Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: VICE on Linux? How do you start it?  (Read 2844 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TheMagicM

Re: VICE on Linux? How do you start it?
« Reply #15 on: April 15, 2014, 03:28:38 AM »
The error you got initially..

I did this...

wget http://www.zimmers.net/anonftp/pub/cbm/crossplatform/emulators/VICE/old/vice-1.5-roms.tar.gz

cp -a vice-1.5-roms/data/* /usr/lib/vice/


then it will work.  Its happened to me in Debian 7.


EDIT: Thats basically what CritAnime is saying to do.
« Last Edit: April 15, 2014, 03:38:38 AM by TheMagicM »
PowerMac G5 dual 2.0ghz/128meg Radeon/500gb HD/2GB RAM, MorphOS 3.9 registered, user #1900
Powerbook G4 5,6 1.67ghz/2gb RAM, Radeon 9700/250gb hd, MorphOS 3.9 registered #3143
 

Offline CritAnime

  • Previous Life Time Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2011
  • Posts: 1143
  • Total likes: 0
Re: VICE on Linux? How do you start it?
« Reply #16 on: April 15, 2014, 10:27:59 AM »
Quote from: ral-clan;762556
Did exactly as you said - uninstalled and re-installed VICE cutting and pasting the commands from your guide above directly to the terminal.  Same problem re-occurs.

Here's a cut and paste from my Terminal showing me running the x64 command.

Code: [Select]

brent@Brent-Lubuntu:~/Downloads$ x64
getting symbol guess_format failed!
*** VICE Version 2.3 ***
OS compiled for: Linux
GUI compiled for: GTK+
CPU compiled for: 80386
Compiler used: GCC-4.7.1
Current OS: not yet implemented
Current CPU: Intel Pentium 4/Pentium D/Pentium Extreme Edition/Celeron/Xeon/Xeon MP
 
Welcome to x64, the free portable C64 Emulator.
 
Current VICE team members:
D. Lem, A. Matthies, M. Pottendorfer, S. Trikaliotis, M. van den Heuvel,
C. Vogelgsang, F. Gennari, D. Kahlin, A. Lankila, Groepaz, I. Korb,
E. Smith, O. Seibert.
 
This is free software with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
See the "About VICE" command for more info.
 
XRandR: XRandR reports current display: 1920x1080@50
Loading system file `/usr/lib/vice/C64/kernal'.
Received signal 4.

Exiting...

brent@Brent-Lubuntu:~/Downloads$


I don't know if this is important or not, but my main menu (start bar thingy) doesn't have an applications folder.  So I never see any VICE icons in my start bar.

Again, there doesn't seem to have been a .vice folder or sub-folders created in my "/home/brent" folder.  There simply aren't any vice related folders there.  Should these have been created during the installation?  Even showing hidden folders does not reveal a .vice folder or subfolders.


There won't be a .vice folder in your Home (/home). All the stuff for .vice resides in usr (/usr) which is at root (/). The only time you should see anything to do with Vice in there is if you have saved something from Vice. I am just checking now to see what this Signal 4 is because I have a feeling it might be a termination signal for something.

Quote from: TheMagicM;762557
The error you got initially..

I did this...

wget http://www.zimmers.net/anonftp/pub/cbm/crossplatform/emulators/VICE/old/vice-1.5-roms.tar.gz

cp -a vice-1.5-roms/data/* /usr/lib/vice/


then it will work.  Its happened to me in Debian 7.


EDIT: Thats basically what CritAnime is saying to do.


I am just checking to see if it is not a general bug somewhere within the release of Lubuntu. But if the 1.5 works then that is a possible workaround. I am just checking now.

Offline Ral-Clan

Re: VICE on Linux? How do you start it?
« Reply #17 on: April 15, 2014, 11:49:46 AM »
Quote from: TheMagicM;762557
The error you got initially..

I did this...

wget http://www.zimmers.net/anonftp/pub/cbm/crossplatform/emulators/VICE/old/vice-1.5-roms.tar.gz

cp -a vice-1.5-roms/data/* /usr/lib/vice/


then it will work.  Its happened to me in Debian 7.


