Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: My new Amiga 4000T - work in progress  (Read 6485 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Amiga_CDTV

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Apr 2010
  • Posts: 110
  • Total likes: 1
My new Amiga 4000T - work in progress
« on: February 24, 2012, 09:21:28 AM »
Long time follower now joining discussion.

After long fiddling with some "basic" Amigas (currently own A1000, A500 and A1200) I finally bought myself a majestetic Amiga 4000T (by Amiga Technologies) from eBay.de.

Due to language/comms. problems I received very little information about the system before getting it. The ad on eBay basically said "working" but from the pictures I already saw some parts were missing. Anyway I decided to bid on it - expecting nothing less than a project! After several weeks of waiting, I have now received the thing! :)

I have just opened the parcel and noted the following:

- case is basically fine, but the front is very yellowed. Door is Ok. Stinks like previous owner have been a heavy smoker...
- the disk drive module was loose inside the case (!!) but looks fine
- the AV-module is missing
- no keyboard or mouse was included
- SCSI and IDE cables were included, but detached
- installed devices: 2x SCSI hard disks (capacities yet unknown), 2x floppy disk drive and a CD-ROM drive
- has Kickstart V3.1 (V40.70) ROMs installed
- motherboard is a Rev 4

I have plugged the power plugs in and powered the system up, but can't really say anything about it! Disk drives spin, cd-tray opens and closes, power light comes up etc. My first issues will be A) getting a video output and B) getting a suitable keyboard.

I will be doing some googling myself after work, but at the moment I am wondering about the following:

1) as far as I have read, an adapter can be made for using a CDTV keyboard with the 4000T - correct?
2) for the display I have two options; to buy a new AV module (anyone?) or buy some flicker-fixer expansion card and use it's vga output? (Thus still missing audio, but at least getting forward).
3) how do I remove the HDD's? Do I need to remove the front panel and the whole thing where the disk are? I can see that the top-most drive is a Quantum Fireball.

All ideas, suggestions and tips are warmly welcomed!
Commodore KIM-1, PET-2001, CBM 8032, CBM 8050, CBM 8250LP, D9060, VIC-20, C64, C64c, 1541, 1541-II, 1571, 1581,
Amiga A1000, A1060 Sidecar, A500, CDTV, CD32, 1084S, A1200, A1200 Magic Pack from Petro, ex-custom-case A3000T (now a complete A3000T), repaired A4000T and looking for more :)
 

Offline dougal

Re: My new Amiga 4000T - work in progress
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2012, 09:37:45 AM »
Wow, she is indeed yellow.

I had one of these which i really regret selling and they are fine machines. Do you have the CPU card with it?

You could try Vesalia, maybe they have an AV board, but honestly you will be wanting an RTG card like the Picasso IV (Thats what i had).

You could try putting in a workbench disk and see if you can hear the disk boot up.
A1200HD- Blizzard 1230IV / 64Mb / Kick 3.1 / OS 3.9 / 20GB HD
A4000 040 @33Mhz -Kick 3.1 / 16MB
A2000 Rev4.4 - \'030 @25Mhz / 8MB / Kick 3.1 / ClassicWB
CD32 -     Stock (W/ 2 CD32 Controllers]
A500 Plus - 68000 / 2MB Chip / 2Mb Fast / 2.04/1.3 / A590 / A570
A600HD - 2MB Chip / 8MB Fast / 2GB CF HD / Kick 3.1
CDTV

PowerMac G4 1Ghz (MorphOS / Leopard)

http://amigamap.com/user/172
 

Offline mdivancic

Re: My new Amiga 4000T - work in progress
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2012, 12:10:28 PM »
Look like you are missing the SCSI module as well? Do you have it and its just not installed? I've got a spare of each, but haven't given much thought on selling them. As there is no way to get video out without the AV module you stuck for now. PM and we can talk about the modules.
Mikey
Amiga 4000T (QuickPak), OS 3.9, QuickPak 060 w/128 MB, Picasso IV, A2065, AD516
Atari Falcon 030, CT-63 w/128MB @ 76MHz, 14 MB RamGizmo, SuperVidel + SVEthLANa
Atari TT030, CaTTamaran, 4 MB ST Ram, 16 MB TT Ram, ECL2VGA
Commodore 128D, 1084S monitor, RAMLink, 4GB CMD Harddrive
Commodore SX-64
 

Offline Luc

Re: My new Amiga 4000T - work in progress
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2012, 12:10:59 PM »
Hi

it's a nice machine :-)
The Yellow, looks more lige a Sun problem rather the Smoke to me..
i hope you can find a A/V Card..
 

