Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Hollywood MAL AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: Windoze Guru, please help  (Read 803 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Windoze Guru, please help
« on: June 04, 2003, 11:16:28 AM »
IS there any way of getting Windoze to accept path names the right way around?

So that:
c:\temp\mystuff\fungame.exe

can be typed:
c:temp/mystuff/fungame.exe

It's just getting on my nerves, that's all :-)

Offline odin

  • Colonization had Galleons
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 6795
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Windoze Guru, please help
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2003, 11:20:28 AM »
Install amithlon? ;-)

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: Windoze Guru, please help
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2003, 11:22:58 AM »
Quote

odin wrote:
Install amithlon? ;-)


Hehehe, Legal and moral issues aside... I don't think my boss would be too keen about Amithlon... He freaked out when he saw AROS on half the machines in the office  :-)

Offline alx

Re: Windoze Guru, please help
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2003, 11:24:13 AM »
Swap/turn round the keys? :-)

  • Guest
Re: Windoze Guru, please help
« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2003, 11:27:35 AM »
Quote

bloodline wrote:
IS there any way of getting Windoze to accept path names the right way around?

So that:
c:\temp\mystuff\fungame.exe

can be typed:
c:temp/mystuff/fungame.exe

It's just getting on my nerves, that's all :-)


Just install CygWin

You get a nice bash shell and all the GNU tools compiled for Win32.  Bash is far superior to cmd.exe in everyway.  You can even install XFree86 and a GNOME/KDE etc if you so wish!
 

Offline Rodney

Re: Windoze Guru, please help
« Reply #5 on: June 04, 2003, 11:34:05 AM »
Quote

bloodline wrote:
IS there any way of getting Windoze to accept path names the right way around?

So that:
c:\temp\mystuff\fungame.exe

can be typed:
c:temp/mystuff/fungame.exe

It's just getting on my nerves, that's all :-)


Im pretty sure windows supports both / and \.

But you have to either have c:\ OR c:/ at the start... where as you typed c:dir/dir... it should have been c:/dir/dir/dir

You can even mix it up a little bit such as c:/dir\dir/dir\dir
We are not Humans having a spirital experiance
We are Spirits having a Human experiance.
 

  • Guest
Re: Windoze Guru, please help
« Reply #6 on: June 04, 2003, 11:41:43 AM »
Quote

Rodney wrote:
Quote

bloodline wrote:
IS there any way of getting Windoze to accept path names the right way around?

So that:
c:\temp\mystuff\fungame.exe

can be typed:
c:temp/mystuff/fungame.exe

It's just getting on my nerves, that's all :-)


Im pretty sure windows supports both / and \.

But you have to either have c:\ OR c:/ at the start... where as you typed c:dir/dir... it should have been c:/dir/dir/dir

You can even mix it up a little bit such as c:/dir\dir/dir\dir


Just tried it at work on W2K SP3.  It doesn't support /
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: Windoze Guru, please help
« Reply #7 on: June 04, 2003, 11:42:03 AM »
Well, I've never had windows accept  the / in a path name, I think cgwin is the best idea... and since I've just hacked the administrator password on this machine here at work I can now install stuff :-)

  • Guest
Re: Windoze Guru, please help
« Reply #8 on: June 04, 2003, 11:56:17 AM »
Quote

bloodline wrote:
Well, I've never had windows accept  the / in a path name, I think cgwin is the best idea... and since I've just hacked the administrator password on this machine here at work I can now install stuff :-)


Which password cracker did you use?

btw. You don't need admin rights to install Cygwin. :-D
 

Offline Rodney

Re: Windoze Guru, please help
« Reply #9 on: June 04, 2003, 11:57:30 AM »
We are not Humans having a spirital experiance
We are Spirits having a Human experiance.
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: Windoze Guru, please help
« Reply #10 on: June 04, 2003, 12:05:45 PM »
Quote

mdma wrote:
Quote

bloodline wrote:
Well, I've never had windows accept  the / in a path name, I think cgwin is the best idea... and since I've just hacked the administrator password on this machine here at work I can now install stuff :-)


Which password cracker did you use?

btw. You don't need admin rights to install Cygwin. :-D


This one: http://home.eunet.no/~pnordahl/

And I need admin rights to take a leak here :-(


  • Guest
Re: Windoze Guru, please help
« Reply #11 on: June 04, 2003, 12:05:52 PM »
Quote

Rodney wrote:
Quote

mdma wrote:
Quote

Rodney wrote:
Quote

bloodline wrote:
IS there any way of getting Windoze to accept path names the right way around?

So that:
c:\temp\mystuff\fungame.exe

can be typed:
c:temp/mystuff/fungame.exe

It's just getting on my nerves, that's all :-)


Im pretty sure windows supports both / and \.

But you have to either have c:\ OR c:/ at the start... where as you typed c:dir/dir... it should have been c:/dir/dir/dir

You can even mix it up a little bit such as c:/dir\dir/dir\dir


Just tried it at work on W2K SP3.  It doesn't support /


Strange, works on 98... I've known for quite a while it did it... Maybe they dont support it in 2000 based OSes?

P.S i tried it before i posted it as well :)


It'll work in the address bar, but not under command.com or cmd.exe shell's
 

  • Guest
Re: Windoze Guru, please help
« Reply #12 on: June 04, 2003, 12:11:46 PM »
Quote

bloodline wrote:
Quote

mdma wrote:
Quote

bloodline wrote:
Well, I've never had windows accept  the / in a path name, I think cgwin is the best idea... and since I've just hacked the administrator password on this machine here at work I can now install stuff :-)


Which password cracker did you use?

btw. You don't need admin rights to install Cygwin. :-D


This one: http://home.eunet.no/~pnordahl/

And I need admin rights to take a leak here :-(



I know the feeling!
 

Offline Casper

Re: Windoze Guru, please help
« Reply #13 on: June 04, 2003, 12:19:00 PM »
Quote
It'll work in the address bar, but not under command.com or cmd.exe shell's


I just tried it in Windows XP Pro and it works in cmd.exe as well as in the address bar.

 

  • Guest
Re: Windoze Guru, please help
« Reply #14 on: June 04, 2003, 12:37:14 PM »
Quote

Casper wrote:
Quote
It'll work in the address bar, but not under command.com or cmd.exe shell's


I just tried it in Windows XP Pro and it works in cmd.exe as well as in the address bar.



.... and people slag off Linux for it's non-uniformity between distributions! Oh, the irony! :-)