Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Hollywood MAL AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: 060 or PPC  (Read 1915 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline artman

Re: 060 or PPC
« Reply #15 on: February 23, 2006, 12:20:33 AM »
Maybe I paid too much at the time, but I paid $250 USD for a Blizzard '060 card w/128 meg on it 3 years ago.  I concider it money well spent by the way.  As soon as I can afford it, I'm going to buy an '060 card for my A3000 from AmigaKit.  :-D
 

Offline lurkist

Re: 060 or PPC
« Reply #16 on: February 23, 2006, 12:22:53 AM »
Classic Amigas are basically antiques, hence the price tag.  If the Blizzard you see is an 060 or a low-end PPC that sounds about right.  In the words of the Metallibashers, Sad But True!
A1200 Power Tower, Blizzard 1260 66 +32MB, OS3.9, 2.5\\" HD, IDEfix97 + DVD-RW + Zip, SD/FF + 15\\" CRT, Ioblix1200P + scanner, PCMCIA LAN + router
 

Offline pVC

Re: 060 or PPC
« Reply #17 on: February 24, 2006, 09:02:30 AM »
CPU usage will be something like 40% with 060 when playing MP3. You can do other stuff while listening music, but audio can cut sometimes if you do heavier stuff. You can affect to it by setting program priorities though... I'd still prefer some hw-decoder with 060. They won't use CPU for playing and 16bit is better than 14bit. Some sound cards have hw-decoding possibility and then there's some external hw-players.

Those fast IDE things have same problem than onboard IDE. They choke the CPU when transferring data. With SCSI the transfers are done with dma and there won't be any cpu load.

060 isn't quite enough for video streaming. You can watch low quality mpegs/avis, but on decent quality videos it's quite slideshow :)
Daily MorphOS user and Amiga active.
 

Offline darksun9210

Re: 060 or PPC
« Reply #18 on: February 24, 2006, 11:10:51 AM »
i'd be happy enough with an 060, but i'd like a GFX card as it makes web browsing a much nicer expirience, and the only real way to do this with a desktop case is a PPC card with Bvision... what a shame ;-)

A500 Vampire2, A600 Vampire2, A1200 Vampire2, A1200 Bliz040, A1200 BlizPPC, A3k CS MK3060, A4k C=040, CD32 TF330
 

Offline kefallinos

Re: 060 or PPC
« Reply #19 on: February 24, 2006, 12:27:05 PM »
well... i boughta blizzard  030 three monts ago,in a store that used to sell amigas and amiga parts,for 15 euros :roll:

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: 060 or PPC
« Reply #20 on: February 24, 2006, 12:50:35 PM »
Quote
ExecSG + Petunia JIT from OS4 beta, emulates OS3.9 faster than a 25MHz 040 runs it natively on a BPPC 200MHz.

I really would recommend waiting for OS4 BPPC rather than buying an 060.

Or don't wait, but use free PowerUP MorphOS.

It has Trance JIT engine which is even faster (moderate 603 runs faster than 060).
 

Offline corpsicle

Re: 060 or PPC
« Reply #21 on: February 24, 2006, 02:06:18 PM »
I found that on my a4000/060 with mpega, mp3 playing at highest quality only took about 25% CPU.

Using aminetradio or similar on 060 isnt really practical.
 

Offline CLS2086

Re: 060 or PPC
« Reply #22 on: February 24, 2006, 08:43:56 PM »
Hi,
if you have BPPC card and a compatible graphic card, and that you use mainly CGX & WB system friendly apps, then take the try with MOS, You'll get a huge big boost over a 060/100Mhz, and you'll still be able to listen radio.
But don't expect any gain of speed for the PPC if you use the original Warp "build", use their MOS release instead  :rtfm: .
Keep the Faith !
VG 5000/A1000/500/500+/600/2000/CDTV/1200PPC-GREX/1200PPC -ATEO-BV/4060D/CD32/Aone/Peg 1/Peg2 G4/ various funny machines too  :-) http://www.mo5.com/collection/index.php?pseudo=CLS2086
I also repair drives of our old beloved Amiga
 

Offline JLF65

Re: 060 or PPC
« Reply #23 on: February 25, 2006, 04:49:46 AM »
Quote

Piru wrote:
Or don't wait, but use free PowerUP MorphOS.