Offline Amiga_CDTV

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Apr 2010
  • Posts: 110
  • Total likes: 1
Re: My new Amiga 4000T - work in progress
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2012, 12:25:48 PM »
Yeah, I guess it's mostly the sun yellowing, as the floppy- and cd- drives are only yellowed under the window. But it stinks, too! I have always wanted to try Retr0bright, but haven't got anything this yellowed. Might try that, one day!

I do have the SCSI module (called it disk drive module on the opening post), that was the one loose, now installed back. I should have all the SCSI cables, too.

I have ordered an Indivision AGA Mk II (for my A1200) which I could also use on the 4kT, if I ever receive it (now ETA March 2012). But I still think I will get the AV module.

mdivancic: I will try eBay and some other places first, then PM you. The AV module wouldn't be too much pain to post to FIN, but will try to find a nearer one first. Thanks, anyway.

dougal: Only now I realised I don't have a CPU card! :furious: I see one A3640 on eBay.de, might try on that one. Or should I prefer searching something higher specsed?
Commodore KIM-1, PET-2001, CBM 8032, CBM 8050, CBM 8250LP, D9060, VIC-20, C64, C64c, 1541, 1541-II, 1571, 1581,
Amiga A1000, A1060 Sidecar, A500, CDTV, CD32, 1084S, A1200, A1200 Magic Pack from Petro, ex-custom-case A3000T (now a complete A3000T), repaired A4000T and looking for more :)
 

Offline dougal

Re: My new Amiga 4000T - work in progress
« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2012, 01:06:06 PM »
Quote from: Amiga_CDTV;681427


dougal: Only now I realised I don't have a CPU card! :furious: I see one A3640 on eBay.de, might try on that one. Or should I prefer searching something higher specsed?


Well i guess an A3640 is pretty good but i believe Cyberstorm MKII (040 or 060) is probably better. I am no longer up to date on the A3000/A4000 CPU/Accelerator cards, but i believe the Cyberstorm MKII will allow you to have up to 128MB 32 bit fast ram on it.

My A4000T had a Cyberstorm MKII 060 and it was fast but when i added a Picasso IV graphics card it put it in a whole different game.

The A4000T is an amazing machine and you have loads of upgrade options.

Take care of it and build it up at your own pace :)
A1200HD- Blizzard 1230IV / 64Mb / Kick 3.1 / OS 3.9 / 20GB HD
A4000 040 @33Mhz -Kick 3.1 / 16MB
A2000 Rev4.4 - \'030 @25Mhz / 8MB / Kick 3.1 / ClassicWB
CD32 -     Stock (W/ 2 CD32 Controllers]
A500 Plus - 68000 / 2MB Chip / 2Mb Fast / 2.04/1.3 / A590 / A570
A600HD - 2MB Chip / 8MB Fast / 2GB CF HD / Kick 3.1
CDTV

PowerMac G4 1Ghz (MorphOS / Leopard)

http://amigamap.com/user/172
 

Offline Darrin

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2002
  • Posts: 4430
  • Total likes: 0
Re: My new Amiga 4000T - work in progress
« Reply #6 on: February 24, 2012, 01:49:41 PM »
Once it has been fumigated and you have video output then you should have one hell of a nice machine there.  :)

As for the keyboard, I've been using a PS-2 adapter with my towered A4000D (same for the mouse).  Now replacing a keyboard means spending $10 at Walmart.
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
 

Offline dougal

Re: My new Amiga 4000T - work in progress
« Reply #7 on: February 24, 2012, 02:14:57 PM »
Quote from: Darrin;681434
Once it has been fumigated and you have video output then you should have one hell of a nice machine there.  :)

As for the keyboard, I've been using a PS-2 adapter with my towered A4000D (same for the mouse).  Now replacing a keyboard means spending $10 at Walmart.


