Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: DJBase's A1000 Kickstart adapter A1000 mobo jumper question  (Read 5025 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline save2600

DJBase's A1000 Kickstart adapter A1000 mobo jumper question
« on: November 08, 2009, 05:04:03 PM »
As pictured in his instructions, W1-W4 looks like this:

W1 o-o o

W2 o-o x o

W3 o o-o

W4 o x o-o

...he only mentions to cut where the X's are between pads W2 & W4. He doesn't mention W1 & W3 at all or to configure the way he has them pictured or not. On my mobo, there is no jumper here. In fact, none of my W1-W4 pads are jumpered - but his schematic seems to indicate that they all are. Only thing between the pads are circuit board traces. Are these supposed to be cut? I did cut them and I jumped the pads to look like his schematic, but the machine will not boot.

I also put the pads back to where they were originally, still no boot. Everything else is correct. I've triple checked my work. Trying to use Kickstart 40.068 in this revision 6 A1000.

BTW: this is what the house has looked like, going on two days now since taking up these projects  :-(
« Last Edit: November 08, 2009, 06:03:52 PM by save2600 »
 

Offline save2600

Re: DJBase's A1000 Kickstart adapter A1000 mobo jumper question
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2009, 01:12:36 AM »
Anyone know what's going on with those jumper settings? How they're supposed to really look?
 

Offline amigadave

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2004
  • Posts: 3836
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.EfficientByDesign.org
Re: DJBase's A1000 Kickstart adapter A1000 mobo jumper question
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2009, 01:18:27 AM »
Looks like a perfect Amiga users kitchen to me, what is the problem?
How are you helping the Amiga community? :)
 

Offline save2600

Re: DJBase's A1000 Kickstart adapter A1000 mobo jumper question
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2009, 02:34:27 AM »
Quote from: amigadave;528889
Looks like a perfect Amiga users kitchen to me, what is the problem?


LOL! My GF and I would like the kitchen back sometime this week!

Gosh, who would have thought installing a Kickstart adapter board and a CD<>IDE board would be so much trouble. Oh wait... par for the course in Amigaland getting our Amiga's to dream the impossible dream ;-)
 

Offline mousemiki

Re: DJBase's A1000 Kickstart adapter A1000 mobo jumper question
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2010, 09:55:39 PM »
Hello, I've the similar problem with kick 3.1 and kickstart adapter on A1000 rev 6.
When I use the kickstart 1.3 or 2.04 the A1000 boting up and all is ok, when I use the kickstart 3.1 the A1000 no boot.
Have you resolved this problem on your A1000? How?
Thank you for any reply.
 

Offline save2600

Re: DJBase's A1000 Kickstart adapter A1000 mobo jumper question
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2010, 11:13:30 PM »
No, I never ended up getting it to to work as the instructions were not clear enough. Never heard back from DJBase either, so just gave up. If I want Kickstart and Workbench 3.1 on my A1000, I just use the disk based method of Ratte's. Not exactly the same solution, but close enough.
 

Offline haywirepc

Re: DJBase's A1000 Kickstart adapter A1000 mobo jumper question
« Reply #6 on: April 04, 2010, 02:36:34 AM »
Quote from: save2600;551172
No, I never ended up getting it to to work as the instructions were not clear enough. Never heard back from DJBase either, so just gave up. If I want Kickstart and Workbench 3.1 on my A1000, I just use the disk based method of Ratte's. Not exactly the same solution, but close enough.

Thats a shame because I too have dreamed of getting an a1000 and maxing it out with a kickstart adapter, os3.9, that a600 ide adapter, indivision ecs
and so on. I just always loved the look of the original 1000.

Hopefully, djbase should get back to you, I'd love to see you get it working.

Steven
 

Offline save2600

Re: DJBase's A1000 Kickstart adapter A1000 mobo jumper question
« Reply #7 on: April 04, 2010, 03:06:57 AM »
Quote from: haywirepc;551204
Thats a shame because I too have dreamed of getting an a1000 and maxing it out with a kickstart adapter, os3.9, that a600 ide adapter, indivision ecs
and so on. I just always loved the look of the original 1000.

Hopefully, djbase should get back to you, I'd love to see you get it working.

Steven

Ahh, it's no biggy now. I needed the info at or around the time I had everything opened up and on the operating table. I have since sold the board. It's all good... just relegated my machine to the regular A1000 way of Kickstart disk loading - which is part of the A1000 experience anyway.

