Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

AuthorTopic: Minimig v1.1 ARM Hardfile Demonstration  (Read 12051 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Darrin

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2002
  • Posts: 4430
  • Total likes: 0
Minimig v1.1 ARM Hardfile Demonstration
« on: December 22, 2008, 12:52:40 AM »
OK, all Minimig v1.1 owners prepare to weep like children!  Our resident genius Yaqube has just posted a demonstration of Hardfile support on the Minimig v1.1 with his ARM extentension board.

Follow this link to see his post and then click on his link to go to uTube and watch the 6 minute demonstration of his machine booting into what looks like Workbench 3.0/1, running Sysinfo and then playing several hard drive installed games:

http://www.minimig.net/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=11&p=153#p153

You might also note that this Minimig has the following:

68000 @ 25MHz (should help with those flight sims)
1.5MB Slow RAM
2.0MB Chip RAM
4 x Floppy drives (df0, df1, df2 and df3)
1 x 512MB Hardfile showing as a FFS SCSI drive

Brilliant work!  This really is a complete expanded A500 replacement suitable for most people.
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
 

Offline whiteb

Re: Minimig v1.1 ARM Hardfile Demonstration
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2008, 01:12:18 AM »
Ummmm, my normal minimig only has 2MB on the board, I take it this one has new ram or something, or does the ARM contain RAM that configs as well ?

According to the Youtube comments, Ram was "Piggy Backed", you cannot just plop on two more chips and have them work surely ?

I thought you would at least need to separate them via Address lines ?
A4000D - CSMKII//128MB/IDE CF/Indivision Scandoubler
A1200
A1000

(And now a Minimig) :>)
 

Offline Darrin

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2002
  • Posts: 4430
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Minimig v1.1 ARM Hardfile Demonstration
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2008, 01:31:44 AM »
Quote

whiteb wrote:
Ummmm, my normal minimig only has 2MB on the board, I take it this one has new ram or something, or does the ARM contain RAM that configs as well ?

According to the Youtube comments, Ram was "Piggy Backed", you cannot just plop on two more chips and have them work surely ?

I thought you would at least need to separate them via Address lines ?


I've no idea.  I've posted the question and I'll be interested to see the answer.  :-)

Edit:  and here's how, plus a picture:

http://www.minimig.net/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=27
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
 

Offline rkauer

Re: Minimig v1.1 ARM Hardfile Demonstration
« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2008, 02:13:21 AM »
 To piggyback a RAM chip, just separating the most significant bit address will suffice.
Goodbye people.

I\'ll pop on from time to time, RL is acting up.
 

Offline whiteb

Re: Minimig v1.1 ARM Hardfile Demonstration
« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2008, 02:33:57 AM »
I see from the link Darrin supplied he is using the Extra I/O plug to (I think) route signals to the new chips no doubt a couple of address lines.  That is Soldering FAR IN ADVANCE of my own.

[edit] actually, that could VERY WELL be it.

From memory, the 68882 occupied *A LOT* of the same signals that the 68xxx occupied, You just had to select the specific address lines that the chip used.  I do not know the pin outs of the chip, it looks like one pin may be bent up, and wire'd, maybe a "CS" (Chip Select) line, with the rest coexisting signals that both chips use ?

[edit2]  Yeah, if that is indeed pin 6 in the picture, that is CE (Chip, Enable input).  You just disable that pin on the FPGA, the Existing chips will NEVER receive CE, and it will ignore EVERYTHING ELSE (or how i understand it).

A4000D - CSMKII//128MB/IDE CF/Indivision Scandoubler
A1200
A1000

(And now a Minimig) :>)
 

Offline Darrin

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2002
  • Posts: 4430
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Minimig v1.1 ARM Hardfile Demonstration
« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2008, 08:54:30 AM »
My soldering skills are zero too, but I'm sure I can pay someone local to do it when the exact instructions are published.
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
 

Offline TheDaddy

Re: Minimig v1.1 ARM Hardfile Demonstration
« Reply #6 on: December 22, 2008, 09:21:04 AM »
Great stuff Jakub! :-)
 

Offline weirdami

Re: Minimig v1.1 ARM Hardfile Demonstration
« Reply #7 on: December 22, 2008, 09:21:54 AM »
if that ram chip piggy backing thing works then why aren't manufacturers doing it to save on sockets and stuff?
----
Binding Polymer: Keeping you together since 1892.
 

