Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: Hey Mac laptop users.........  (Read 673 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline amigadave

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2004
  • Posts: 3836
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.EfficientByDesign.org
Hey Mac laptop users.........
« on: August 29, 2007, 07:48:46 AM »
Why does my MacBook have so much trouble maintaining a wireless connection when running MacOS, but not when running Windows XP Pro, or even Amiga emulation?

I used to blame my wireless routers at two separate houses for the loss of connection, even though the signal strength was always strong.  Then I noticed that I do not have the same problem staying connected on the internet, or with a mail program while I am running any other OS.

Do any of you have the same problem, or know how to fix this annoying problem?
How are you helping the Amiga community? :)
 

Offline skurk

Re: Hey Mac laptop users.........
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2007, 07:59:43 AM »
I haven't had any problems with my Macbook to this date.

What do you mean by "maintaining a wireless connection" anyway - it disconnects you every now and then?

Do you boot Windows using Bootcamp, or are you running it in a VM like VMWare or Parallels?

The Amiga emulation, is it under MacOSX or Windows?
Code 6502 asm or... DIE!!

[C64, C128, A500, A600, A1200, A3000, MBP+Mini, Efika/MOS2.1, Sam440 w/AOS4.1
 

Offline SteveSMS

Re: Hey Mac laptop users.........
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2007, 08:05:23 AM »
Try running Apple Update. There was an Airport update not that long ago.


-Steve
... Who says the sky is really green? Maybe we\\\'re all just colorblind...
A1200 6GB HDD
A3000, building in progress
A2000, building in progress
A500
 

Offline amigadave

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2004
  • Posts: 3836
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.EfficientByDesign.org
Re: Hey Mac laptop users.........
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2007, 08:17:22 AM »
Yes, I lose the ability to connect to any web server, even though the Airport card says it is working fine.

I have Parallels, but I am using BootCamp most of the time when I want to run XP Pro and I have never been successful with a MacOS emulating the AmigaOS, so I always use WinUAE via AmigaForever, or AmiKit.  I think AmiKit is the greatest and support it when ever I can.

I have almost never experienced a disconnection using Windows on the MacBook, but almost always experience several disconnects using MacOS and the only fix is to reset the DSL or Cable modem, or restart the laptop.  I have always kept the MacOS up to date and run the updater often, so I don't think that is the problem.  It is getting so frustrating that I now find myself booting into Windows much more often than I want.

The only time I want to run Windows is to A. run Amiga emulation, and B. to run my CAD program for working.
How are you helping the Amiga community? :)
 

Offline skurk

Re: Hey Mac laptop users.........
« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2007, 09:23:20 AM »
Like SteveSMS said, try an update and see if that works.

If not, open Terminal and ping some hosts when you're "offline".  Can you ping your router?  Can you ping any external sites?

You say the websites are unavailable, but the Airport card is working.  The first thing that struck me was that your DNS servers are unstable.  Are your network settings different in MacOS and Windows?
Code 6502 asm or... DIE!!

[C64, C128, A500, A600, A1200, A3000, MBP+Mini, Efika/MOS2.1, Sam440 w/AOS4.1
 

Offline mdivancic

Re: Hey Mac laptop users.........
« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2007, 12:25:25 PM »
I think Skurk is right, it must be a setup issue. I've had my MacBook since they came out and I've never had a problem with it. Right now I'm hooked to a LinkSys router, but getting ready to switch to the new Apple router now that cheap "N" cards are available.
Mikey
Amiga 4000T (QuickPak), OS 3.9, QuickPak 060 w/128 MB, Picasso IV, A2065, AD516
Atari Falcon 030, CT-63 w/128MB @ 76MHz, 14 MB RamGizmo, SuperVidel + SVEthLANa
Atari TT030, CaTTamaran, 4 MB ST Ram, 16 MB TT Ram, ECL2VGA
Commodore 128D, 1084S monitor, RAMLink, 4GB CMD Harddrive
Commodore SX-64