EDIT: Thats basically what CritAnime is saying to do.


I will be able to try this Wednesday, but what does it do?  Use older ROMs?
Music I've made using Amigas and other retro-instruments: http://theovoids.bandcamp.com
 

Offline TheMagicM

Re: VICE on Linux? How do you start it?
« Reply #18 on: April 15, 2014, 01:48:09 PM »
Quote from: ral-clan;762574
I will be able to try this Wednesday, but what does it do?  Use older ROMs?

Those are the roms I used.  I dont know the actual differences but...honestly..its  a C64..I would think those are just plain stock roms.


On a side note, I've had VICE installed on other distros and moved to different laptops..  The last incarnation, I basically just have a directory with VICE in it, no need to install anything I dont think.  You just run it out of there.  I'll check..and if thats the case, I can archive it all up and post up a download link.   I'll check when I fly back from Chicago today.


EDIT:  I just logged into my server.. what I have been running in the past is WinVICE 1.6 under Wine and it worked great.  I can tar that up for you.  Also, I'll download LUbuntu and install it in virtualbox to see if I can recreate what you're doing...that'll be later tonight.   There should be no reason we cant get this knocked out.
« Last Edit: April 15, 2014, 01:52:07 PM by TheMagicM »
PowerMac G5 dual 2.0ghz/128meg Radeon/500gb HD/2GB RAM, MorphOS 3.9 registered, user #1900
Powerbook G4 5,6 1.67ghz/2gb RAM, Radeon 9700/250gb hd, MorphOS 3.9 registered #3143
 

Offline Ral-Clan

Re: VICE on Linux? How do you start it?
« Reply #19 on: April 15, 2014, 05:04:48 PM »
Quote from: TheMagicM;762577
Those are the roms I used.  I dont know the actual differences but...honestly..its  a C64..I would think those are just plain stock roms.


On a side note, I've had VICE installed on other distros and moved to different laptops..  The last incarnation, I basically just have a directory with VICE in it, no need to install anything I dont think.  You just run it out of there.  I'll check..and if thats the case, I can archive it all up and post up a download link.   I'll check when I fly back from Chicago today.

Well, that's how I ran it on my Windows XP partition - no need to install anything - just unpack and go.

I would like to use v2.3 if possible - as there have been some great leaps made in VICE in the past few revisions (I love the scanlines and TV blurring filters that make it feel real - plus the 1541 drive sounds).  But if your version 1.5 will run straight from a folder without installing than it wouldn't hurt to try, I suppose.  I could leave my 2.3 installation intact until I figure out what is the problem with it.
Music I've made using Amigas and other retro-instruments: http://theovoids.bandcamp.com
 

Offline CritAnime

  • Previous Life Time Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2011
  • Posts: 1143
  • Total likes: 0
Re: VICE on Linux? How do you start it?
« Reply #20 on: April 15, 2014, 05:06:00 PM »
I have downloaded and ran lubuntu under virtual box and it still installs. So I am wondering if something has gone wrong with the install somewhere. But I did notice that the lubuntu menu system does, in fact, not show vice in the menu tree.

Like themagicm has stated worst case scenario is just to install wine then grab the windows version of vice. It works perfectly you just don't get that "native" feel from it. But to be honest I like that wine now works far better than it ever did.

I will continue working on a solution as to why your lubuntu version doesn't work. It's nagging at me now lol.

Offline Ral-Clan

Re: VICE on Linux? How do you start it?
« Reply #21 on: April 16, 2014, 02:50:07 AM »
Oh, CritAnime, so you're saying that VICE installed perfectly fine for you on Lubuntu?

Interesting...I wonder why it won't install for me.  

The first time I tried to install VICE was through the Lubuntu Software Center (available from the main menu).  That is sort of an automated installation.  It didn't work that time.  Perhaps it did something that screwed up later installations.

I agree....it is a nagging problem - I'd rather install the native version than run it under Wine.
Music I've made using Amigas and other retro-instruments: http://theovoids.bandcamp.com
 

Offline cgutjahr

Re: VICE on Linux? How do you start it?
« Reply #22 on: April 16, 2014, 02:52:18 AM »
Quote from: ral-clan;762556

Here's a cut and paste from my Terminal showing me running the x64 command.