Yes. I used to use the Lyra2 PS/2 adapter on my A4000D. It works very well with practically any PC PS/2 keyboard, though i must admit nothing beats the feeling of using an original Commodore/Amiga keyboard.
A1200HD- Blizzard 1230IV / 64Mb / Kick 3.1 / OS 3.9 / 20GB HD
A4000 040 @33Mhz -Kick 3.1 / 16MB
A2000 Rev4.4 - \'030 @25Mhz / 8MB / Kick 3.1 / ClassicWB
CD32 -     Stock (W/ 2 CD32 Controllers]
A500 Plus - 68000 / 2MB Chip / 2Mb Fast / 2.04/1.3 / A590 / A570
A600HD - 2MB Chip / 8MB Fast / 2GB CF HD / Kick 3.1
CDTV

PowerMac G4 1Ghz (MorphOS / Leopard)

http://amigamap.com/user/172
 

Offline Darrin

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2002
  • Posts: 4430
  • Total likes: 0
Re: My new Amiga 4000T - work in progress
« Reply #8 on: February 24, 2012, 02:49:04 PM »
Quote from: dougal;681439
Yes. I used to use the Lyra2 PS/2 adapter on my A4000D. It works very well with practically any PC PS/2 keyboard, though i must admit nothing beats the feeling of using an original Commodore/Amiga keyboard.


Oh I agree with you.  There's something special about the genuine Commodore keyboards.  The fact that my A2000 and A3000 keyboards still work perfectly after decades of use says a lot about how modern PC ones are manufactured.

I got my A4000 off eBay with no keyboard or mouse so I was forced to hunt down a substitute and the PS-2 adapter was easy to get hold of.  Plus, I'd been using PS-2 keyboards with my Minimig and C-One for ages so I'd kind of got used to them.

I use a Logitech keyboard on my A4000 with 2 USB ports on it.  The USB connector next to the PS-2 connector then plugs into my Deneb card so I don't have to keep reaching around the back to insert a pen-drive.  :)
« Last Edit: February 24, 2012, 02:51:24 PM by Darrin »
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
 

Offline Amiga_CDTV

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Apr 2010
  • Posts: 110
  • Total likes: 1
Re: My new Amiga 4000T - work in progress
« Reply #9 on: February 24, 2012, 07:18:04 PM »
Thanks, everybody :)

My current vision is to build an adapter so I can use my black CDTV keyboard with the A4kT. Should be easy, but some things about the 4000T are hard to verify due to very limited internet resources about the topic. I agree on the special feel of the genuine Commodore keyboards!

Firstly I will need the CPU, I'll try to get the basic A3640. I just want to get the machine up and running, then wonder about which Amiga OS to use, and then how much CPU and RAM I'll be needing. I have a feeling this will take years! :laughing:

I have already been looking at some parts from Vesalia (and sent a query about the AV module).
Commodore KIM-1, PET-2001, CBM 8032, CBM 8050, CBM 8250LP, D9060, VIC-20, C64, C64c, 1541, 1541-II, 1571, 1581,
Amiga A1000, A1060 Sidecar, A500, CDTV, CD32, 1084S, A1200, A1200 Magic Pack from Petro, ex-custom-case A3000T (now a complete A3000T), repaired A4000T and looking for more :)
 

Offline pan1k

Re: My new Amiga 4000T - work in progress
« Reply #10 on: February 24, 2012, 07:20:46 PM »
Retrobrite the case... might get some of the smell off too.. I just bought some unix workstations and they smelled like cigarettes too... the smoke forms a layer, need to clean it up..
A4K: \\\'060, Cyberstorm MKIII Cybervision 64/3D w/ Scandoubler, Buddha Flash XSurf, MP3@64, A4K: \\\'040, Toaster, Y/C, A1200: Apollo \\\'040, A1200 GVP \'030, A1200: Stock, A2000: 68K, Trump SCSI, Supra 8Mb, and Toaster 4K, A2500: \\\'030, GVP SCSI, Supra 8MB x2, Video Toaster, CD32, Minimig, Efika and Hopefully an A4000T soon!
 

