Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: Reply once if you've tried AROS  (Read 3706 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #60 on: July 25, 2003, 04:02:23 PM »
Quote

NitrousB wrote:
@Bloodline

One thing, when i last tried AROS i found a Mame folder but with no contents, is it on the contributions cd?


No you have to build MAME separately. We don't include it in the main Archive.
I don't know why as I've not actually used it.

Offline dammy

Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #61 on: July 25, 2003, 05:40:20 PM »
by bloodline on 2003/7/25 10:38:44

Quote
A Cheap CD-R in brown paper bag... with an elastic band holing it shut.


Heh, not quiet what I ment by packaging.  I ment software packaging so that updates can be performed online.

Dammy
Dammy

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Arix-OS/414578091930728
Unless otherwise noted, I speak only for myself.
 

Offline Gaidheal

Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #62 on: July 26, 2003, 04:56:01 PM »
@AmiNTT

What build?

What hardware do you have?

How long ago was this?

In what way did it not work?

Ever considered passing feedback to the people who made it rather than trying to look clever with a "10 minute rule"?

(P.S.  Amiga easily fails the 10 minute rule for people used to real PCs :¬) )
[color=3300FF]Gaidheal[/color][/b][color=0066CC] - \\"The Emulator Guy\\"[/color][/i]
 

Offline Hammer

Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #63 on: July 27, 2003, 09:01:50 AM »
AROS 0.07b (~23 May 2003) ISO was the last working AROS for my boxes.

Tried “AROS-20030722-i386-pc-boot-iso.tar.bz2” it didn't work with my old test Athlon M4/MSI-6330 V3.6(VIA KT class)/PC133 512Mb/Geforce2/SbLive5.1DE/Sony CD-RW/Samsung DVD-ROM box i.e. The PC did't recognised the ISO as 'bootable' (even WinISO 5.3 indicated as bootable). Copying 0.07b’s ‘aros.bin’ made it boot…(Other issues cropped up, oh well...)

I haven’t tried “AROS-20030722-i386-pc-boot-iso.tar.bz2” on my other AthlonXP/ASUS A7N8X  Deluxe/PC2700 512Mb/Geforce4 TI MyVIVO/Soundstorm box, since I'm currently downloading "AROS-20030727-i386-pc-boot-iso.tar.bz2"....

Addendum (after the download):
“AROS-20030727-i386-pc-boot-iso” works for MSI-6330 V3.6 box...
 
AmigaForever 2016 with AmigaOS 4.1 FE, AMIDuOS\'s Android 5.01, MS Windows 10 Pro X64
Samsung ATIV Book 8 880Z5E laptop with touch screen.
CPU: Intel Core i7-3635QM, 2.4Ghz base, 3.4Ghz turbo.
RAM: 16 GB PC3-12800 (DDR3-1600)
GPU: AMD Radeon HD 8870M (OC) 2GB GDDR5 VRAM.
SSD: 512 GB Samsung 840
 

Offline Bobsonsirjonny

Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #64 on: July 27, 2003, 11:12:31 AM »
MSI KT4V mainboard (old board got a dry joint)
Athlon XP1700+
Geforce 4 Ti 4200 (cos my radeon buggered up)
256 ram (cos my gig got screwed with mainboard)
Onboard 5.1 sound - not tested as I didnt have a long enough cable)
Creative DVD Rom Drive
Lite on 52x CDRW drive (cos my other one broke)
2 x 160gb 7200 rpm drives with 8mb cache :-D (anout the only bit Im proud of)

AROS worked fine :-)

(all those bit went quite recently as well..... Keyboard is ok though :-P
The REAL BOBSON - accept no immitations!

8 Bloody Tickets!
http://amigadevbox.happybiscuit.com/

http://www.killingwithkindness.com/

Some of my drawings
...
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #65 on: July 27, 2003, 12:07:33 PM »
Quote

dammy wrote:
by bloodline on 2003/7/25 10:38:44

Quote
A Cheap CD-R in brown paper bag... with an elastic band holing it shut.


Heh, not quiet what I ment by packaging.  I ment software packaging so that updates can be performed online.

Dammy


I know what you meant ;-)

We haven't decided, but I suspect it will be a script that checks your system and then downloads and installs newer versions of the system components if available.
I would intened this system to be for people who really don't want to know if their asl.library is out of date. They just want it to magically be updated.