Problems - not free (it only works for 2 hours until you pay), and no AGA support.
 

Offline Lando

Re: 060 or PPC
« Reply #24 on: February 25, 2006, 07:14:38 AM »
Quote

JLF65 wrote:
Quote

Piru wrote:
Or don't wait, but use free PowerUP MorphOS.


Problems - not free (it only works for 2 hours until you pay), and no AGA support.


That's not true at all - registration is completely free.  There is nothing to pay.  That's why it is called 'MorphOS Free Edition'

If you use it, and like it, then there is a button on the web page to make a Paypal donation to the developers but it's up to you whether you do that.

AGA support?  If you've got a PPC card but you're still using AGA then you've got your priorities mixed up.  AGA is getting on for 15 years old and slows down terribly in anything over 32 colours even in low resolutions.

MorphOS uses features such as alpha blending and transparency, hardware acceleration, gradients, blurring, font antialiasing, fully skinnable interface with 32-bit PNG icons and buttons - how could these be made to work on AGA?  And even if they could work, how fast do you think they would run?

 

Offline JLF65

Re: 060 or PPC
« Reply #25 on: February 25, 2006, 11:30:58 PM »
Quote

Lando wrote:
That's not true at all - registration is completely free.  There is nothing to pay.  That's why it is called 'MorphOS Free Edition'

If you use it, and like it, then there is a button on the web page to make a Paypal donation to the developers but it's up to you whether you do that.


Ah, I was under the impression registering MorphOS wasn't free. Thanks for clearing that up.

Quote
AGA support?  If you've got a PPC card but you're still using AGA then you've got your priorities mixed up.  AGA is getting on for 15 years old and slows down terribly in anything over 32 colours even in low resolutions.


I'd rather not spend $500 trying to get a $50 PC video card working on my A1200. I either have to spend almost $300 for a BVisionPPC (when you can find one at all) and another $150 or so on a tower case, or about $400 for a tower case and a PCI expansion to use a cheap PCI video card. Neither is appealing at all.

The page does say it works with the CV64/3D. I have one in my A4000. The problem there is the A4000 has a developer PPC in it, not the CyberStormPPC. I think I'll go ahead of get the new MorphOS release and check if it works with the developer PPC card.
 

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: 060 or PPC
« Reply #26 on: February 26, 2006, 12:16:43 AM »
Usually free does mean free.

But naturally this 'free' only means MorphOS itself is free. We can't give away free hardware, nor can we support all imaginable hardware configurations.
 

Offline Hyperspeed

Re: 060 or PPC
« Reply #27 on: February 26, 2006, 01:06:14 AM »
I've said it time and time again - Phase 5 should have made a graphics card for A1200 desktop owners and not bothered with the PowerPC boards with 603e.

A nice '060 + 3D GPU would have been much more prefferable to a PPC + BVision combo (and more physically possible for desktop!).

I think this is now being attempted with the PowerVixxen accelerator/GFX card.

MorphOS does indeed sound a very tempting prospect, especially since it has TurboPrint built in and PPC optimised operation.
 

  • Guest
Re: 060 or PPC
« Reply #28 on: February 26, 2006, 09:35:05 AM »
Quote

Piru wrote:
Quote
ExecSG + Petunia JIT from OS4 beta, emulates OS3.9 faster than a 25MHz 040 runs it natively on a BPPC 200MHz.

I really would recommend waiting for OS4 BPPC rather than buying an 060.

Or don't wait, but use free PowerUP MorphOS.

It has Trance JIT engine which is even faster (moderate 603 runs faster than 060).


Give me Mediator support please! :-(
 

Offline steve30

Re: 060 or PPC
« Reply #29 on: February 26, 2006, 09:36:18 AM »
Quote

kefallinos wrote:
well... i boughta blizzard  030 three monts ago,in a store that used to sell amigas and amiga parts,for 15 euros :roll:


Nice. I just paid £70 for mine. Although it did have 128mb fast ram and that's alot cheaper than the current retail prices.