Offline Darrin

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2002
  • Posts: 4430
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Minimig v1.1 ARM Hardfile Demonstration
« Reply #8 on: December 22, 2008, 09:37:51 AM »
Quote

weirdami wrote:
if that ram chip piggy backing thing works then why aren't manufacturers doing it to save on sockets and stuff?


Probably because your average PC motherboard has plenty of room for extra sockets and your average PC user doesn't want to piddle around with a soldering iron when he upgrades his RAM.  :-)
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
 

Offline Darrin

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2002
  • Posts: 4430
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Minimig v1.1 ARM Hardfile Demonstration
« Reply #9 on: December 22, 2008, 10:21:06 AM »
Looki ng at other news on this thread, what that demo really needs is AmigaSYS installed on that Hardfile.  :D
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
 

Offline BooBoo1200

Re: Minimig v1.1 ARM Hardfile Demonstration
« Reply #10 on: December 22, 2008, 10:28:11 AM »
WOW  :-D This is brilliant - Even running WHDload - As I consider other Amiga clones a joke -Well done yaqube![img align=left]http://eab.abime.net/images/smilies/xmas.gif[/img]
 

Offline darksun9210

Re: Minimig v1.1 ARM Hardfile Demonstration
« Reply #11 on: December 22, 2008, 10:39:11 AM »
awesome stuff :-)

idea... how difficult would it be to have a minimig with an A500 compatible sideslot/edgeconnector?

A500 Vampire2, A600 Vampire2, A1200 Bliz030, A1200 Bliz040, A1200 BlizPPC, A3k CS MK3060, A4k C=040, CD32
 

Offline whiteb

Re: Minimig v1.1 ARM Hardfile Demonstration
« Reply #12 on: December 22, 2008, 10:41:17 AM »
Quote

weirdami wrote:
if that ram chip piggy backing thing works then why aren't manufacturers doing it to save on sockets and stuff?


Sockets are used for ease of putting in/Taking out.

This trick is done, to *DISABLE* the existing chip, in favor of the new chip.  Also, given the nature of the board, its *FRAGILE !!!!!*.  I have tried to desolder a damaged minimig, and lifted the pads in the process (hey, it was damaged), so you just solder over the top of the existing one, and just re-route the 'Chip Select' line.

This way it is ONE or the other, not both.  If it was to use BOTH ram, then you would need independent addressing (At least).
A4000D - CSMKII//128MB/IDE CF/Indivision Scandoubler
A1200
A1000

(And now a Minimig) :>)
 

Offline whiteb

Re: Minimig v1.1 ARM Hardfile Demonstration
« Reply #13 on: December 22, 2008, 10:49:34 AM »
Quote

Darrin wrote:
Looki ng at other news on this thread, what that demo really needs is AmigaSYS installed on that Hardfile.  :D


Is there one for A500/A600's ?  I think the lowest Amigasys for classic is A1200/4000 etc (AGA).

Unless you mean ClassicWB, they all need 68020+.
A4000D - CSMKII//128MB/IDE CF/Indivision Scandoubler
A1200
A1000

(And now a Minimig) :>)
 

Offline whiteb

Re: Minimig v1.1 ARM Hardfile Demonstration
« Reply #14 on: December 22, 2008, 10:53:20 AM »
Quote

darksun9210 wrote:
awesome stuff :-)

idea... how difficult would it be to have a minimig with an A500 compatible sideslot/edgeconnector?


Larger FPGA (more I/O), larger board.
A4000D - CSMKII//128MB/IDE CF/Indivision Scandoubler
A1200
A1000

(And now a Minimig) :>)