get from porno sites.
I've fixed a few machines the last month from friends that had variations of this, all got it from porno sites and I installed ubuntu on a vm so they can browse safely on suspect sites after I removed the darn software causing this.

You got a few options, start the computer in safe mode an use a restore point dated before you got it.
If that don't work simply start in safe mode then run msconfig an remove it from startup then manually remove the exe file.

You can also start the computer in safe mode then crate a new user an delete the old after copying important files because this only affects one user account.

The 2 last ways works 100% of the time and the first works of restore points are not corrupted.

Edit: you can also create a new user account with admin rights an run any anti adware software to remove it, I can recommend the software ad-aware it's free and made by a Swedish company but is available in English of course.
« Last Edit: November 22, 2012, 08:02:08 PM by som99 »
 

Offline lassie

Re: my laptop got virus
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2012, 08:01:38 PM »
Quote from: som99;716106
It's not a real virus. Quite common now days to get from porno sites.
I've fixed a few machines the last month from friends that had this.
 
You got a few options, start the computer in safe mode an use a restore point dated before you got it.
If that don't work simply start in safe mode then run msconfig an remove it from startup then manually remove the exe file.
 
You can also start the computer in safe mode then crate a new user an delete the old after copying important files because this only affects one user account.
 
The 2 last ways works 100% of the time and the first works of restore points are not corrupted.

Okay thanks :) Do you know how i can start it in safe mode? i cannot find it on Windows 8 i know i could hold Down F8 on Windows 7 but it does not Work on 8.
Amiga 4000 030 18 MB ram. 16 Gb HD.
Amiga 1200 030 34 MB ram. 8 Gb HD.
Amiga 1200 Tower Apollo 1240
Amiga 2000 030. 9 MB ram. 1 Gb HD.
Amiga 2000 68000 5 MB ram. 500 MB HD.
Amiga 2000 68000 9 MB ram. 1 Gb HD.
Amiga 600 4 MB ram. 4 GB HD.
Amiga 600 1 MB ram. 60 MB HD.
Amiga 500 1 MB ram.
Amiga 500 Plus
Amiga CD32
Amiga CD32
Commodore 64
Commodore 64C
Commodore 128
Commodore 128D
 

Offline som99

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2005
  • Posts: 1566
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.som99.se
Re: my laptop got virus
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2012, 08:07:20 PM »
It's still the F8 key, you must time where to press it right, else boot from your W8 DVD/USB-flash or whatever media you use and pick repair installation, I suspect that will clean the startup registry and you will loose no files.
I have not tried that myself but I do not see how it not would work if the repair install works as the w7 one.
 

Offline Bamiga2002

Re: my laptop got virus
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2012, 08:26:38 PM »
Hmm from a porn site you say... ;)
CD32
A500
 

Offline lassie

Re: my laptop got virus
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2012, 08:46:24 PM »
Quote from: Bamiga2002;716110
Hmm from a porn site you say... ;)

It came after i tried to download some new movies :) But that did not go well i must say.
Amiga 4000 030 18 MB ram. 16 Gb HD.
Amiga 1200 030 34 MB ram. 8 Gb HD.
Amiga 1200 Tower Apollo 1240
Amiga 2000 030. 9 MB ram. 1 Gb HD.
Amiga 2000 68000 5 MB ram. 500 MB HD.
Amiga 2000 68000 9 MB ram. 1 Gb HD.
Amiga 600 4 MB ram. 4 GB HD.
Amiga 600 1 MB ram. 60 MB HD.
Amiga 500 1 MB ram.
Amiga 500 Plus
Amiga CD32
Amiga CD32
Commodore 64
Commodore 64C
Commodore 128
Commodore 128D
 

Offline Kesa

  • Ninja Fruit Slasher
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 2408
  • Total likes: 0
Re: my laptop got virus
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2012, 08:49:11 PM »
Yeah, always surf porn using linux.

I am so used to using Linux when i started using windows again i never bothered to install anti virus software. Guess i should.
Even my cat doesn\'t like me.
 

Offline CritAnime

  • Previous Life Time Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2011
  • Posts: 1143
  • Total likes: 0
Re: my laptop got virus
« Reply #7 on: November 22, 2012, 09:33:47 PM »
I use Linux for day to day browsing and such. It's funny when you go to a site and it tries to force install something and linux just asks what the hell to do with a file it doesn't recognise lol.

I use torrent sites to try and track down old anime movies and episodes. It's amazing how much junk tries to get onto your computer. But windows been the cheap Whore that it is opens its legs and let's anything in.

Offline Thorham

Re: my laptop got virus
« Reply #8 on: November 22, 2012, 09:45:13 PM »
Quote from: CritAnime;716116
I use torrent sites to try and track down old anime movies and episodes. It's amazing how much junk tries to get onto your computer. But windows been the cheap Whore that it is opens its legs and let's anything in.

Hmm, funny. I use Windows XP Pro without any anti-malware protection at all and I never have any problems at all. It's an old habit from when I still only had A Pentium 3, but I've found that I have no use for said software at all.