My guess (and it's really just a guess) is that there's some sort of problem with your ancient CPU and the way the binary has been compiled - I remember some Ubuntu users with older systems having problems trying to run VICE.

You can find several versions of VICE here: http://pkgs.org/download/vice
(use the *_386.deb packages for the different Debian distributions, they've got VICE 2.2, 2.3 and 2.4), try them out one by one.

IIRC, Ubuntu offers to install *.debs while downloading, or when doubleclicking them in the file manager. If not, open console and type "sudo dpkg -i " to install a downloaded deb and "sudo apt-get remove vice" to uninstall it again.

If that doesn't work, you'd have to compile your own version of VICE. It's not as scary as it sounds, and still better than using Wine.

Quote

my main menu (start bar thingy) doesn't have an applications folder.

AFAIK, no menu on any Linux desktop has an applications folder, which is why this particular choice is very stupid anyway - VICE does seem to have a bunch of problems...

But this is purely a desktop thing, it doesn't affect running VICE from the console - you can fix it later on.

Quote

Well, that's how I ran it on my Windows XP partition - no need to install anything - just unpack and go.

That's because the people creating the Windows distribution don't mind distributing the ROMs without a license - they know nobody's ever going to complain. The open source community on the other hand is all about respecting other people's rights, so just bundling stuff you're not entitled to bundle is a big no-go.
 

Offline Ral-Clan

Re: VICE on Linux? How do you start it?
« Reply #23 on: April 17, 2014, 12:29:47 PM »
Quote from: TheMagicM;762557
The error you got initially..

I did this...

wget http://www.zimmers.net/anonftp/pub/cbm/crossplatform/emulators/VICE/old/vice-1.5-roms.tar.gz

cp -a vice-1.5-roms/data/* /usr/lib/vice/

then it will work.  Its happened to me in Debian 7.

EDIT: Thats basically what CritAnime is saying to do.

Tried to do this and got this result (you can scroll the code window to see it all):

Code: [Select]
brent@Brent-Lubuntu:~/Downloads$ cp -a vice-1.5-roms/data/* /usr/lib/vice/
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/C128/chargen’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/C128/z80bios’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/C128/kernal’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/C128/basic’: Permission denied
cp: preserving times for ‘/usr/lib/vice/C128’: Operation not permitted
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/C64/chargen’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/C64/kernal’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/C64/basic’: Permission denied
cp: preserving times for ‘/usr/lib/vice/C64’: Operation not permitted
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/CBM-II/kernal’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/CBM-II/basic.256’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/CBM-II/chargen.600’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/CBM-II/basic.128’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/CBM-II/chargen.700’: Permission denied
cp: preserving times for ‘/usr/lib/vice/CBM-II’: Operation not permitted
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/DRIVES/dos2040’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/DRIVES/dos4040’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/DRIVES/dos1571’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/DRIVES/dos3040’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/DRIVES/dos1581’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/DRIVES/d1541II’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/DRIVES/dos2031’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/DRIVES/dos1001’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/DRIVES/dos1541’: Permission denied
cp: preserving times for ‘/usr/lib/vice/DRIVES’: Operation not permitted
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/PET/chargen’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/PET/kernal4’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/PET/edit2g’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/PET/chargen.de’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/PET/basic1’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/PET/edit4b40’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/PET/edit4g40’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/PET/edit2b’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/PET/edit4b80’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/PET/basic2’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/PET/edit1g’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/PET/kernal2’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/PET/kernal1’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/PET/basic4’: Permission denied
cp: preserving times for ‘/usr/lib/vice/PET’: Operation not permitted
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/VIC20/chargen’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/VIC20/kernal’: Permission denied
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/vice/VIC20/basic’: Permission denied
cp: preserving times for ‘/usr/lib/vice/VIC20’: Operation not permitted
brent@Brent-Lubuntu:~/Downloads$


I ran the above over top of my existing VICE 2.3 installation (I did not remove VICE).
« Last Edit: April 17, 2014, 12:44:43 PM by ral-clan »
Music I've made using Amigas and other retro-instruments: http://theovoids.bandcamp.com
 

Offline CritAnime

  • Previous Life Time Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2011
  • Posts: 1143
  • Total likes: 0
Re: VICE on Linux? How do you start it?
« Reply #24 on: April 17, 2014, 03:25:04 PM »
Are you running that with sudo at the front?

