Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Anyone have one of these MCC-216's?  (Read 8999 times)

Description:

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mpiva

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Aug 2003
  • Posts: 297
    • Show only replies by mpiva
    • http://members.shaw.ca/michpiva
Re: Anyone have one of these MCC-216's?
« Reply #14 on: January 06, 2011, 04:54:50 AM »
Quote from: save2600;604223
So, you're saying the 216 does not currently do Amiga either? Even though it's supposedly advertised as such?


It's not advertised as such.  The eBay write-up clearly says:

Quote
The MCC ships today with the Commodore C-64 emulation. The Commodore Amiga emulation and the ATARI 2600 will follow soon with a simple Software upgrade.
-- Michael A. Piva --


"In engineering, there is no single truth, no one right answer; there\'s a canvas, and you paint it your way, only with chips or gates or subroutines rather than actual paint. That\'s the Amiga..."
-Dave Haynie
 

Offline RobertB

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2005
  • Posts: 1719
  • Thanked: 18 times
    • Show only replies by RobertB
    • http://www.dickestel.com/fcug.htm
Re: Anyone have one of these MCC-216's?
« Reply #15 on: January 06, 2011, 10:14:15 AM »
Quote from: save2600;604138
As if it was written by someone from berry, berry far east!
The developers are in the United States.  They showed off the MCC-216 at the Cincinnati Commodore Computer Club Expo 2010 and at the Las Vegas Classic Gaming Expo 2010.

FCUG celebrating 30 years,
Robert Bernardo
Fresno Commodore User Group
http://videocam.net.au/fcug
 

Offline tasmanian guy

  • Lifetime Member
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Aug 2009
  • Posts: 281
    • Show only replies by tasmanian guy
    • http://www.amigaformat.com
Re: Anyone have one of these MCC-216's?
« Reply #16 on: April 05, 2011, 10:41:38 AM »
So has the Amiga core been released yet?
Amiga 1200 1U Rack project
 

Offline pwermonger

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Oct 2009
  • Posts: 175
    • Show only replies by pwermonger
Re: Anyone have one of these MCC-216's?
« Reply #17 on: April 05, 2011, 02:36:33 PM »
I think the best thing about this one is that its pricing is starting to get to a point where, for the features, one might consider it a decent value.

Hardware emulation of three systems in a small box that hooks up to modern displays for $150 instead of emulation of just one system in hardware for over $200.
 

Offline espskog

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2010
  • Posts: 210
    • Show only replies by espskog
Re: Anyone have one of these MCC-216's?
« Reply #18 on: April 05, 2011, 04:38:23 PM »
Yeah, but how well does it work compared to MiniMig and the Replay Board for the Amiga part ?

When it comes to the Atari core, I could not care less :-D :-D

However, I would very much like a status update on the C64 core for the Replay board.
 

Offline RobertB

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2005
  • Posts: 1719
  • Thanked: 18 times
    • Show only replies by RobertB
    • http://www.dickestel.com/fcug.htm
Re: Anyone have one of these MCC-216's?
« Reply #19 on: April 05, 2011, 05:01:47 PM »
Quote from: tasmanian guy;628345
So has the Amiga core been released yet?
At last Sunday's meeting, SCCAN member Matt brought in his newly-purchased MCC-216 (VGA) and MiniMig with the latest updates.  There was no Amiga core yet.  The C64 NTSC and C64 PAL cores seemed to be working well.  He showed the game, Commando, in the NTSC core and gameplay and sound was good, though I saw some "ghosting" on the trees of the game.  He cleared that up by fiddling with the MCC settings.

The Atari 2600 core worked on the few games he showed, except for Star Trek.  The MCC crashed/locked up every time we tried to get Star Trek going.

The MiniMig seems to be just getting better and better.  Very stable with the latest updates.  For fun, he ran SysInfo on it, and SysInfo reported 56 MHz..  Cowabunga!  :)

FCUG celebrating 30 years,
Robert Bernardo
Fresno Commodore User Group
http://videocam.net.au/fcug
The Other Group of Amigoids
http://www.calweb.com/~rabel1/
Southern California Commodore & Amiga Network
http://www.sccaners.org
 

Offline RobertB

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2005
  • Posts: 1719
  • Thanked: 18 times
    • Show only replies by RobertB
    • http://www.dickestel.com/fcug.htm
Re: Anyone have one of these MCC-216's?
« Reply #20 on: April 07, 2011, 09:51:25 AM »
Quote from: me;628502
There was no Amiga core yet.

For the July 23-24 Commodore Vegas Expo, ArcadeRetroGaming.com may send us a MCC-216 (VGA version) with a new A500 core.

Truly,
Robert Bernardo
Fresno Commodore User Group
http://videocam.net.au/fcug
July 23-24 Commodore Vegas Expo 2011 - http://www.portcommodore.com/commvex
 

Offline utri007

Re: Anyone have one of these MCC-216's?
« Reply #21 on: April 07, 2011, 10:47:18 AM »
I would be interested if it works with hardfiles and how well

Minimig works with hardfiles now but I belive not well without addon card???