Offline mechy

Re: My new Amiga 4000T - work in progress
« Reply #11 on: February 25, 2012, 06:41:25 PM »
Quote from: Amiga_CDTV;681464
Thanks, everybody :)

My current vision is to build an adapter so I can use my black CDTV keyboard with the A4kT. Should be easy, but some things about the 4000T are hard to verify due to very limited internet resources about the topic. I agree on the special feel of the genuine Commodore keyboards!

Firstly I will need the CPU, I'll try to get the basic A3640. I just want to get the machine up and running, then wonder about which Amiga OS to use, and then how much CPU and RAM I'll be needing. I have a feeling this will take years! :laughing:

I have already been looking at some parts from Vesalia (and sent a query about the AV module).


The A4000t uses the same keyboard pinout as the A2000/3000(just follow these pinouts). You could either internally rewire the cdtv kbd to match or make an adapter. just be sure u get it right! Blowing a cia in the 4000t is bad because its surface mount and not socketed.

You have many choices on Accelerator cards..
the A3640 is ok,but lacks ram expansion-16Mb fastram limit.usually has leaking caps that are installed backward on many revisions-Yes! even rev 3.2!
Warpengine 040/40 excellent card, 128MB ram support,good scsi.
Cyberstorm MK2 is a good card,supports 128MB ram
Cyberstorm MK3 is better and has UWSCSI(68pin) to boot allowing 25MB/s + SCSI speeds with the right drives.supports 128MB ram
Cyberstorm PPC The best of the bunch! UWSCSI,128MB ram,Supports os3.9 as well as 4.x
GVP 4060dt Ok card but only supports the slow FastFileSystem.Scsi seems to work well, siupports 128MB
Apollo 4060-Usual apollo crap- Supports 128MB -scsi is mediocre at best and some have problems with these cards.
Quikpak 060 - the Only card to support EDO ram,up to 128MB.Some versions of these can be picky or may have problems.

for 040:
A3640 is not great,but will get you up and running cheap.
Warpengine 4040

for 060:
Go for the cyberstorm MKII(040 or 060),MK3(060),or PPC(060/50 and 604e/233)

mech
 

Offline Amiga_CDTV

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Apr 2010
  • Posts: 110
  • Total likes: 1
Re: My new Amiga 4000T - work in progress
« Reply #12 on: February 27, 2012, 05:31:43 PM »
Thanks, mechy, for your comprehensive list!

I have now bought a A3640 card from eBay. I shall start with it, check if other parts of the system work, and then start thinking about expansions and accelerators. Will check the caps on the CPU card first thing when I get it.
Commodore KIM-1, PET-2001, CBM 8032, CBM 8050, CBM 8250LP, D9060, VIC-20, C64, C64c, 1541, 1541-II, 1571, 1581,
Amiga A1000, A1060 Sidecar, A500, CDTV, CD32, 1084S, A1200, A1200 Magic Pack from Petro, ex-custom-case A3000T (now a complete A3000T), repaired A4000T and looking for more :)
 

Offline danwood

Re: My new Amiga 4000T - work in progress
« Reply #13 on: February 27, 2012, 06:53:14 PM »
Definitely a case for Retrobright treatment. Beautiful machine all the same, I've always wanted a 4000T, Commodore model even more. Sadly they don't seem to come up all too often in the Uk.
 

Offline Sandman

Re: My new Amiga 4000T - work in progress
« Reply #14 on: February 27, 2012, 07:44:47 PM »
I don't mean to hijack this thread in a different direction but it might be worth considering.......

I have a A4000T with similiar minor yellowing and I am thinking twice about retrobriting it.

1. I did the retrobrite process to my A4000D a little over a year ago and even though it is kept covered in a dark room when not being used, I have noticed a gradual yellowing coming back and it is not as white as when first done.  There is info about this issue over at English Amiga Board and a possible fix by spraying a clear-coat on after the retrobrite process but I am concerned that this will alter the 'original look' by adding a different sheen or texture.

2.  I have had a couple of bad experiences with retrobrite on A1200 cases.  If I didn't get the whole procedure and time exactly right I noticed blotchiness and 'blooming' which was noticeable.  If the same disaster happened to my A4000T case I would be beside myself with grief! :)

Opinions?..............