Now that I've got an A3000 keyboard for my A3000, that's pretty much my favorite all around Miggy right now. Love the looks of that setup as much (almost) as the original A1000. 1084sd1, A3000 w/ one drive and A3000 keyboard...  mmmm  :)
 

Offline tone007

  • sad moaning faced git
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2008
  • Posts: 3238
  • Total likes: 1
Re: DJBase's A1000 Kickstart adapter A1000 mobo jumper question
« Reply #8 on: April 04, 2010, 03:14:13 AM »
Maybe the 3.1 chip needed to be jumpered/pin isolated like is done on Rev 5 A500 boards?  Seems like the adapter should handle that, but who knows.
3 Commodore file cabinets, 2 Commodore USB turntables, 1 AmigaWorld beer mug
Alienware M14x i7 laptop running AmigaForever
 

Offline save2600

Re: DJBase's A1000 Kickstart adapter A1000 mobo jumper question
« Reply #9 on: April 04, 2010, 03:30:21 AM »
Hmm... that's not a bad idea at all. Docs didn't mention anything to that effect, but...
 

Offline trekiej

Re: DJBase's A1000 Kickstart adapter A1000 mobo jumper question
« Reply #10 on: April 04, 2010, 04:27:23 AM »
I hope you get it to working. I hope to buy one.
Amiga 2000 Forever :)
Welcome to the Planar System.
 

Offline save2600

Re: DJBase's A1000 Kickstart adapter A1000 mobo jumper question
« Reply #11 on: April 04, 2010, 04:45:01 AM »
Quote from: trekiej;551220
I hope you get it to working. I hope to buy one.

I actually don't have it anymore, so yeah - I'm not going to get it to work. Sold it after I messed up my A1000 board. See the instructions at the top of this thread? I thought you were supposed to take an X-Acto blade to the parts that had an 'X' through it(there are traces between the jumpers, but NOT a wire between the jumper). Again, the instructions BLEEPING sucked. What is pictured in the instructions, was how the jumpers in my un-altered factory A1000 looked like already. So why put something there if you're not supposed to fudge with it? X's and O's and dashes... was all pretty funky really. After I destroyed my board (it's not easy to find where those traces go for repair), I was pretty disgusted with the whole ordeal and decided to just say "screw it".

Again - I never heard back from DJBase as to what the real deal is. Anyone else install a 3.1 ROM in his board in an A1000? That's from Amerika and can do a good job of explaining without the use of cryptic ASCII? lol
 

Offline zombie10k

Re: DJBase's A1000 Kickstart adapter A1000 mobo jumper question
« Reply #12 on: April 04, 2010, 05:15:28 AM »
I've had 2 of these for a few years, always resisting the temptation to open the A1000's and install them. The instructions seemed a bit confusing.

I have a CSA Derringer 68030, an ECS indivision and an A590 with the latest roms booting the SCSI-IDE-CF adapter inside the A590 waiting for the A1000. I was pretty determined to have an auto booting kick 3.1 / WB 3.1 setup with the A1000.

I have 2 A1000's, one is mint in the box, the other is in good condition. Maybe it will be the sacrificial lamb for this project. If the one member got it working with 1.3 or 2.04, the mod to get the 3.1 work (A500 Rev 5) might be worth trying.

I have 3 projects in front of this one, but I'll definitely be posting when they are completed.

here are the instructions if anyone wants to take a look:

2 A1000\\\'s, A500 + GVP A530, A1200HD + 68030 @ 50, A2000HD + GVP 030 @25, A600 HD. Looking for more!
 

Offline save2600

Re: DJBase's A1000 Kickstart adapter A1000 mobo jumper question
« Reply #13 on: April 04, 2010, 05:27:25 AM »
Yep, on a Rev. 6 mobo - those directions are either full of shit OR you need to do the A500 (rev. 5) Kickstart thing and lift/solder pins.

Personally, I think the directions are full of shit. You do NOT cut the traces where the 'X' is on that ASCII schematic. The machine simply will not boot, even after you reverse what you've done. That "schematic" assumes there's already a jumper between the pads - which there wasn't on my machine. W1-W4 as pictured in the destructions, was how my A1000 natively was.

The destructions NEED to explain the difference between a silkscreened CPU trace and a friggin' jumper. It does not.

And why would someone like me who's adept at working on electronic boards for a living assume that 'X' needed to be cut? Read the very first paragraph as to why I would assume that. Oh - and my original "destructions" never mentioned I needed to install a resistor. Nope. I can supply a copy if need be.

What's also befuddling is that the explanation for troubleshooting is non-existent too. Umm... so adding a resistor and cutting a PAL deactivates the 256kb WOM? Why go through all of that when you can simply remove the friggin' daughterboard?

Also, disabling the WOM... why can it not be used as Fast RAM when installing this board? Because that's precisely what happens when you install other manufacturers Kickstart boards... you get 256kb of "free" Fast RAM!
« Last Edit: April 05, 2010, 04:52:21 PM by save2600 »
 

Offline trekiej

Re: DJBase's A1000 Kickstart adapter A1000 mobo jumper question
« Reply #14 on: April 04, 2010, 05:42:47 AM »
Man, I am sorrry to hear it.
Amiga 2000 Forever :)
Welcome to the Planar System.