Other users can do it manually, if they wish, it's not like there is anything cryptic in AmigaOS/AROS...

Offline mauma

Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #66 on: July 27, 2003, 02:54:42 PM »
I've tried AROS a month ago.
It sure has the Amiga feeling.
When it becomes stable and there is a good development environment, then I'm going to use it more frequently :-)
 

Offline Housey

Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #67 on: July 27, 2003, 05:50:55 PM »
Just tried the new ISO.  BIG improvement on the last one I tried.

The last one gave some graphical glitches when I tried it.  Although that was on a PC with about half  or less the spec of this one (which is a 2400XP).

It looks very promosing, now.  Booted in seconds, the demos all rocked and it seems much more useable.  
As others have said 68k emu and TCP/IP will make it one hell of a lot better.

I would also like to be able to see the other partitions on my hard disk, don't know if this is already possible.

Keep it up !   ;-)
 

Offline DaveWC

Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #68 on: July 27, 2003, 06:07:08 PM »
I tried the floppy image a while back. It was the first amiga-like experience I had in a long while, since frying my A1200 in a botched attempt to tower it.

I must say allthough only a brief experience, it bought memories flooding back. No doubt I'll install the linux hosted version once I have slackware up and running for my next uni siemester.

A question though, does one have to be a true Amiga stalwart to get into developing for AROS?

How's AROS' API documentation coming along? Or rather what Amiga literature should I be looking for? Bearing in mind I have ZERO Amiga programming experience but do have solid C/C++ knowledge.

(Hello by the way, I'm new here)
 

Offline KThunder

Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #69 on: July 27, 2003, 06:18:01 PM »
I've been keeping a close eye on AROS since the beginning and have tried it numerous times. It is fantastic to see the progress they have made. I wish i could help in more than finacial ways, but I suck at c.
Oh yeah?!?
Well your stupid bit is set,
and its read only!
(my best geek putdown)
 

Offline dammy

Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #70 on: July 27, 2003, 06:56:26 PM »
by DaveWC on 2003/7/27 13:07:08


Quote
How's AROS' API documentation coming along? Or rather what Amiga literature should I be looking for? Bearing in mind I have ZERO Amiga programming experience but do have solid C/C++ knowledge.


AROS always needs more Devs like you. =)  You can Start here and you may want to join the
Dev's ML.

Or hit irc.freenode.org in #aros and chat with the Devs as they can give you quick replies to your questions.

Dammy
Dammy

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Arix-OS/414578091930728
Unless otherwise noted, I speak only for myself.
 

Offline Gaidheal

Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #71 on: July 27, 2003, 11:22:21 PM »
Ditto what Dammy said.  My own background is C/C++ developing for Windows, especially NT5 (XP/2000).

I have never programmed for the Amiga and actually never owned one.  Something which may shortly be rectified.
[color=3300FF]Gaidheal[/color][/b][color=0066CC] - \\"The Emulator Guy\\"[/color][/i]
 

Offline Ilwrath

Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #72 on: July 28, 2003, 12:09:21 AM »
Hmm... I tried AROS a while back and thought it was interesting, yet still needed some work.  Had an hour or so today, so I decided to try out the latest version from AROS.org, and see how's it's grown recently.

Had some pretty serious issues on the Linux-hosted version.  Posted them to the bug-tracker at SourceForge.  This the proper procedure?
 

Offline Gaidheal

Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #73 on: July 28, 2003, 12:14:14 AM »
Probably... what sort of issues?  There are some nasty IDE ones with the x86 native at the moment, but I thought everything was working well on the *nix hosted versions...
[color=3300FF]Gaidheal[/color][/b][color=0066CC] - \\"The Emulator Guy\\"[/color][/i]
 

Offline Ilwrath

Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #74 on: July 28, 2003, 05:13:34 AM »
Quote
Probably... what sort of issues? There are some nasty IDE ones with the x86 native at the moment, but I thought everything was working well on the *nix hosted versions...


It would segfault on start.  shortly before, it would spit out a message of
Quote
!!! COULD NOT CREATE OFSCREEN X11 BITMAP FOR SUPPLIED ATTRS !!!

Don't quite know what that means... and didn't take things apart enough to try to figure it out.  Similiar results on both the binary and source versions.