Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: AROS (only) system!  (Read 3527 times)

Description:

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dazxy2001

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2008
  • Posts: 110
    • Show only replies by Dazxy2001
Re: AROS (only) system!
« Reply #14 from previous page: February 08, 2012, 05:12:27 PM »
I would love to have it installed on my old Dell that I use on a daily basis but unfortunately niether the wireless or Lan are supported just now and I havent found any mini pci cards that have a supported chipset as yet.
Rediscovered that Amiga companionship :)
A1200 Rev 1D4, 030 40mhz, 16MB +2chip
A1200 Rev 1D4, 030 28mhz, 8MB +2chip
A1200 Rev 1A, 2MB
A1200 Rev 2B, 2MB
A1200 Rev 1D1, 2MB
A500 Rev 6A 512K +A501 512K
A500+ Rev 8 2MB & Supraram 2MB sidecart
Lombard G3 Powerbook 333Mhz, 384MB, 12GB HD, FreeBSD 8.2-Release
Acer Aspire One 1.5GB Ram 8GB SSD, Aros
 

Offline slobu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2008
  • Posts: 14
    • Show only replies by slobu
Re: AROS (only) system!
« Reply #15 on: February 08, 2012, 06:17:45 PM »
Quote from: AmigaFreak;679192
Hey guys!

I've just bought a PC from my sister and I installed ICAROS v 1.3.3 as the only OS on the hdd. I must say I am loving it, and it works great! - This happens to be the only PC in my apartment, so there is no M$ Windows. :-D - (I never liked M$ from day one as a child...) anywho, those who haven't tried AROS, you should!

Josh!


Any word on running old Amiga programs?  I heard they got integration down pretty good.
 

Offline Rebel-CD32

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2004
  • Posts: 288
    • Show only replies by Rebel-CD32
Re: AROS (only) system!
« Reply #16 on: February 09, 2012, 12:56:15 AM »


OS3 applications running on the Wanderer desktop, works quite nicely and uses the Aros menus and window decorations.
Amiga user forever.
 

Offline nyteschayde

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 642
    • Show only replies by nyteschayde
    • http://www.nyteshade.com
Re: AROS (only) system!
« Reply #17 on: February 09, 2012, 01:41:07 AM »
I've always hated that clown picture. :) The AROS system looks good. Weird to see the dual resize widgets. Can you resize using the OS3.x resize widget in the window too?
Senior MTS Software Engineer with PayPal
Amigas: A1200T 060/603e PPC • A1200T 060 • A4000D 040 • A3000 (x2) • A2000 Vamp/V2 • A1200 (x4) • A1000 (x3) • A600 Vamp/V1 • A500
 

Offline Iggy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2009
  • Posts: 5348
    • Show only replies by Iggy
Re: AROS (only) system!
« Reply #18 on: February 09, 2012, 05:03:37 AM »
Well, I guess I'll have another try at this.

Thanks for the encouragement guys (but my wife's gonna kill me, I can hear it now "What! Another computer!").

Purchased Nvidia 6150SE based motherboard, Nvidia video card, and SBLive card.

Using 1.6GHz Athlon 64
"Not making any hard and fast rules means that the moderators can use their good judgment in moderation, and we think the results speak for themselves." - Amiga.org, terms of service

"You, got to stem the evil tide, and keep it on the the inside" - Rogers Waters

"God was never on your side" - Lemmy

Amiga! "Our appeal has become more selective"
 

Offline droopy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2007
  • Posts: 12
    • Show only replies by droopy
Re: AROS (only) system!
« Reply #19 on: May 06, 2012, 08:42:22 AM »
Quote from: AmigaFreak;679192
, so there is no M$ Windows.

Josh!


Nice a true beliver!
 

Offline klx300r

  • Amiga 1000+AmigaOne X1000
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2007
  • Posts: 3189
  • Country: ca
  • Thanked: 19 times
  • Gender: Male
    • Show only replies by klx300r
    • http://mancave-ramblings.blogspot.ca/
Re: AROS (only) system!
« Reply #20 on: May 06, 2012, 04:50:11 PM »
@ AmigaFreak

I'm really enjoying AspireOS on my Samung netbook.  I would struggle without dual booting with Windows though as I need AutoCad on my netbook for my work.
____________________________________________________________________
c64-dual sids, A1000, A1200-060@50, A4000-CSMKIII
Indivision AGA & Catweasel MK4+= Amazing
! My Master Miggies-Amiga 1000 & AmigaOne X1000 !
--- www.mancave-ramblings.blogspot.ca ---
  -AspireOS.com & Amikit- Amiga for your netbook-
***X1000- I BELIEVE *** :angel: