Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: OS 3.2 - Is it the cause of all my problems?  (Read 2195 times)

Description:

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sheepzTopic starter

OS 3.2 - Is it the cause of all my problems?
« on: September 16, 2023, 02:45:46 PM »
Hi

I am getting back into using my amaigas and have now built the A4000D of my dreams and keeping my 1200 in its original from factor.

The plan was to have the A1200 for all the classic gaming (with a TF1260 and a Gotec and CF card in the PRMICIA slot for transferring stuff to it). While the A4000D with its graphics card, sound card and 060 and USB for some more serious stuff.

The problem is, with even a basic OS 3.2 install I have problems on both machines from gettin the USB to work to games not crashing all the time. Should I go back to the 3.1 roms and just work from there as thats what most of the HD images online seem to be?

I seem to be good at building my amigas, but its seems to be nothing but software issues for me, and any time I ask for help, the answer seems to be to go back to 3.1 and remove all the upgrades  ;D

Thanks

Barry
Aberdeen Scotland

A1260 - TF1260
A4000 - A3660, Freeway pro USB, Big ram and ZZ9000
 

Offline redfox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 874
  • Country: ca
    • Show only replies by redfox
Re: OS 3.2 - Is it the cause of all my problems?
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2023, 03:52:51 PM »
I run OS 3.2 in emulation, so in my case it does not touch the actual hardware.  I am using the OS 3.2 ROM file as supplied on the OS 3.2 CD.  OS 3.2 requires more RAM than OS 3.1 does. Not sure if this is an issue for you.

As I recall, OS 3.2 works best with the OS 3.2 ROMs.

If you want to go back to OS 3.1 ROMs, I would suggest going back to OS 3.1 entirely.  I never had 3.5 or 3.9 so I don't know if they used 3.1 rom or tailor made roms.

---
redfox
« Last Edit: September 16, 2023, 05:54:12 PM by redfox »
 

Online Thomas

Re: OS 3.2 - Is it the cause of all my problems?
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2023, 07:24:11 PM »
I have problems on both machines from gettin the USB to work to games not crashing all the time.

When talking about games you probably mean old-school WHDLoad games and similar, not modern system-friendly games.

Those old games usually disable the OS. A disabled OS cannot react on interrupts. An unhandled interrupt causes the system to freeze / crash. So any hardware which causes interrupts needs to be disabled before you can run games. This includes network interfaces, USB controllers and others.

WHDLoad has an option to run a script before a game starts and another one when the game ends. In this script you can disable the USB stack and enable it again afterwards.
 
The following users thanked this post: redfox

Offline sheepzTopic starter

Re: OS 3.2 - Is it the cause of all my problems?
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2023, 02:10:48 PM »

Thanks for all the replies, looks like its time to try the finally update tonight, and if still having issues, I will go to a complete 3.1 install on my 1200 as its just for games, and persevere with 3.2 on my A4000D

Cheers

Barry
Aberdeen Scotland

A1260 - TF1260
A4000 - A3660, Freeway pro USB, Big ram and ZZ9000
 

Offline klx300r

  • Amiga 1000+AmigaOne X1000
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2007
  • Posts: 3238
  • Country: ca
  • Thanked: 19 times
  • Gender: Male
    • Show only replies by klx300r
    • http://mancave-ramblings.blogspot.ca/
Re: OS 3.2 - Is it the cause of all my problems?
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2023, 04:08:31 PM »
For me it was only when I installed a clean OS3.2 (with OS3.2 roms) installation that all my nagging issues disappeared.
I recommend you take your system down to the motherboard and then slowly reinstall your cards in an attempt to pinpoint the source (s) of your issues
« Last Edit: September 19, 2023, 04:09:18 PM by klx300r »
____________________________________________________________________
c64-dual sids, A1000, A1200-060@50, A4000-CSMKIII
Indivision AGA & Catweasel MK4+= Amazing
! My Master Miggies-Amiga 1000 & AmigaOne X1000 !
--- www.mancave-ramblings.blogspot.ca ---
  -AspireOS.com & Amikit- Amiga for your netbook-
***X1000- I BELIEVE *** :angel:
 

Offline sheepzTopic starter

Re: OS 3.2 - Is it the cause of all my problems?
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2023, 08:33:35 AM »
For me it was only when I installed a clean OS3.2 (with OS3.2 roms) installation that all my nagging issues disappeared.
I recommend you take your system down to the motherboard and then slowly reinstall your cards in an attempt to pinpoint the source (s) of your issues

Thanks, that's the problem, I have done that with both my A4000D and A1200 and still have issues from loading games on my Gotek to WHDload. To not being able to install the Freepro USB software to just not being able to boot.

I will try again with my Amigas but I think for most compatibility and gaming (witch the 1200 will be for) I will go back to 3.1 if I have issues.

Regards

Barry
Aberdeen Scotland

A1260 - TF1260
A4000 - A3660, Freeway pro USB, Big ram and ZZ9000
 

Offline utri007

Re: OS 3.2 - Is it the cause of all my problems?
« Reply #6 on: September 21, 2023, 04:22:50 PM »
I have removed these new versions from all my systems. I still use OS3.9.

I know it's problems and it doesn't do dirty tricks to me.
ACube Sam 440ep Flex 800mhz, 1gb ram and 240gb hd and OS4.1FE
A1200 Micronic tower, OS3.9, Apollo 060 66mhz, xPert Merlin, Delfina Lite and Micronic Scandy, 500Gb hd, 66mb ram, DVD-burner and WLAN.
A1200 desktop, OS3.9, Blizzard 060 66mhz, 66mb ram, Ide Fix Express with 160Gb HD and WLAN
A500 OS2.1, GVP+HD8 with 4mb ram, 1mb chip ram and 4gb HD
Commodore CDTV KS3.1, 1mb chip, 4mb fast ram and IDE HD
 

Offline sheepzTopic starter

Re: OS 3.2 - Is it the cause of all my problems?
« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2023, 09:25:57 AM »
I have removed these new versions from all my systems. I still use OS3.9.

I know it's problems and it doesn't do dirty tricks to me.

Thanks for the reply, I am building a A1200 into an old tower I have. Since OS3.9 came out in my glory days of amiga ownership (and I still have a copy) cam you advise in doing a install and things to look out for?

Thanks again

Barry
Aberdeen Scotland

A1260 - TF1260
A4000 - A3660, Freeway pro USB, Big ram and ZZ9000
 

Offline utri007

Re: OS 3.2 - Is it the cause of all my problems?
« Reply #8 on: September 27, 2023, 08:13:21 PM »
Install BB1 and BB2 without a romupdate. Do not install unofficial BoingBags.
ACube Sam 440ep Flex 800mhz, 1gb ram and 240gb hd and OS4.1FE
A1200 Micronic tower, OS3.9, Apollo 060 66mhz, xPert Merlin, Delfina Lite and Micronic Scandy, 500Gb hd, 66mb ram, DVD-burner and WLAN.
A1200 desktop, OS3.9, Blizzard 060 66mhz, 66mb ram, Ide Fix Express with 160Gb HD and WLAN
A500 OS2.1, GVP+HD8 with 4mb ram, 1mb chip ram and 4gb HD
Commodore CDTV KS3.1, 1mb chip, 4mb fast ram and IDE HD
 

Offline Minuous

Re: OS 3.2 - Is it the cause of all my problems?
« Reply #9 on: September 27, 2023, 10:15:28 PM »
There is no reason not to install BB3&4; it fixes various issues that were unaddressed by H&P and has been used for a considerable period by many users without any problems. If there is some particular issue you have found with it, a bug report would be better than spreading general FUD.
« Last Edit: September 27, 2023, 10:17:36 PM by Minuous »
 

Offline sheepzTopic starter

Re: OS 3.2 - Is it the cause of all my problems?
« Reply #10 on: September 29, 2023, 08:09:02 AM »
Hi Minuous

Can you advise were I could down load these, cant find much online?

Thanks

Barry
Aberdeen Scotland

A1260 - TF1260
A4000 - A3660, Freeway pro USB, Big ram and ZZ9000
 

Offline sheepzTopic starter

Re: OS 3.2 - Is it the cause of all my problems?
« Reply #11 on: September 29, 2023, 08:10:00 AM »
Hi utri007

Thanks, I will do, then maybe even try the unofficial ones later on a test HD!

Regards

Barry
Aberdeen Scotland

A1260 - TF1260
A4000 - A3660, Freeway pro USB, Big ram and ZZ9000
 

Offline Minuous

 

Offline RobertB

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2005
  • Posts: 1810
  • Thanked: 21 times
    • Show only replies by RobertB
    • http://www.dickestel.com/fcug.htm
Re: OS 3.2 - Is it the cause of all my problems?
« Reply #13 on: September 30, 2023, 07:30:13 AM »
Oh, I had been looking for Boing Bags 3 and 4, too.

Thanks!
Robert Bernardo
Fresno Commodore User Group - http://www.dickestel.com/fcug.htm
Southern California Commodore & Amiga Network - http://www.portcommodore.com/sccan
 

Offline Boing-ball

Re: OS 3.2 - Is it the cause of all my problems?
« Reply #14 on: November 16, 2023, 03:06:09 AM »
Be careful which BB3&4 you use. I’ve always used BB3&4 made in 2018 due to issues with newer Bb3&4.

As for 3.2. I’m using 3.2.2 ROMs (47.111) and 3.2.2.1 OS. From what I was told. 3.2.2.1 has a bug with the “echo” command.

3.9 is a good shout, but it is a very heavy OS and it will not have updated stuff like 3.2. Try and use PFs3 filesystem if you can.