Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: New levels available for Worms - TDC  (Read 2653 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline x303

New levels available for Worms - TDC
« on: August 14, 2011, 01:58:22 PM »
taken from amiga-news.de

New level for "Worms - Directors Cut": Conversion Level Pack #01
A fan of the classic Worms: The Director's Cut has recreated some of the levels of "Worms 2", "Worms Armageddon" and "Worms World Party" for the Amiga (Screenshots). Further "Level Packs" will follow.


Download: worms2conversionset01.zip (797 KB)

:laughing:



 

Offline Vulture

Re: New levels available for Worms - TDC
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2011, 01:12:53 AM »
awesome :)
 

Offline Cammy

Re: New levels available for Worms - TDC
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2011, 01:31:54 AM »
Wow, thank you so much for sharing this with us, x303! I have always wondered how it would look if someone converted some of the newer worlds from later Worms games to levels to use with Worms DC, but I never had the time or resources to do it myself. I am so glad someone else has done it for us, I'm going to have a lot of fun, hopefully with a friend or two, with these new levels.

Awesome!
A1200 030@28Mhz/2MB+32MB/RTC/KS3.1/IDE-CF+4GB/4-Way Clockport Expander/IndivisionAGA/PCMCIA NIC
A1200 020@14Mhz/2MB+8MB/FPU/RTC/KS3.0/IDE-CF+2GB/S-Video
CD32 020@14Mhz/2MB+8MB/RTC/KS3.1/IDE-CF+4GB
A600 030@30Mhz/2MB+64MB/RTC/IDE-CF+4GB/Subway USB/S-Video/PCMCIA NIC/USB Numeric Keypad+Hub+Mouse+Control Pad
A500 000@7Mhz/512kB+512kB/ROM Switcher/KS3.1+1.3/S-Video

Get AmigaOS for your PC, it\'s FREE and comes in two flavours!
http://www.icarosdesktop.org
http://www.aros-broadway.de
 

Offline MickJT

Re: New levels available for Worms - TDC
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2011, 02:58:11 AM »
Cool! Also a reason to start playing it again!
 

Offline jj

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 4035
  • Country: wales
  • Total likes: 4
  • Gender: Male
Re: New levels available for Worms - TDC
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2011, 01:52:00 PM »
From memory it was quite easy to make custome levels for Worms,  Just knock them up in dpaint I believe ?  Not taking anything away fro mthe conversion, this is more in reply to cammy.  Must have been a lot of work ripping the graphivs from the newer games.
“We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing.” - George Bernard Shaw

Xbox Live: S0ulA55a551n2
 
Registered MorphsOS 3.10 user on Powerbook G4 15"
 

Offline Karlos

Re: New levels available for Worms - TDC
« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2011, 02:46:09 PM »
Don't forget that you could actually sketch levels in-game.
int p; // A
 

Offline x303

Re: New levels available for Worms - TDC
« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2011, 06:28:23 PM »
Quote from: Cammy;654752
I'm going to have a lot of fun, hopefully with a friend or two, with these new levels.
Still a shame you can't play it online. Would be great to play online tournaments with loads of ppl.
:eek::destroy:
 

Offline Cammy

Re: New levels available for Worms - TDC
« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2011, 10:48:22 PM »
Yep, you can make the levels with an Amiga paint program, as long as they're using a 16 colour palette, and the 0 pen is transparent, so 15 colours can be used.

I have never owned any of the newer games so I just never had a way to rip the levels myself, I just thought it would be a cool idea and I'm glad someone has done it.

Oh, and there's a feature where you can have foreground and background layers in the landscape, so you could have a landscape of a lady with a bikini on and when you blow it up you see what's underneath.
A1200 030@28Mhz/2MB+32MB/RTC/KS3.1/IDE-CF+4GB/4-Way Clockport Expander/IndivisionAGA/PCMCIA NIC
A1200 020@14Mhz/2MB+8MB/FPU/RTC/KS3.0/IDE-CF+2GB/S-Video
CD32 020@14Mhz/2MB+8MB/RTC/KS3.1/IDE-CF+4GB
A600 030@30Mhz/2MB+64MB/RTC/IDE-CF+4GB/Subway USB/S-Video/PCMCIA NIC/USB Numeric Keypad+Hub+Mouse+Control Pad
A500 000@7Mhz/512kB+512kB/ROM Switcher/KS3.1+1.3/S-Video

Get AmigaOS for your PC, it\'s FREE and comes in two flavours!
http://www.icarosdesktop.org
http://www.aros-broadway.de
 

Offline EWS

Re: New levels available for Worms - TDC
« Reply #8 on: August 16, 2011, 06:43:46 AM »
Looks like some good stuff. I rarely use the custom levels, but new landscape types are welcome.

