Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: Amiga 1000 Power Supply repair?  (Read 2628 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline yorgle

Re: Amiga 1000 Power Supply repair?
« Reply #15 on: October 30, 2013, 03:15:23 PM »
Quote from: yorgle;751189

C49     10uF    85v    


Once I got this part out, I realized it was covered in dust and it really is 10uF, 35V.  (It's okay to put in an 85V part in there, but it's not the value on the original.)
 

Offline yorgle

Re: Amiga 1000 Power Supply repair?
« Reply #16 on: November 01, 2013, 01:18:24 PM »
For what it's worth, I spent about a half hour last night, replacing all of the caps, and the power supply works 100% now.  Installed it into my 1000, and I was playing .mods deep into the night.  Huzzah.

My only note to people who decide to do this;

The one large capacitor, the 200v one, be sure to try to get one that's wide-and-short, rather than a thin-and-tall, because there is limited clearance inside the power supply case.  I got a tall one, and had to have it mounted almost horizontal to allow it to fit inside there.  oops!

Next up is replacing the caps on the mainboard and daughterboard... but there's no need to post updates about that. ;)
 

Offline Plaz

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 1693
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://webpages.charter.net/tsilvey
Re: Amiga 1000 Power Supply repair?
« Reply #17 on: November 02, 2013, 02:42:06 PM »
Quote from: yorgle;751609
and the power supply works 100% now.  Installed it into my 1000, and I was playing .mods deep into the night.  Huzzah.


Contratulations, ready to go for another 25 years.

Plaz
 

Offline walterg74

Re: Amiga 1000 Power Supply repair?
« Reply #18 on: February 25, 2017, 02:52:10 PM »
Quote from: Plaz;751669
Contratulations, ready to go for another 25 years.

Plaz


Hi, resurrecting this from the dead to see if you can help me out.

I have a similar issue with the big difference that I haveno clue what I am doing or have any experience at all reparing these...

I recently got another A1000 in better cosmetic condition than the one I already had, so I wanted to sell the first one of and took it out for testing.

I was using it yesterday all day, and today as well up to now, booting up kickstart, workbench, some games, testing the mouse, joysticks, etc.

All was running great! Inhad also opened it up because the floppy drive's button had broken, and I needed to fix it, etc.

So all was working great and I was ready to put it away again. But then I decided to test a 2MB side expansion I have that came with the second A1000.

I don't want to say/assure that this was the culprit, but I turned the computer on, all good, but thought weird free mem showed as if nothing was there. Sysinfo comfirmed this.
I thought maybe it had not been plugged correctly, and turned it off and tried again, and nothing same issue (although ofdly jow a disk I was sure workied started giving errors).
I disconnected it, and turned the Amiga back on, and now it did not come on. :(

Symptoms now are:

Turn it on, fan starts, no power led, and after some 5-15 seconds (varies) thefoppy drive led comes on (but not the drive itself seeking or anything).

Not really sure what to do. I opened up the PSU lid and don't see any "bulging" capacitors, but that's as far as my knowledge goes.
I have a multimeter if that helps.

Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks!
 

Offline Acill

Re: Amiga 1000 Power Supply repair?
« Reply #19 on: February 25, 2017, 06:05:37 PM »
Its honesty just easier to rebuild  it by replacing the inside with a pico ATX or a micro that will fit in it. Still looks original and you get a much better and efficient PSU.
Proud Retired Navy Chief!

A4000T - CSPPC - Mediator
Powerbook G4 15", 17"
Powermac G5 2GHZ
AmigaOne X5000
Need Amiga recap or other services in the US? Visit my website at http://www.acill.com and take a look or on facebook at http://facebook.com/acillclassics
 

Offline paul1981

Re: Amiga 1000 Power Supply repair?
« Reply #20 on: February 26, 2017, 05:59:01 PM »
It appears that the memory expansion was the culprit. Could you try the other A1000 power supply to rule out the PSU?
 