Offline Ral-Clan

Re: VICE on Linux? How do you start it?
« Reply #25 on: April 17, 2014, 05:47:39 PM »
Quote from: CritAnime;762739
Are you running that with sudo at the front?

No, should it have sudo at the front?  TheMagicM's message didn't mention using sudo, and I'm new to Linux so I just copy and pasted the commands from his message:

Quote
The error you got initially..

I did this...

wget http://www.zimmers.net/anonftp/pub/c....5-roms.tar.gz

cp -a vice-1.5-roms/data/* /usr/lib/vice/
Music I've made using Amigas and other retro-instruments: http://theovoids.bandcamp.com
 

Offline Mr_Bumpy

Re: VICE on Linux? How do you start it?
« Reply #26 on: April 17, 2014, 05:57:59 PM »
Yes, you need to preface the cp command with sudo. Any time you are copying files to a location that is not in your home folder, you need to use sudo. Unless it is an external drive mounted in /media, for example. When copying files within or to your home folder, however, you don't want to use sudo, because you want those files to be associated with your user, not root (administrator).
 

Offline TheMagicM

Re: VICE on Linux? How do you start it?
« Reply #27 on: April 18, 2014, 02:54:59 PM »
ral-clan:

Sorry..got swamped at work and havent had time to do anything.  Where are you at after putting sudo infront of the cp command?
PowerMac G5 dual 2.0ghz/128meg Radeon/500gb HD/2GB RAM, MorphOS 3.9 registered, user #1900
Powerbook G4 5,6 1.67ghz/2gb RAM, Radeon 9700/250gb hd, MorphOS 3.9 registered #3143
 

Offline Ral-Clan

Re: VICE on Linux? How do you start it?
« Reply #28 on: April 18, 2014, 04:18:28 PM »
Hi guys,

Lots of progress....

I upgraded Lubuntu from 13.10 to the new 14.04 and now VICE works!

However, it is giving me a sound error.  Something about being unable to initialize sound.  This is probably due to the fact that I am running ALSA with my semi-pro music recording audio card.

I will have to investigate and report back here.

So it seems to have been a problem with 13.10.
Music I've made using Amigas and other retro-instruments: http://theovoids.bandcamp.com
 

Offline Ral-Clan

Re: VICE on Linux? How do you start it?
« Reply #29 on: April 18, 2014, 05:19:43 PM »
Okay, I've played with VICE in Linux now for a bit.

It starts and displays this error message:

Sound: initialization failed for device `pulse'.

I wasn't getting any sound, but then figured out how to switch sound over from PULSE to ALSA and now it seems to work.

I do notice that the VICE emulation in Linux seems to require more CPU than WinVICE.  The VIC-20 emulation is very choppy and even in C64 emulation, I ocassionally see the following message appear in the terminal:

Warning! Your Machine is too slow for current settings!

If I try to run 1/1 frame-rate (so 60fps for an NTSC VIC-20) the emulator can't keep up.
That's kind of disappointing.  I would have througt a 2.8Ghz Pentium 4 was more than enough to do VIC-20 emulation - espeically under WinVICE it runs well, even on my 1.8Ghz P4 laptop.
VIC-20 emulation is even choppier and PET emulation simply crawls.

Making the emulator's window larger or going full screen makes performance worse.

NOTE: I've noticed when I shut off "enable hardware scaling" under settings - the CPU usage drops by about 40%.  But then I can't get true fullscreen modes anymore, only small windowed modes.

Thanks.
« Last Edit: April 18, 2014, 06:34:32 PM by ral-clan »
Music I've made using Amigas and other retro-instruments: http://theovoids.bandcamp.com