Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: KickWork  (Read 9926 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline da9000

Re: KickWork
« Reply #30 on: December 03, 2007, 02:59:59 PM »
Ah, having not seen the wl(), I was lead down the wrong path of guessing. Doh!  I assume you're want endianess safety because you're a UAE user?

As for ptr3/ptr4: gotcha. Smart and tricky ;-)
 

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: KickWork
« Reply #31 on: December 03, 2007, 03:15:21 PM »
@da9000
Quote
I assume you're want endianess safety because you're a UAE user?

Nah, I wanted the code to be nice. Locking your code to certain endianess is quite stupid.

I wrote the app on my peg2 running MorphOS, but tested it using WinUAE (afaik E-UAE doesn't do A1000 emulation).
 

Offline da9000

Re: KickWork
« Reply #32 on: December 03, 2007, 03:55:24 PM »
Doh! Bad assumption again! Forgot you're a MorphOS dev, and that means PPC! But good point on the WinUAE vs E-UAE and A1000 emu.

Double doh! Just realized you posted a link to the source! Now I can see the bitmap setting code and trackdisk replacement code. Cool stuff - sweet code!

Anyways, you're right about not doing it properly and endian agnostic to begin with (especially with networking code :-))

EDIT:
Since I've got some of your attention on this thread, Piru, if you have a little time (if not, that's ok), would you mind checking my very last post, and very last questions for you on this older thread: http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthread.php?t=26716
I'd love to hear from you on it (again, only if you have time, if not, no prob). Thanks
 

Offline TjLaZer

Re: KickWork
« Reply #33 on: December 07, 2007, 04:21:56 AM »
I want to test this on WinUAE, is it possible?  (Kickstart)

Whats the -b switch do exactly?

-edit-

I guess I needed to update to the latest WinUAE, there is an option of A1000. BUT I need 1000 bootstrap ROMs?  How do I get them?  I own THREE FLIPPING Amiga 1000 computers so I think I am legal here...
Going Bananas over AMIGAs since 1987...

Looking for Fusion Fourty PNG ROMs V3.4?

:flame: :banana: :banana: :banana:
 

Offline orange

Re: KickWork
« Reply #34 on: December 07, 2007, 09:03:19 AM »
so, Piru, could you do it for KS2+ ?
Better sorry than worry.
 

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: KickWork
« Reply #35 on: December 07, 2007, 09:18:00 AM »
@orange

A1000 only has 256KB WOM.
 

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: KickWork
« Reply #36 on: December 07, 2007, 09:21:18 AM »
@TjLaZer
Quote
Whats the -b switch do exactly?

From the program help page:
Quote
create DOS bootable floppy rather than A1000 kickstart disk


Basically it makes a normal DOS floppy you can use on any amiga. You can then fill it with whatever files you need. Once done, you can make it KICK-floppy by just writing the first 512 bytes with 'KICK' + zeros.
 

Offline orange

Re: KickWork
« Reply #37 on: December 07, 2007, 10:32:16 AM »
@Piru


 
Quote
A1000 only has 256KB WOM.


that hasn't stopped rloew doing it  ;-)

could you use for eg. fast ram on A590?
Better sorry than worry.
 

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: KickWork
« Reply #38 on: December 07, 2007, 11:00:56 AM »
@orange
Quote
that hasn't stopped rloew doing it

That requires either 512KB WOM hack + modified A1000 bootstrap, or skick kind of hack for the 2nd half of the ROM.

This is out of scope for mkkickwork.
 

Offline TjLaZer

Re: KickWork
« Reply #39 on: December 14, 2007, 06:09:55 AM »
Piru,

I got to test your KickWork and it works great!  I make a disk with stripped out WB 1.3 on it, works a treat...
Going Bananas over AMIGAs since 1987...

Looking for Fusion Fourty PNG ROMs V3.4?

:flame: :banana: :banana: :banana:
 

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: KickWork
« Reply #40 on: December 14, 2007, 09:22:58 AM »
@TjLaZer

Oi! Nice to hear it works on the real thing, too :-)
 

Offline Ratte

Re: KickWork
« Reply #41 on: December 14, 2007, 03:37:05 PM »
I used the second longword to identify the disk for twinkick.

If i remember correctly there was also a pd-series with a "kickwork" disk with a different (bad) technic.
The disk must be "writeable" and the kickstart changed the bootblock entry for a short time.
After a reset ist writes DOS in it and after booting the WB there was a tool inside the WB startup-sequence writing KICK on the BB.

crazy way ... i think its on an IG1000 Disk.
 

Offline rloew

Re: KickWork
« Reply #42 on: December 16, 2007, 03:18:46 AM »
I believe that PD verision was called "KickBench".

Seeing the poor design of KickBench prompted me to write KickWork.

KickBench clearly was not reliable for unattended operation since a power failure between the writes would disable the disk.
 

Offline TjLaZer

Re: KickWork
« Reply #43 on: December 16, 2007, 06:24:35 AM »
I plan on trying to use PowerPacker to pack the whole WB disk so it will fit on KickWork!!!!  Woot!!!
Going Bananas over AMIGAs since 1987...

Looking for Fusion Fourty PNG ROMs V3.4?

:flame: :banana: :banana: :banana:
 

Offline TjLaZer

Re: KickWork
« Reply #44 on: December 24, 2007, 08:42:54 AM »
Haha I am such a nerd.  I spent this evening Imploding all the exe files from my Workbench 1.3.3 disk to my KickWork disk!  I now have a full WB 1.3.3 KickWork disk!  It rocks!!!  ;)
Going Bananas over AMIGAs since 1987...

Looking for Fusion Fourty PNG ROMs V3.4?

:flame: :banana: :banana: :banana: