Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: 'alien' RAM chips in Amiga  (Read 1155 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline orange

'alien' RAM chips in Amiga
« on: April 21, 2008, 01:07:51 PM »
Could these be used in any Amiga hardware?
(bottom one is from PC VGA card)



[img align=left]http://www.fileden.com/files/2007/6/28/1218776/Amiga/up_IMG_1190.jpg[/img]


[img align=left]http://www.fileden.com/files/2007/6/28/1218776/Amiga/up_IMG_1191.jpg[/img]
Better sorry than worry.
 

Offline Chain

Re: 'alien' RAM chips in Amiga
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2008, 01:28:01 PM »
256Kx1 are used in some ram cards iirc

A2052 in example
too lazy to use shift key properly...
 

Offline Ilwrath

Re: 'alien' RAM chips in Amiga
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2008, 02:03:42 PM »
Well, theoretically, as stated, there are some very old RAM cards they could work in.  A 256k*1 chip isn't very useful, though.  It takes 8 of them to make one complete 256k module, and 24 to make a single MB.  You're probably better off to make keychains out of them, sell those, and then use the money to buy a more current RAM expansion.   :lol:
 

Offline orange

Re: 'alien' RAM chips in Amiga
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2008, 02:34:24 PM »
thanks.

Hmm, I do have one dead A501 (16 chips version), maybe it could be repaired with new chips. Wish old ones were socketed.
Better sorry than worry.
 

Offline Kronos

  • Resident blue troll
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 4017
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.SteamDraw.de
Re: 'alien' RAM chips in Amiga
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2008, 02:54:54 PM »
@Ilwrath

Quote

Ilwrath wrote:
Well, theoretically, as stated, there are some very old RAM cards they could work in.  A 256k*1 chip isn't very useful, though.  It takes 8 of them to make one complete 256k module, and 24 to make a single MB.  You're probably better off to make keychains out of them, sell those, and then use the money to buy a more current RAM expansion.   :lol:


Let me guess, you did NOT study math ? *daffy duck*
1. Make an announcment.
2. Wait a while.
3. Check if it can actually be done.
4. Wait for someone else to do it.
5. Start working on it while giving out hillarious progress-reports.
6. Deny that you have ever announced it
7. Blame someone else
 

Offline jorkany

Re: 'alien' RAM chips in Amiga
« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2008, 03:38:32 PM »
Kronos,
The "256" on these chips refers to 256k BITS. llwrsath's math is correct.
 

Offline Kronos

  • Resident blue troll
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 4017
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.SteamDraw.de
Re: 'alien' RAM chips in Amiga
« Reply #6 on: April 21, 2008, 03:50:01 PM »
@jorkany

Ah, another A-student I assume  :-D

(Hint: 8*4 aint 24)
1. Make an announcment.
2. Wait a while.
3. Check if it can actually be done.
4. Wait for someone else to do it.
5. Start working on it while giving out hillarious progress-reports.
6. Deny that you have ever announced it
7. Blame someone else
 

Offline Ilwrath

Re: 'alien' RAM chips in Amiga
« Reply #7 on: April 21, 2008, 03:52:25 PM »
@ Kronos - ROFLMAO!

Quote

llwrsath's math is correct.


No, it's not.   :lol:

Quote

It takes 8 of them to make one complete 256k module, and 24 to make a single MB.


BZZZERT!  It takes 32 of them to make a single MB.  
Or I meant it takes 24 MORE of them (over the additional 8) to make a single MB.  Yeah, that's it.  (errr... sure.)
 

Offline Chain

Re: 'alien' RAM chips in Amiga
« Reply #8 on: April 21, 2008, 05:42:22 PM »
now i remember it...
ive once repaired A501 rev 5


guess which chip is original one?
.

.

.

.

yep, just one was working actually, ive replaced 15 of them :)

now i can tell .. its definitely NOT worth it :D
too lazy to use shift key properly...
 

Offline Daedalus

Re: 'alien' RAM chips in Amiga
« Reply #9 on: April 21, 2008, 07:52:45 PM »
LOL, how did 15 of them fail and one survive? What were you doing to them? :-P
Engineers do it with precision
--
http://www.robthenerd.com
 

Offline CLS2086

Re: 'alien' RAM chips in Amiga
« Reply #10 on: April 21, 2008, 08:19:43 PM »
U63 !
Keep the Faith !
VG 5000/A1000/500/500+/600/2000/CDTV/1200PPC-GREX/1200PPC -ATEO-BV/4060D/CD32/Aone/Peg 1/Peg2 G4/ various funny machines too  :-) http://www.mo5.com/collection/index.php?pseudo=CLS2086
I also repair drives of our old beloved Amiga
 

Offline Hodgkinson

Re: 'alien' RAM chips in Amiga
« Reply #11 on: April 21, 2008, 08:51:24 PM »
Bah, I've got some boards from some old drawer-chest sized computer (Hyperon, 1979)...

[…Snip mathematical nonsense… :-D ]

How about this?
http://www.amiga.org/gallery/index.php?n=2619=13
Main A1200D: WB3.0, 3.1 ROMs, 2GB HDD, Blizzard 1230IV (64MB RAM + FPU) and a whole load of custom heatsinks... :flame: