Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Hollywood MAL AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: New 16Mb C-64 REU  (Read 584 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline motrucker

New 16Mb C-64 REU
« on: May 31, 2015, 07:19:22 PM »
I just read this over at Lemon64. There is a project afoot to create an inexpensive 16Mb REU for the Commodore C-64. Jens at  Individual Computers is looking to see how many people might be interested. If you are interested, E-Mail him at:  shop@icomp.de  and let him know.
« Last Edit: May 31, 2015, 07:25:55 PM by motrucker »
A2000 GVP 40MHz \'030, 21Mb RAM SD/FF, 2 floppies, internal CD-ROM drive, micromys v3 w/laser mouse
A1000 Microbotics Starboard II w/2Mb 1080, & external floppy (AIRdrive)
C-128 w/1571, 1750, & Final Cartridge III+
 

Offline Matt_H

Re: New 16Mb C-64 REU
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2015, 07:35:23 PM »
What would a C64 do with all that RAM?

Serious question, actually - I'm not trying to be difficult. :)
 

Offline trekiej

Re: New 16Mb C-64 REU
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2015, 08:07:27 PM »
I have seen some one play a video from it. It was the Intro. to the TV show Dallas.
It looked good.
Amiga 2000 Forever :)
Welcome to the Planar System.
 

Offline Iggy

Re: New 16Mb C-64 REU
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2015, 08:07:38 PM »
Quote from: Matt_H;790289
What would a C64 do with all that RAM?

Serious question, actually - I'm not trying to be difficult. :)

And a good one.
64K address space tied to 16mb of memory.
What kind of mmu would be required for that?
"Not making any hard and fast rules means that the moderators can use their good judgment in moderation, and we think the results speak for themselves." - Amiga.org, terms of service

"You, got to stem the evil tide, and keep it on the the inside" - Rogers Waters

"God was never on your side" - Lemmy

Amiga! "Our appeal has become more selective"
 

Offline UberFreak

Re: New 16Mb C-64 REU
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2015, 09:15:15 PM »
I really dont see the point for such a product these days.

You already have the awesome all-in-one 1541 Ultimate, with 16MB REU, which you can load into directly from sdcard/USB.
 

Offline Lurch

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2003
  • Posts: 1716
  • Total likes: 0
Re: New 16Mb C-64 REU
« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2015, 06:22:16 AM »
How about finishing the Indivsion MK2 AGA config tool? Even setting up an RTG card is easier.
-=[LurcH]=-
A500 Plus Black 030@40MHz 128MB | A1200T 060@80MHz 320MB | Pegasos II G4@1GHz 1GB  | Amiga Future Sub
 

Offline RobertB

Re: New 16Mb C-64 REU
« Reply #6 on: June 01, 2015, 07:12:14 AM »
I wonder if it will be compatible with GEOS/Wheels which made use of 16MB CMD RAMLinks.

FCUG celebrating 33 years,
Robert Bernardo
Fresno Commodore User Group
http://www.dickestel.com/fcug.htm
July 18-19 Commodore Vegas Expo v11 2015 -
http://www.portcommodore.com/commvex
 

Offline xboxOwn

Re: New 16Mb C-64 REU
« Reply #7 on: June 01, 2015, 07:59:33 AM »
I have a Commodore 64c and can I say this: NO! I AM NOT INTERESTED! No thank you!

If the project is a cheap, super cheap SuperCPU with 16 MB and build in disk drive so you can play this ONE game on real C64c....I will still say no.

We have Vampire 600/500 and that is all what need now.
 

Offline motrucker

Re: New 16Mb C-64 REU
« Reply #8 on: June 01, 2015, 11:53:33 AM »
Quote from: RobertB;790317
I wonder if it will be compatible with GEOS/Wheels which made use of 16MB CMD RAMLinks.

FCUG celebrating 33 years,
Robert Bernardo
Fresno Commodore User Group
http://www.dickestel.com/fcug.htm
July 18-19 Commodore Vegas Expo v11 2015 -
http://www.portcommodore.com/commvex

I sure didn't expect such negative responses. But you have one use for it: GEOS. There are quite a lot of programs that can access an REU. I still use GEOS, with a 2Mb REU, and there are time when I wish I had more memory.
I thought there would be more 8 bit user still around here.
This project is being posted on several boards, so chances are good it will happen. Maybe the C064 is more popular in Europe than here.
A2000 GVP 40MHz \'030, 21Mb RAM SD/FF, 2 floppies, internal CD-ROM drive, micromys v3 w/laser mouse
A1000 Microbotics Starboard II w/2Mb 1080, & external floppy (AIRdrive)
C-128 w/1571, 1750, & Final Cartridge III+
 

Offline Oldsmobile_Mike

Re: New 16Mb C-64 REU
« Reply #9 on: June 01, 2015, 02:48:54 PM »
Quote from: motrucker;790326
I sure didn't expect such negative responses.

It's an Amiga forum.  Of course people need to be negative and bash any new hardware that is suggested!  :lol:
Amiga 500: 2MB Chip|16MB Fast|30MHz 68030+68882|3.9|Indivision ECS|GVP A500HD+|Mechware card reader + 8GB CF|Cocolino|SCSI DVD-RAM
Amiga 2000: 2MB Chip|136MB Fast|50MHz 68060|3.9|Indivision ECS + GVP Spectrum|Mechware card reader + 8GB CF|AD516|X-Surf 100|RapidRoad|Cocolino|SCSI CD-RW
 Amiga videos and other misc. stuff at https://www.youtube.com/CompTechMike/videos
 

Offline ElPolloDiabl

Re: New 16Mb C-64 REU
« Reply #10 on: June 01, 2015, 02:52:38 PM »
I think Jens prefers doing C64 projects. Amiga might be his second favourite system. (Much more complicated)
Go Go Gadget Signature!
 

ChuckT

  • Guest
Re: New 16Mb C-64 REU
« Reply #11 on: June 01, 2015, 08:40:41 PM »
Quote from: Matt_H;790289
What would a C64 do with all that RAM?

Serious question, actually - I'm not trying to be difficult. :)


That is nice but I doubt the C-64 can see all of that memory at once.

What would you do with all of that ram?  Suppose you had thousands of sprites in memory and just changed where memory points to or suppose you changed the tile background memory plane.  You could have many screens for video games.  You could change sprites over and over again.

I don't know that the Kernal is that stable to switch back and forth between banks because there was a program called Triple 64 and you couldn't switch back and forth between memory banks and multitask with different programs running because the kernel would get confused.  You would definitely have to change the source code to the Commodore 64 to allow more tricks with memory and then it might not be compatible with older programs.
 

Offline LoadWB

Re: New 16Mb C-64 REU
« Reply #12 on: June 01, 2015, 11:21:10 PM »
If it can be battery-backed and bootable on demand, that would make GEOS pretty nice.  Other than that, I would prefer a SuperCPU-like expansion.
 

Offline omnicron10

Re: New 16Mb C-64 REU
« Reply #13 on: June 01, 2015, 11:37:30 PM »
Quote from: LoadWB;790377
If it can be battery-backed and bootable on demand, that would make GEOS pretty nice.  Other than that, I would prefer a SuperCPU-like expansion.


There already is a SuperCPU like expansion made by Jens with REU, SD-1541 emulation, VGA output and MUCH more..... I have one and they work very well.  It is the Turbo Chameleon.

This is for people that dont want/afford the Turbo Chameleon and want a REU like the CBM units but maxed with out RAM.  If it is the same REU code used in the Chameleon then it should work very well.    

One of the nice things about the REU for the C64 was the DMA engine the REU had to move data in and out of the REU VERY fast... Almost like a blitter in some ways. Of course GEOS and other items make good use of it as well.
A500/030 40mhz with A530, Indivision ECS, , KS 3.1, 2 Megs Chip, 8 Megs fast.
A600 Vampire II
SAM440EP 667, Amiga OS 4.1u1
Dual G4 1.2 Mac MorphOS
Chameleon
CD32
SX64
128D
128
C64
64C
 

Offline danbeaver

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 2454
  • Total likes: 0
Re: New 16Mb C-64 REU
« Reply #14 on: June 02, 2015, 12:01:13 AM »
Perfect time for a movie quote:

"Laslo: I figure you’ve increased the power output to six megawatts?
Chris: Yeah, about that.
Laslo: Well what would you use that for?
Ick: Making enormous Swiss cheese?"