Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: What to put on a default Amiga OS install  (Read 2004 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ElPolloDiabl

What to put on a default Amiga OS install
« on: April 13, 2010, 07:58:05 PM »
What should be on a default Amiga OS install? e.g. Video Player and codecs or a copy of directory Opus.
As I haven't used OS4.1 can someone enlighten me as to what in includes.
Go Go Gadget Signature!
 

Offline kickstart

Re: What to put on a default Amiga OS install
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2010, 08:34:37 PM »
Its a good question these days, after install your new OS the question is, now what? On my macmini (aka minimorph) after install morphos 2.4 attemp to probe my favorite classic applications, adding players for modules, mplayer, file managers...
a1200 060
 

Offline rvo_nl

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2006
  • Posts: 859
  • Total likes: 0
Re: What to put on a default Amiga OS install
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2010, 08:49:02 PM »
I assume with 'default' you mean a standard OS4.1 install? Because if you dont, there's quite a lot to install, depending on your hardware :)
Amiga 1200 (1d4) Kickstart 3.1 (40.68), Elbox Power/Winner tower (450w psu), BlizzardPPC 603e+ @240mhz & 060 @50mhz, 256MB, Bvision, IDE-fix Express, IndivisionAGA, 120GB IDE, cd, dvd, Cocolino, Micronik Keycase, PCMCIA Ethernet, Ratte monitor switcher, Prelude1200, triple boot WB3.1 / OS3.9 / OS4.1, Win95 / MacOS8.1
 

Offline ElPolloDiabl

Re: What to put on a default Amiga OS install
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2010, 05:53:51 PM »
What picture viewer would be recommended?
I would have picture viewer, web browser and CD-Rom drivers. What else?
Go Go Gadget Signature!
 

Offline rvo_nl

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2006
  • Posts: 859
  • Total likes: 0
Re: What to put on a default Amiga OS install
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2010, 02:12:40 PM »
some specs, please.. :)
Amiga 1200 (1d4) Kickstart 3.1 (40.68), Elbox Power/Winner tower (450w psu), BlizzardPPC 603e+ @240mhz & 060 @50mhz, 256MB, Bvision, IDE-fix Express, IndivisionAGA, 120GB IDE, cd, dvd, Cocolino, Micronik Keycase, PCMCIA Ethernet, Ratte monitor switcher, Prelude1200, triple boot WB3.1 / OS3.9 / OS4.1, Win95 / MacOS8.1
 

Offline Cammy

Re: What to put on a default Amiga OS install
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2010, 04:05:27 PM »
Visage used to be the fastest AGA picture viewer until recently when this came out - http://meynaf.free.fr/tmp/v.lzx

If you're viewing on Workbench and have all your datatypes installed, MysticView is a good picture viewer because it has built-in scaling and dithering among other tools - http://aminet.net/package/gfx/show/MysticView

Or if you prefer to view six of your pictures at a time on a rotating cube - http://aminet.net/package/demo/misc/mysticube13

I would also install EaglePlayer and all of its player modules (All available on Aminet if you search for Eagle). It's a very versitile music player that plays mods and streaming wavs among other formats.

Essential patches are:

FBlit - http://aminet.net/package/util/boot/fblit
FText - http://aminet.net/package/util/boot/FText
BlazeWCP - http://aminet.net/package/util/boot/Blazewcp
MemOptimizer - http://aminet.net/package/util/boot/MemOptimizer

Visual enhancement software:

FullPalette - http://aminet.net/package/util/wb/FullPalette22
VisualPrefs - http://aminet.net/package/util/wb/VisualPrefs
Birdie - http://aminet.net/package/util/wb/birdie2000

Modern internet software:

WookieChat (IRC chat) - http://wookiechat.amigarevolution.com/wookiechat/WookieChat2.11_OS3.lha
SabreMSN (MSN instant messenger) - http://wookiechat.amigarevolution.com/sabremsn/SabreOS3_20100404.lha
AmiMSN (MSN instant messenger) - http://members.iinet.net.au/~trebs/AmiMSN/
AmiTradeCentre (FTP transfers) - http://aminet.net/package/comm/tcp/AmiTradeCenter
AmiGift (P2P file sharing and torrents) - http://amigift.sourceforge.net/
AmiTwitter (Twitter note network) - http://amitwitter.sourceforge.net/
AmiNetRadio (Online radio, podcasts and mp3s) - http://www.amigazeux.net/anr/
Dynamite (Multiplayer online Bomberman game) - http://amisource.de/dynamite/
YAM (Email) - http://trac.yam.ch/
SimpleMail (Email) - http://simplemail.sourceforge.net/
AmiMUD (Multi-User Dungeon RPG client) - http://aminet.net/package/comm/net/AmiMUD
A1200 030@28Mhz/2MB+32MB/RTC/KS3.1/IDE-CF+4GB/4-Way Clockport Expander/IndivisionAGA/PCMCIA NIC
A1200 020@14Mhz/2MB+8MB/FPU/RTC/KS3.0/IDE-CF+2GB/S-Video
CD32 020@14Mhz/2MB+8MB/RTC/KS3.1/IDE-CF+4GB
A600 030@30Mhz/2MB+64MB/RTC/IDE-CF+4GB/Subway USB/S-Video/PCMCIA NIC/USB Numeric Keypad+Hub+Mouse+Control Pad
A500 000@7Mhz/512kB+512kB/ROM Switcher/KS3.1+1.3/S-Video

Get AmigaOS for your PC, it\'s FREE and comes in two flavours!
http://www.icarosdesktop.org
http://www.aros-broadway.de
 

