Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: Indivision ECS in full 12-bit  (Read 8608 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lockon_15

Indivision ECS in full 12-bit
« on: February 03, 2010, 10:44:45 AM »
New, updated core firmware update arrived (v1.0)
I'm putting feature list (translated from German original).
 
 
Indivision ECS can now directly use the video memory!
 
And with the following features:
 
- 8-bit, 15 bit, 16 bit chunky pixel modes (15 bit & 16 bits are converted) to 12 bits.
- Resolution from 320x200 to 1024x768.
- Video memory can be directly described by DMA chipset (up to 7,15 MB / s)!
- Sprite for hardware cursor.
- Addressable storage for multiple video image buffer.
- Dual screen on two Indivision ECS.
 
This new feature extends to Indivision ECS functions, which are so far available only in expensive Amiga graphics cards. This is that the video memory in the SDRAM, the Amiga Chip Bus NOT be charged. Graphics data can either be transferred to the CPU, or you can select different transmission modes use DMA to copy data directly from the chip RAM.
 
This can be done with a speed of up to 7,15 MB / s second, enough bandwidth to create a 320x200 8-bit framebuffer to update in liquid speed on a A3000.
 
Complete info on:
http://www.a1k.org/forum/showthread.php?t=16679&page=33
 
 

 
Outstanding work!
Greetings to Jens & Oliver.
A500+/KS3.1/GVPA530/2MbChipRam+8MbFastRAM 2GbCF/YAMAHA CDRW
 

Offline Karlos

Re: Indivision ECS in full 12-bit
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2010, 10:46:52 AM »
Cool :)

Hopefully the AGA version can be updated in a similar fashion.
int p; // A
 

Offline Kronos

  • Resident blue troll
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 4017
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.SteamDraw.de
Re: Indivision ECS in full 12-bit
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2010, 11:14:37 AM »
The AGA-version just sees the digital output of Lisa + a few "holes" in the chipset to which it can be reprogrammed.

The ECS-Version allmost completly replaces Denice in FPGA makeing all those things possible.

Read the ECS-version is the more advanced one.


But then, you can allready run the AGA-version in resolutions up to 1280x1024 in 256 colors or HAM8. These modes are available for every OS-friendly app, while the 12Bit-modes on the ECS-Indi are only supported by SW written for it ..... unless you plan to write/port an RTG-system to it ...
1. Make an announcment.
2. Wait a while.
3. Check if it can actually be done.
4. Wait for someone else to do it.
5. Start working on it while giving out hillarious progress-reports.
6. Deny that you have ever announced it
7. Blame someone else
 

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: Indivision ECS in full 12-bit
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2010, 01:57:20 PM »
I didn't know this was in the works, but I knew it was possible with the ECS design. That's why I was always careful the specify the full name of the Indivision AGA in the other thread... :)
 

Offline Crom00

Re: Indivision ECS in full 12-bit
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2010, 02:06:13 PM »
Quote from: Piru;541355
I didn't know this was in the works, but I knew it was possible with the ECS design. That's why I was always careful the specify the full name of the Indivision AGA in the other thread... :)


Would have loved this back in 1995 in my A3000 with Warp Engine 040 and 64 megs of ram.
Makes the A3000 THE perfect amiga. Heck an A500 with an 030 becomes perfect with this thing inside it.
 

Offline LoadWB

Re: Indivision ECS in full 12-bit
« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2010, 02:47:15 PM »
Tell me that's 1024x768x4096 on a SECOND monitor in the same system... or is the rights screen from the A1000 on which it is sitting.

Also, what expansion is that being used on the A500 with the CF?
 

Offline Lockon_15

Re: Indivision ECS in full 12-bit
« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2010, 02:58:53 PM »
No, A1000 gets native res on DB23.
AlphaData AlphaPower500 on side.
 
Thnx for A530, mate.
A500+/KS3.1/GVPA530/2MbChipRam+8MbFastRAM 2GbCF/YAMAHA CDRW
 

Offline Kronos

  • Resident blue troll
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 4017
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.SteamDraw.de
Re: Indivision ECS in full 12-bit
« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2010, 03:02:24 PM »
@LoadWB

One can stack 2 Indivision-ECS resulting in 2 independent screens (this feature has allready been announced some time ago), so that is what your are seeing.
1. Make an announcment.
2. Wait a while.
3. Check if it can actually be done.
4. Wait for someone else to do it.
5. Start working on it while giving out hillarious progress-reports.
6. Deny that you have ever announced it
7. Blame someone else
 

Offline Lockon_15

Re: Indivision ECS in full 12-bit
« Reply #8 on: February 03, 2010, 03:12:03 PM »
@kronos
Right screen is CBM1084, so I guess it's indeed a single IECS.
Also, there would be 2 ribbon headers trailing out of case, right ?
A500+/KS3.1/GVPA530/2MbChipRam+8MbFastRAM 2GbCF/YAMAHA CDRW
 

Offline Gulliver

Re: Indivision ECS in full 12-bit
« Reply #9 on: February 03, 2010, 06:59:51 PM »
So now we need a talented programer to develop a Picasso96 driver for the IndivisionECS.
Cool!
 

Offline Karlos

Re: Indivision ECS in full 12-bit
« Reply #10 on: February 03, 2010, 07:42:27 PM »
Really, an RTG driver for that would be very cool indeed. It's one of the few thing that's still unavailable for machines like the A600.
int p; // A
 

Offline Karlos

Re: Indivision ECS in full 12-bit
« Reply #11 on: February 03, 2010, 07:43:40 PM »
Quote from: Kronos;541363
@LoadWB

One can stack 2 Indivision-ECS resulting in 2 independent screens (this feature has allready been announced some time ago), so that is what your are seeing.


Are you sure? I thought that feature required both displays to be at the same resolution and colour depth. That doesn't appear to be the case in the image above.
int p; // A
 

Offline cv643d

Re: Indivision ECS in full 12-bit
« Reply #12 on: February 03, 2010, 07:48:24 PM »
Amazing, so how fast would 1024x768 be with a 030 CPU if there was P96 drivers?!
Amiga articles
"New shell. It was finished a while back, but I still see bugs, haha" - SSolie
 

Offline Karlos

Re: Indivision ECS in full 12-bit
« Reply #13 on: February 03, 2010, 07:59:20 PM »
Quote from: cv643d;541401
Amazing, so how fast would 1024x768 be with a 030 CPU if there was P96 drivers?!


I guess that rather depends on how it works (of which I'm not sure). 7MB/s isn't a very fast path into it, but if it stores the chunky frame buffer locally and has the ability to do block copies/fills directly then reasonably well, I imagine. Most Zorro 2 cards have a similar bandwidth limitation and it doesn't stop them being usable.
int p; // A
 

Offline Kronos

  • Resident blue troll
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 4017
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.SteamDraw.de
Re: Indivision ECS in full 12-bit
« Reply #14 on: February 03, 2010, 08:02:23 PM »
@Karlos/Lockon_15
Yeah, my bad.

@cv643d

There is no HW-accelaration and no direkt memory-mapping, so I'd say rather slow. One might get away with a better CPU but aslong as they don't atleast include some sort of blitter it won't be really suitable. On might get better results with http://aminet.net/package/driver/video/a2410src ......

Mind you, that might even be used as a staring point for eveloping a WB-EMU as getting an DDK for P96 or CGX seems to be impossible these days.
1. Make an announcment.
2. Wait a while.
3. Check if it can actually be done.
4. Wait for someone else to do it.
5. Start working on it while giving out hillarious progress-reports.
6. Deny that you have ever announced it
7. Blame someone else