Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: Reply once if you've tried AROS  (Read 3714 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Crumb

Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #30 on: July 23, 2003, 10:42:35 AM »
I tried it a few times... it lacks apps, a 68k emu would solve many problems... including the tcp/ip stack for example...
The only spanish amiga news web page/club: Club de Usuarios de Amiga de Zaragoza (CUAZ)
 

Offline Ni72ous

Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #31 on: July 23, 2003, 10:53:32 AM »
Tried a few different cds, i like it, it is should be really good when fully functional.
Ni72ous
 

Offline shaf

Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #32 on: July 23, 2003, 12:47:31 PM »
The Floppy versions work fine for me.

I have never been able to succcessfully boot with the CD Image, although my system is usin g a SCSI CD-ROM and SCSI HDD.

Is there a way to extract the new ISO's in Windows, I can't successfully extract the *.gz2 image after the first untar?

Unfortunately my download box doesn't have a Linux distro on it.
 

Offline Radfoo

Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #33 on: July 23, 2003, 02:30:17 PM »
Yep, I have a go with it now and then.

It is very promising, as soon as it gets either TCP/IP or a 68k emu it will become a very functional OS.
 

Offline dammy

Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #34 on: July 23, 2003, 02:42:51 PM »
TCP/IP stack is being worked on (huge project).  UAE was ported awhile ago.  An updated UAE needs to be done.

AROS could always use some more devs. ;)

Dammy
Dammy

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Arix-OS/414578091930728
Unless otherwise noted, I speak only for myself.
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #35 on: July 23, 2003, 06:42:56 PM »
Quote

shaf wrote:
The Floppy versions work fine for me.

I have never been able to succcessfully boot with the CD Image, although my system is usin g a SCSI CD-ROM and SCSI HDD.

Is there a way to extract the new ISO's in Windows, I can't successfully extract the *.gz2 image after the first untar?

Unfortunately my download box doesn't have a Linux distro on it.


Saddly there is no SCSI support at the moment. You can only use IDE devices.  

Offline that_punk_guy

Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #36 on: July 23, 2003, 07:36:09 PM »
tried an iso about 2 or 3 months ago... it needs apps badly, I'd love to see it mature and see software available for it that really takes advantage of my beast of a PC (two of which I could build for the price of an AmigaOne, but that's another thread... :-) )
 

Offline melott

Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #37 on: July 23, 2003, 07:42:52 PM »
Tried the floppy ver.  them burned a CD ver.
I love it ..... am waiting, like everyone else for
a 68k emu.  and the we can Rock & Roll.

Mel Ott
 :-)  :-D  ;-)
Stealth ONE  8-)
 

Offline Gopal

Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #38 on: July 23, 2003, 08:10:34 PM »
Tried it, like it, waiting for more.
retronerd.net
 

Offline dammy

Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #39 on: July 23, 2003, 08:34:25 PM »
by that_punk_guy on 2003/7/23 14:36:09

Quote
ried an iso about 2 or 3 months ago... it needs apps badly, I'd love to see it mature and see software available for it that really takes advantage of my beast of a PC (two of which I could build for the price of an AmigaOne, but that's another thread...


Did you also download the contrib ISO for more apps?

Dammy
Dammy

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Arix-OS/414578091930728
Unless otherwise noted, I speak only for myself.
 

Offline 4pLaY

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2002
  • Posts: 777
  • Country: no
  • Total likes: 5
  • Gender: Male
    • https://www.amigalife.org
Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #40 on: July 23, 2003, 08:44:54 PM »
i thought you guys might like to see some new development that has been going on with AROS :) check out this screenshot http://www.chodorowski.com/aros/screenshots/aafonts+gradientbuttons.png and for the lastet info dont forget irc.freenode.net #aros :-).

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com

  • Guest
Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #42 on: July 24, 2003, 12:00:23 AM »
Quote

bloodline wrote:
New AROS Screenshot with Antialiased text!!!


Very nice! :-D
 

Offline Hammer

Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #43 on: July 24, 2003, 12:02:43 AM »
 
Quote

bloodline wrote:
New AROS Screenshot with Antialiased text!!!

Very nice…
AmigaForever 2016 with AmigaOS 4.1 FE, AMIDuOS\'s Android 5.01, MS Windows 10 Pro X64
Samsung ATIV Book 8 880Z5E laptop with touch screen.
CPU: Intel Core i7-3635QM, 2.4Ghz base, 3.4Ghz turbo.
RAM: 16 GB PC3-12800 (DDR3-1600)
GPU: AMD Radeon HD 8870M (OC) 2GB GDDR5 VRAM.
SSD: 512 GB Samsung 840
 

Offline iamaboringperson

Re: Reply once if you've tried AROS
« Reply #44 on: July 24, 2003, 12:10:07 AM »
Quote

Hammer wrote:
 
Quote

bloodline wrote:
New AROS Screenshot with Antialiased text!!!

Very nice…
erm... im sure that exact pic was posted not long ago...