Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: 060 expansion replacement  (Read 984 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cicero790

060 expansion replacement
« on: August 22, 2008, 11:44:20 AM »
Hi

It was good to see that BillHendersson Idea of using a PC with emulation running as an expansion card might work. I even looked around to see what the price was on the smallest possible motherboard like the Pico itx,  if one should take this idea and make it into only an expansion card. Converted from my currency it would go for around 230 pounds.  It would be something like 3 by 4 inch card.

But I was specially intrigued by Karlos way of looking at this. A cpu+ a translator.  Intels mid range cpu’s cost virtually nothing and fpga’s cost virtually nothing. I found this on wikipeda on the 060. Remember I’m an enthusiast, I don’t have deep knowledge.

“The 68060 shares most architectural features with the original Pentium. Both have a very similar superscalar in-order dual instruction pipeline configuration, and an instruction decoder which breaks down complex instructions into simpler ones before execution. However, a significant difference is that the 68060 FPU is not pipelined and is therefore up to three times slower than the Pentium in floating point applications. In contrast to that, integer multiplications and bit shifting instructions are significantly faster on the 68060. An interesting feature of the 68060 is the ability to execute simple instructions in the address generation unit (AGU) and thereby supply the result two cycles before the ALU. Another point of interest is that large amounts of commercial compiled code were analyzed for clues as to which instructions would be the best candidates for performance optimization.”

I also find out that Intel’s processors are very backward compatible.
So it all comes down to this converter.
Have no one done this before?
Is there nothing that just could be altered for this situation??
A1200 030 40MHz: 2/32MB Indivision AGA MkII
A600 7 MHz: 2MB
AROS 600 MHz
PC 13600 MHz: quad core i7 2600K 3.4GHz: 16GB RAM: ATI HD6950 2GB   (Yes I know)

WINUAE AmiKit ClassicWB AmigaSYS UAE4Droid  

 

Offline skurk

Re: 060 expansion replacement
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2008, 01:47:57 PM »
It has been discussed earlier, and partially implemented by Ratte (if I understand him correctly)

I'm also very keen on the idea, but I don't (yet) have the know-how's.  I'm more than happy to assist and/or support anyone who wants to explore it further.

I don't care if it is more expensive than a real accelerator, if it is slower than a real one, or whatever.  I'm in for the technical fun.  I love a challenge.
Code 6502 asm or... DIE!!

[C64, C128, A500, A600, A1200, A3000, MBP+Mini, Efika/MOS2.1, Sam440 w/AOS4.1
 

Offline yakumo9275

Re: 060 expansion replacement
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2008, 01:53:04 PM »
uh you could buy a pico itx board and just run uae on it. Thats what your really talking about. using a pc to emulate the 68060...

or you could get a Virtex-5 FXT FGPA ML507 that plugs into your PC's pci-e slot that has a v5 fpga and powerpc 440 core onboard with a boatload of connectors and make a fully functional hardware miggy right in your pci-e slot..

--/\\-[ Stu ]-/\\--
Commodore 128DCR, JiffyDOS, Ultimate 1541 II, uIEC/SD, CBM 1902A  Monitor
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: 060 expansion replacement
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2008, 02:11:47 PM »
The Idea of using a PicoITX board as an acelarator is quite a fun one...

Offline Plaz

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 1694
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://webpages.charter.net/tsilvey
Re: 060 expansion replacement
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2008, 02:48:49 PM »
UAE is great for some things, but I can't plug my toaster/flyer/HD audio recording card/TBC cards/..... into an itx board. If some one could make a zorro bridgeboard that would connect to a pc running UAE, now that would rock.

Plaz
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: 060 expansion replacement
« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2008, 02:58:54 PM »
Quote

Plaz wrote:
UAE is great for some things, but I can't plug my toaster/flyer/HD audio recording card/TBC cards/..... into an itx board. If some one could make a zorro bridgeboard that would connect to a pc running UAE, now that would rock.

Plaz


But the PC/Mac world has moved on from those old technologies... Use the modern stuff :-)

Offline cicero790

Re: 060 expansion replacement
« Reply #6 on: August 22, 2008, 06:46:52 PM »
Quote

yakumo9275 wrote:
uh you could buy a pico itx board and just run uae on it. Thats what your really talking about. using a pc to emulate the 68060...

or you could get a Virtex-5 FXT FGPA ML507 that plugs into your PC's pci-e slot that has a v5 fpga and powerpc 440 core onboard with a boatload of connectors and make a fully functional hardware miggy right in your pci-e slot..



Yes, but if you have an A1200 and want an expansion, who cares if its a complete pc in that little box. If the A1200 gives up then you can move the pico into the A1200 case and run complete emulation  ;-)

But if there was a way to make the cpu+translator work that would feel more like something specially made for the purpose.
A1200 030 40MHz: 2/32MB Indivision AGA MkII
A600 7 MHz: 2MB
AROS 600 MHz
PC 13600 MHz: quad core i7 2600K 3.4GHz: 16GB RAM: ATI HD6950 2GB   (Yes I know)

WINUAE AmiKit ClassicWB AmigaSYS UAE4Droid  

 

Offline cicero790

Re: 060 expansion replacement
« Reply #7 on: August 22, 2008, 08:05:11 PM »
Quote

skurk wrote:
It has been discussed earlier, and partially implemented by Ratte (if I understand him correctly)

I'm also very keen on the idea, but I don't (yet) have the know-how's.  I'm more than happy to assist and/or support anyone who wants to explore it further.

I don't care if it is more expensive than a real accelerator, if it is slower than a real one, or whatever.  I'm in for the technical fun.  I love a challenge.


If it works on a big PC I guess it will be the same opportunity to use it on little pico PC. A little gray box next to the A1200 would look nice.
A1200 030 40MHz: 2/32MB Indivision AGA MkII
A600 7 MHz: 2MB
AROS 600 MHz
PC 13600 MHz: quad core i7 2600K 3.4GHz: 16GB RAM: ATI HD6950 2GB   (Yes I know)

WINUAE AmiKit ClassicWB AmigaSYS UAE4Droid  

 

Offline cicero790

Re: 060 expansion replacement
« Reply #8 on: August 22, 2008, 08:06:33 PM »
Quote

bloodline wrote:
The Idea of using a PicoITX board as an acelarator is quite a fun one...


Yes, wouldn't that be an honourable task for a PC. :-)
A1200 030 40MHz: 2/32MB Indivision AGA MkII
A600 7 MHz: 2MB
AROS 600 MHz
PC 13600 MHz: quad core i7 2600K 3.4GHz: 16GB RAM: ATI HD6950 2GB   (Yes I know)

WINUAE AmiKit ClassicWB AmigaSYS UAE4Droid