Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: Athlon xp 2600+  (Read 1522 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline shIva

Athlon xp 2600+
« on: August 22, 2002, 04:50:08 PM »
Referring to www.heise.de amd released the new Athlon xp 2600+ with a clockspeed of 2.133 GHz. might be a cool acceleration for Amithlon systems.

The amd homepage is not yet updated. will follow soon.






source : heise.de (sorry : german language)
shIva
the answer is [color=CC3300]42[/color] Support  Distributed Amiga - moo ;)
 

Offline DaveP

Re: athlon xp 2600+
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2002, 04:52:10 PM »
Gimme gimme!
Hate figure. :lol:
 

Offline Orgin

Re: Athlon xp 2600+
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2002, 04:54:53 PM »
http://www.tomshardware.com/cpu/02q3/020821/index.html

For some information in English.

/Björn
Mooh?
 

Offline whabang

Re: Athlon xp 2600+
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2002, 05:45:40 PM »
I like!
Beating the dead horse since 2002.
 

Offline Allen

Re: Athlon xp 2600+
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2002, 05:51:30 PM »
bugger.  There's me just having bought an 1800!

Allen
 

Offline whabang

Re: Athlon xp 2600+
« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2002, 05:56:08 PM »
Quote
bugger. There's me just having bought an 1800!

LOL! :-D
I feel your pain. When I bought my current Athlon system Slot A was state-of the-art. I had to be certain that I would have a clear upgrade path.
Two days later AMD announced that they were ditching Slot A in favour of Socket A... :-(
Beating the dead horse since 2002.
 

Offline redrumloa

  • Original Omega User
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 10126
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Athlon xp 2600+
« Reply #6 on: August 22, 2002, 05:59:12 PM »
Quote
I feel your pain. When I bought my current Athlon system Slot A was state-of the-art.


Hehe it always happens. When I built this system (Thunderbird 850 OC to 980), it was the bees knees. Now it is old hat!  :-x
Someone has to state the obvious and that someone is me!
 

Offline bhoggett

Re: Athlon xp 2600+
« Reply #7 on: August 22, 2002, 07:07:03 PM »
Quote
Hehe it always happens. When I built this system (Thunderbird 850 OC to 980), it was the bees knees. Now it is old hat!

Same here. My 1.4GHz Thunderbird system with a 64MB GeForce2 GTS and 512 MB DDR memory was the bees' knees when I built it last year, and now it's barely mid-range - although only WindowsXP is causing me performance problems; Linux, BeOS, QNX and Amithlon all perform beatifully.

I'll probably be looking to build a new system around Christmas or the new year, when the new-gen graphics cards come out and the CPUs will probably get upgraded again too.

With any luck, the whole sorry Amithlon saga will have been sorted by then.
 :-(  :-(  :-(
Bill Hoggett
 

Offline Allen

Re: athlon xp 2600+
« Reply #8 on: August 22, 2002, 08:22:51 PM »
Always the way eh!?

In some ways I liked the Amiga way...i.e. no new hardware so I could not get sucked into the upgrade cycle of evil!!  :-)

Allen
 

Offline Kronos

  • Resident blue troll
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 4017
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.SteamDraw.de
Re: athlon xp 2600+
« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2002, 09:34:13 PM »
Why upgrade ?

I went from K5/166 to K6/233 and to K6-3/400 on the same board,
but it didn't get really faster, just a bit less slow  :-o

K6 to AthlonXP1600, that was the boost, and the next x86 I'm
gone buy will be one of the new 64bits with atleast double
performance.
1. Make an announcment.
2. Wait a while.
3. Check if it can actually be done.
4. Wait for someone else to do it.
5. Start working on it while giving out hillarious progress-reports.
6. Deny that you have ever announced it
7. Blame someone else
 

Offline Allen

Re: athlon xp 2600+
« Reply #10 on: August 22, 2002, 11:06:06 PM »
"Why upgrade ?"

Err? WTF?  Are you suggesting downgrading? :-)

Allen
 

Offline Kronos

  • Resident blue troll
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 4017
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.SteamDraw.de
Re: athlon xp 2600+
« Reply #11 on: August 22, 2002, 11:08:07 PM »
@Allen

Nah just stay where you are until you got all the life possible
out of the beast ...

But then, "downgrading" to an C=-One doesn't sound that bad  :-D
1. Make an announcment.
2. Wait a while.
3. Check if it can actually be done.
4. Wait for someone else to do it.
5. Start working on it while giving out hillarious progress-reports.
6. Deny that you have ever announced it
7. Blame someone else
 

Offline redrumloa

  • Original Omega User
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 10126
  • Total likes: 0
Re: athlon xp 2600+
« Reply #12 on: August 23, 2002, 03:00:47 AM »
Quote
But then, "downgrading" to an C=-One doesn't sound that bad


Damn right!

Of course you're probably pissed there is no MorphmodoreOne:-P

jk
Someone has to state the obvious and that someone is me!
 

Offline Kronos

  • Resident blue troll
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 4017
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.SteamDraw.de
Re: athlon xp 2600+
« Reply #13 on: August 23, 2002, 03:05:35 AM »
@red

Nah that one is called "Red Bull" ......

... hmmm or was that "Flying Horse" ????

 :-D
1. Make an announcment.
2. Wait a while.
3. Check if it can actually be done.
4. Wait for someone else to do it.
5. Start working on it while giving out hillarious progress-reports.
6. Deny that you have ever announced it
7. Blame someone else
 

Offline KennyR

Re: athlon xp 2600+
« Reply #14 on: August 23, 2002, 04:28:15 AM »
Fast? I don't care if it was 5GHz, was the size of a fingernail, didn't create any heat and was sold for two cents a chip: if it can't run OS4 its useless :-D