Maybe I should post the landscape types I've made over time. I've got 'mud', 'cheese', 'cartoon', 'underwater', and one or two more.
 

Offline stevieu

Re: New levels available for Worms - TDC
« Reply #9 on: August 16, 2011, 12:56:43 PM »
Really nice! Worms: The Directors Cut will always be the best version of Worms to me!

Cheers :)

Steve

Offline jj

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 4035
  • Country: wales
  • Total likes: 4
  • Gender: Male
Re: New levels available for Worms - TDC
« Reply #10 on: August 16, 2011, 04:10:43 PM »
Sorry I have to say the N64 of worms armaageddon is my fav version
“We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing.” - George Bernard Shaw

Xbox Live: S0ulA55a551n2
 
Registered MorphsOS 3.10 user on Powerbook G4 15"
 

Offline Matt_H

Re: New levels available for Worms - TDC
« Reply #11 on: August 16, 2011, 11:43:49 PM »
Quote from: Cammy;654845
Yep, you can make the levels with an Amiga paint program, as long as they're using a 16 colour palette, and the 0 pen is transparent, so 15 colours can be used.

I have never owned any of the newer games so I just never had a way to rip the levels myself, I just thought it would be a cool idea and I'm glad someone has done it.

Oh, and there's a feature where you can have foreground and background layers in the landscape, so you could have a landscape of a lady with a bikini on and when you blow it up you see what's underneath.

I think Director's Cut can handle 256-color landscapes - see the 'Toys' map that comes with it.
 

Offline Cammy

Re: New levels available for Worms - TDC
« Reply #12 on: August 17, 2011, 03:25:26 AM »
Quote from: EWS;654901
Maybe I should post the landscape types I've made over time. I've got 'mud', 'cheese', 'cartoon', 'underwater', and one or two more.


That sounds fantastic, I'd love to add your landscapes if you want to post them! Any of your artwork is always most welcome. :)

Quote from: Matt_H;654986
I think Director's Cut can handle 256-color landscapes - see the 'Toys' map that comes with it.


Surprisingly those Toys are only in 15/16 colours, which is the most you can use in each playfield in dual-playfield mode on AGA (without tricks). In OCS/ECS it's 7/8.
A1200 030@28Mhz/2MB+32MB/RTC/KS3.1/IDE-CF+4GB/4-Way Clockport Expander/IndivisionAGA/PCMCIA NIC
A1200 020@14Mhz/2MB+8MB/FPU/RTC/KS3.0/IDE-CF+2GB/S-Video
CD32 020@14Mhz/2MB+8MB/RTC/KS3.1/IDE-CF+4GB
A600 030@30Mhz/2MB+64MB/RTC/IDE-CF+4GB/Subway USB/S-Video/PCMCIA NIC/USB Numeric Keypad+Hub+Mouse+Control Pad
A500 000@7Mhz/512kB+512kB/ROM Switcher/KS3.1+1.3/S-Video

Get AmigaOS for your PC, it\'s FREE and comes in two flavours!
http://www.icarosdesktop.org
http://www.aros-broadway.de
 

Offline AmigaPixel

Re: New levels available for Worms - TDC
« Reply #13 on: August 17, 2011, 10:38:26 AM »
Quote from: Matt_H;654986
I think Director's Cut can handle 256-color landscapes - see the 'Toys' map that comes with it.


I am trying to remember if that is the same program I had, still have some where. Is Directors Cut a text based media program?
 

Offline AmigaPixel

Re: New levels available for Worms - TDC
« Reply #14 on: August 17, 2011, 10:51:08 AM »
@Cammy

Off subject:

I am amazed at your Amiga platform knowledge! I started with the Amiga in 1993 (I had seen it once or twice in the late 1980's) I used to live, breath and eat Amiga. But drifted away by the early 2000's. I forgot a lot of what I use to know, but even if I remembered it all, I am sure it would be much less than what you know. It's always neat to see Amiga specific dedicated interests in some one who is young. And hopefully nobody is telling you that you are spending too much time with this "Amiga thing!" I use to get told that. Ah! Now I am too busy filling my noggin with boring PC knowledge for my IT certifications.

I will always see the Amiga as more fun no matter how powerful and sophisticated the PC and Mac become.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2011, 11:03:26 AM by AmigaPixel »