Offline F1Lupo

Re: Amiga 1000 Power Supply repair?
« Reply #21 on: February 26, 2017, 06:45:46 PM »
Quote from: yorgle;751609
For what it's worth, I spent about a half hour last night, replacing all of the caps, and the power supply works 100% now.  Installed it into my 1000, and I was playing .mods deep into the night.  Huzzah.

My only note to people who decide to do this;

The one large capacitor, the 200v one, be sure to try to get one that's wide-and-short, rather than a thin-and-tall, because there is limited clearance inside the power supply case.  I got a tall one, and had to have it mounted almost horizontal to allow it to fit inside there.  oops!

Next up is replacing the caps on the mainboard and daughterboard... but there's no need to post updates about that. ;)


thanks for the info! I've replaced caps in my A4000 and A1200 but my A1000 has been running steady since 1986 but alas as you also found out even the mighty Amiga 1000 will eventually need all the caps replaced so thanks for the reminder:hammer:;)

@ Acill

unless i can find someone in Canada, I'll be sending my A1k boards and PSU to you to get capped
« Last Edit: February 26, 2017, 06:51:43 PM by klx300r »
____________________________________________________________________
c64-dual sids, A1000, A1200-060@50, A4000-CSMKIII
Indivision AGA & Catweasel MK4+= Amazing
! My Master Miggies-Amiga 1000 & AmigaOne X1000 !
--- www.mancave-ramblings.blogspot.ca ---
  -AspireOS.com & Amikit- Amiga for your netbook-
***X1000- I BELIEVE *** :angel:
 

Offline Acill

Re: Amiga 1000 Power Supply repair?
« Reply #22 on: February 27, 2017, 01:32:42 AM »
Quote from: klx300r;822761
thanks for the info! I've replaced caps in my A4000 and A1200 but my A1000 has been running steady since 1986 but alas as you also found out even the mighty Amiga 1000 will eventually need all the caps replaced so thanks for the reminder:hammer:;)

@ Acill

unless i can find someone in Canada, I'll be sending my A1k boards and PSU to you to get capped


Thats fine, but unless you are okay with it taking some time to finish you may want to only send one at a time. I am in Japan the rest of this month and only home from the 4th to the 10th next month and back here again for the rest of it.
Proud Retired Navy Chief!

A4000T - CSPPC - Mediator
Powerbook G4 15", 17"
Powermac G5 2GHZ
AmigaOne X5000
Need Amiga recap or other services in the US? Visit my website at http://www.acill.com and take a look or on facebook at http://facebook.com/acillclassics
 

Offline Amiga_CDTV

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Apr 2010
  • Posts: 110
  • Total likes: 1
Re: Amiga 1000 Power Supply repair?
« Reply #23 on: July 08, 2019, 06:17:55 PM »
I have to get some time to triple-check this, but I believe this is correct for all of the electrolytic capacitors on a 110v NTSC Amiga 1000 Power Supply:

C11     2200uF  16V     
C12     2200uF  16V     
C13     2200uF  16V     

C15     100uF   25v     
C17     100uF   25v     
C19     100uF   25v     

C50     470uF   220V

C09     4.7uF   50v     
C10     1uF     50v     
C16     470uF   35v     
C18     330uF   35v
C49     10uF    85v     

I finally got around re-capping my A1000. Here is the caps list for the 220v PAL Amiga 1000 power supply:

3x 2200uF 10v
470uF 35v
330uF 25v
3x 100uF 25v
10uF 35v
4,7uF 50v
1uF 50v

I did not replace the big mains cap C50 as I couldn't find close enough replacement. The original in my PSU was 180uF 400v or there abouts. I believe that cap is not in a stressed position and as the smaller caps measured very good after removal, I was happy to leave the big one there for now.
Commodore KIM-1, PET-2001, CBM 8032, CBM 8050, CBM 8250LP, D9060, VIC-20, C64, C64c, 1541, 1541-II, 1571, 1581,
Amiga A1000, A1060 Sidecar, A500, CDTV, CD32, 1084S, A1200, A1200 Magic Pack from Petro, ex-custom-case A3000T (now a complete A3000T), repaired A4000T and looking for more :)