What the hell do people do with their machines :p
 

Offline kedawa

Re: my laptop got virus
« Reply #9 on: November 22, 2012, 10:03:27 PM »
Just mash F8 as soon as you power on until you get the startup menu.
Once in safe mode, press window+R to get the 'run' prompt, and run mrt.

I've been using various versions of Windows for a decade and a half with no AV software, and never encounter this stuff.  I don't know if it's just because I don't trust anything that pops up, or if it's how my security settings are configured in my browser, but I seem to be teflon to this crap.
 

Offline lassie

Re: my laptop got virus
« Reply #10 on: November 22, 2012, 10:04:32 PM »
Quote from: CritAnime;716116
I use Linux for day to day browsing and such. It's funny when you go to a site and it tries to force install something and linux just asks what the hell to do with a file it doesn't recognise lol.

I use torrent sites to try and track down old anime movies and episodes. It's amazing how much junk tries to get onto your computer. But windows been the cheap Whore that it is opens its legs and let's anything in.


Yes it amazing how much junk that tries to attack your computer, and often they get right through with Windows :madashell:
Amiga 4000 030 18 MB ram. 16 Gb HD.
Amiga 1200 030 34 MB ram. 8 Gb HD.
Amiga 1200 Tower Apollo 1240
Amiga 2000 030. 9 MB ram. 1 Gb HD.
Amiga 2000 68000 5 MB ram. 500 MB HD.
Amiga 2000 68000 9 MB ram. 1 Gb HD.
Amiga 600 4 MB ram. 4 GB HD.
Amiga 600 1 MB ram. 60 MB HD.
Amiga 500 1 MB ram.
Amiga 500 Plus
Amiga CD32
Amiga CD32
Commodore 64
Commodore 64C
Commodore 128
Commodore 128D
 

Offline lassie

Re: my laptop got virus
« Reply #11 on: November 22, 2012, 10:09:36 PM »
I got it to work again :) i restored it to an early date, before the damn "virus" or malware or whatever it was. But thanks for the help.
Amiga 4000 030 18 MB ram. 16 Gb HD.
Amiga 1200 030 34 MB ram. 8 Gb HD.
Amiga 1200 Tower Apollo 1240
Amiga 2000 030. 9 MB ram. 1 Gb HD.
Amiga 2000 68000 5 MB ram. 500 MB HD.
Amiga 2000 68000 9 MB ram. 1 Gb HD.
Amiga 600 4 MB ram. 4 GB HD.
Amiga 600 1 MB ram. 60 MB HD.
Amiga 500 1 MB ram.
Amiga 500 Plus
Amiga CD32
Amiga CD32
Commodore 64
Commodore 64C
Commodore 128
Commodore 128D
 

Offline Kesa

  • Ninja Fruit Slasher
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 2408
  • Total likes: 0
Re: my laptop got virus
« Reply #12 on: November 22, 2012, 11:22:04 PM »
Conspiracy theory time!

My theory is that the anti virus companies are the very people who create the viruses to create more demand for their products. AVG, McAfee, Norton, etc are the ones who are making the flippin' things!
Even my cat doesn\'t like me.
 

Offline CritAnime

  • Previous Life Time Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2011
  • Posts: 1143
  • Total likes: 0
Re: my laptop got virus
« Reply #13 on: November 22, 2012, 11:33:08 PM »
Quote from: Kesa;716128
Conspiracy theory time!
 
My theory is that the anti virus companies are the very people who create the viruses to create more demand for their products. AVG, McAfee, Norton, etc are the ones who are making the flippin' things!

That wouldn't be the first time I have heard that theory. it's best when you get some malware that pretends to be a bit of antivirus and tries to scare you into buying it to get rid of nonexistant viruses.
 
Quote from: Thorham;716117
Hmm, funny. I use Windows XP Pro without any anti-malware protection at all and I never have any problems at all. It's an old habit from when I still only had A Pentium 3, but I've found that I have no use for said software at all.
 
What the hell do people do with their machines :p

I don't do anything dodgy in windows these days. i tend to do everything through linux lol. But my wife has a nasty habit of downloading these stupid smily packs for stuff like yahoo, and every virus riddled, data mining, facebook game. I would say that once I week i have to recover the PC to some sort of normality due to the crap she installs. And I have no idea how the hell stuff is getting on considering I installed kaspersky.....
 
OMG KESA YOUR FLAMING RIGHT!!!!

Offline Kesa

  • Ninja Fruit Slasher
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 2408
  • Total likes: 0
Re: my laptop got virus
« Reply #14 on: November 22, 2012, 11:44:28 PM »
I actually had one of those. It was pretending to be AVG but it was obvious it was fake. But it did do a good job of screwing up my harddrive. I had no choice but to reinstall Windows from scratch.

To be honest i was wondering why Apple has remained for the most part immune to viruses. Virus makers have in the past targeted MS because they are a greedy corporation and they have a mainstream dominance. But lately it has swinged the other way with Apple overtaking MS in it's greed and dominance. So why are people still targeting Windows? Especially with Bill Gate's philanthropy? I don't think it's entirely a design flaw...
Even my cat doesn\'t like me.