March, 2011:           ARG presents the AMIGA on the Midwest Gaming Classic

Some screenshots https://ssl.perfora.net/arcaderetrogaming.com/online/templatemedia/all_lang/resources/Microsoft+Word+-+NEWSLETTER_March_31_2011_V1.pdf
« Last Edit: April 07, 2011, 10:58:01 AM by utri007 »
ACube Sam 440ep Flex 800mhz, 1gb ram and 240gb hd and OS4.1FE
A1200 Micronic tower, OS3.9, Apollo 060 66mhz, xPert Merlin, Delfina Lite and Micronic Scandy, 500Gb hd, 66mb ram, DVD-burner and WLAN.
A1200 desktop, OS3.9, Blizzard 060 66mhz, 66mb ram, Ide Fix Express with 160Gb HD and WLAN
A500 OS2.1, GVP+HD8 with 4mb ram, 1mb chip ram and 4gb HD
Commodore CDTV KS3.1, 1mb chip, 4mb fast ram and IDE HD
 

Offline Hattig

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 901
    • Show only replies by Hattig
Re: Anyone have one of these MCC-216's?
« Reply #22 on: April 07, 2011, 10:52:10 AM »
Quote from: RobertB;628502
The MiniMig seems to be just getting better and better.  Very stable with the latest updates.  For fun, he ran SysInfo on it, and SysInfo reported 56 MHz..  Cowabunga!  :)


With SysInfo that means the core could be running from any speed from 20MHz to 100MHz. Useless POS with a nice interface.

It looks like the Natami people are looking at more 'real-life' benchmarks for 68k processors however.
 

Offline VingtTrois

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2009
  • Posts: 897
  • Country: 00
    • Show only replies by VingtTrois
    • http://www.amiga.org/gallery/images/6006/1_2316_My_AMIGA_Collection_Sept2010.jpg
Re: Anyone have one of these MCC-216's?
« Reply #23 on: April 07, 2011, 10:53:30 AM »
Quote from: RobertB;629506
For the July 23-24 Commodore Vegas Expo, ArcadeRetroGaming.com may send us a MCC-216 (VGA version) with a new A500 core.

Truly,
Robert Bernardo
Fresno Commodore User Group
http://videocam.net.au/fcug
July 23-24 Commodore Vegas Expo 2011 - http://www.portcommodore.com/commvex


-A3K(T)040@35MHz/78MB/KS3.1/OS3.9/Buster11/PICASSO II/GVP IO/A2088XT/DENEB/HDD18GB
-A3K(D)030@25MHz/134MB RAM/KS3.1/OS3.9/Buster11/RETINA Z2/OKTAGON 2008/VLAB YC/MIDI/DKB3128/HDD18GB
-A2K/ROM 1.3-3.1/2MBCHIP/8MB/A2091/OKTAGON 2008/A2058/TANDEM IDE/FlickerFixer-Scandoubler/Genlock
-A1200/KS3.1/2MB+9MB/CF2GB A1200[/
 

Offline mistermsk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jun 2010
  • Posts: 68
    • Show only replies by mistermsk
Re: Anyone have one of these MCC-216's?
« Reply #24 on: May 05, 2011, 01:30:36 AM »
Fan-Phenomenal!!!

[youtube]0edIpqrT_2E[/youtube]
 

Offline save2600Topic starter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2006
  • Posts: 3261
  • Country: us
    • Show only replies by save2600
Re: Anyone have one of these MCC-216's?
« Reply #25 on: May 05, 2011, 02:04:53 AM »
Wow, really slick!

Is it me or does it seem to run faster than a native 68000 Amiga? Have you tried SysINFO on it? Wonder what it would report back...
 

Offline TheGoose

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2002
  • Posts: 1458
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • Show only replies by TheGoose
    • http://www.amiga.org/forums/blog.php?u=827
Re: Anyone have one of these MCC-216's?
« Reply #26 on: May 05, 2011, 02:12:50 AM »
Quote from: tone007;604136
YO that's crap.

Yeah that is no go yo.

EDIT, hold up. That's not total crap.
« Last Edit: May 05, 2011, 02:19:45 AM by TheGoose »
G1200, A3000D, A1200 PPC AOS4.0C

I\'m on Google +
 

Offline mistermsk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jun 2010
  • Posts: 68
    • Show only replies by mistermsk
Re: Anyone have one of these MCC-216's?
« Reply #27 on: May 05, 2011, 03:44:17 AM »
Quote from: save2600;635561
Wow, really slick!

Is it me or does it seem to run faster than a native 68000 Amiga? Have you tried SysINFO on it? Wonder what it would report back...




 

Offline Lurch

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2003
  • Posts: 1716
    • Show only replies by Lurch
Re: Anyone have one of these MCC-216's?
« Reply #28 on: May 05, 2011, 10:04:57 AM »
There's an Amiga core available now from there main site, although beta at this stage. Hmm, tempting. The specs mention 16mb of ram.. hmm..

http://www.mcc-home.com/3.html
« Last Edit: May 05, 2011, 10:07:05 AM by Lurch »
-=[LurcH]=-
A500 Plus Black 030@40MHz 128MB | A1200T 060@80MHz 320MB | Pegasos II G4@1GHz 1GB  | Amiga Future Sub
 

Offline humppa

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2005
  • Posts: 959
    • Show only replies by humppa
Re: Anyone have one of these MCC-216's?
« Reply #29 from previous page: May 20, 2011, 09:43:34 AM »
Someone did some first tests with the new beta Amiga core:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fVJoM0CM_N4