Offline rvo_nl

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2006
  • Posts: 859
  • Total likes: 0
Re: What to put on a default Amiga OS install
« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2010, 05:34:01 PM »
keep in mind that the patches Cammy just mentioned are not very useful if you have a graphics board. MCP is a great program aswell, get it here:
 
http://mitglied.lycos.de/dgroppe/amiga.html
 
Have to agree on Visage and Visual Prefs (especially with some quality theme from Aminet). I prefer Delitracker over Eagleplayer though, although both have their pro's/con's. You need some (un)archivers aswell, Aminet is full of those. And don't forget about Scout and Snoopdos!
Amiga 1200 (1d4) Kickstart 3.1 (40.68), Elbox Power/Winner tower (450w psu), BlizzardPPC 603e+ @240mhz & 060 @50mhz, 256MB, Bvision, IDE-fix Express, IndivisionAGA, 120GB IDE, cd, dvd, Cocolino, Micronik Keycase, PCMCIA Ethernet, Ratte monitor switcher, Prelude1200, triple boot WB3.1 / OS3.9 / OS4.1, Win95 / MacOS8.1
 

Offline bburtonpa

Re: What to put on a default Amiga OS install
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2010, 06:03:18 PM »
Quote from: Fanscale;553363
What should be on a default Amiga OS install? e.g. Video Player and codecs or a copy of directory Opus.


NOTHING AT ALL!  One of the biggest issues I have with Windows (and what I like about Linux) is the ability to CHOOSE what gets installed.  Most people use just a small subset of the apps that come with Windows.  Did you know that the REQUIRED amount of disk space needed for a 32-bit install of Windows 7 is 16gb!  20gb for 64-bit!  If it was up to me, I would want a barebones install that allowed me to pick and choose or add applications later as needed.
 

Offline rvo_nl

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2006
  • Posts: 859
  • Total likes: 0
Re: What to put on a default Amiga OS install
« Reply #8 on: April 19, 2010, 06:09:44 PM »
to be honest, I think Fanscale just needs to know what programs people are using these days to do the most basic stuff that the amiga cant do out-of-the-box, like playing video and such. in the meantime a few speedup hacks wont hurt, ofcourse :)
 
I think everyone on this forum agrees with your philosophy anyway!
Amiga 1200 (1d4) Kickstart 3.1 (40.68), Elbox Power/Winner tower (450w psu), BlizzardPPC 603e+ @240mhz & 060 @50mhz, 256MB, Bvision, IDE-fix Express, IndivisionAGA, 120GB IDE, cd, dvd, Cocolino, Micronik Keycase, PCMCIA Ethernet, Ratte monitor switcher, Prelude1200, triple boot WB3.1 / OS3.9 / OS4.1, Win95 / MacOS8.1
 

Offline ElPolloDiabl

Re: What to put on a default Amiga OS install
« Reply #9 on: April 19, 2010, 06:38:26 PM »
It's only for WinUAE I don't have an Amiga anymore, until I get an FPGA arcade. I'm looking for some hot picks.
Go Go Gadget Signature!
 

Offline Cammy

Re: What to put on a default Amiga OS install
« Reply #10 on: April 19, 2010, 06:50:22 PM »
Oh boy... I totally missed where you said 4.1, I guess I assumed it said 3.1!

All that software is for 3.x systems, sorry!

But you're using 3.x anyway? Yeah most of that software is still good except the speedup patches which are for AGA, not RTG.

That cat just keeps staring at me, it's distracting! :p
« Last Edit: April 19, 2010, 06:53:56 PM by Cammy »
A1200 030@28Mhz/2MB+32MB/RTC/KS3.1/IDE-CF+4GB/4-Way Clockport Expander/IndivisionAGA/PCMCIA NIC
A1200 020@14Mhz/2MB+8MB/FPU/RTC/KS3.0/IDE-CF+2GB/S-Video
CD32 020@14Mhz/2MB+8MB/RTC/KS3.1/IDE-CF+4GB
A600 030@30Mhz/2MB+64MB/RTC/IDE-CF+4GB/Subway USB/S-Video/PCMCIA NIC/USB Numeric Keypad+Hub+Mouse+Control Pad
A500 000@7Mhz/512kB+512kB/ROM Switcher/KS3.1+1.3/S-Video

Get AmigaOS for your PC, it\'s FREE and comes in two flavours!
http://www.icarosdesktop.org
http://www.aros-broadway.de
 

Offline amyren

Re: What to put on a default Amiga OS install
« Reply #11 on: April 19, 2010, 08:12:16 PM »
Quote from: Fanscale;554439
It's only for WinUAE I don't have an Amiga anymore, until I get an FPGA arcade. I'm looking for some hot picks.


If its for WinUAE, why dont you just get the latest AmiKit version, and many of the most common tools and programs will be included on the basic install. And then you will be sure that all the needed libs and datatypes etc are the latest stable version, because all the included programs and system tools are tested to work together.
Look at http://amikit.amiga.sk

There are other packages as well, as AmiSYS that could be worth checking out.
 

Offline Tenacious

Re: What to put on a default Amiga OS install
« Reply #12 on: April 19, 2010, 08:29:06 PM »
Quote from: Cammy;554442
Oh boy... I totally missed where you said 4.1, I guess I assumed it said 3.1!

All that software is for 3.x systems, sorry!

But you're using 3.x anyway? Yeah most of that software is still good except the speedup patches which are for AGA, not RTG. :p


List like this help me to try out new things.  Thanks.