Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Hollywood MAL AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: AROS enlighten me  (Read 2253 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Terminills

Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #15 on: June 20, 2003, 05:06:15 PM »
Unplugging bloodline's net connection... Enough talk more 68K emu work... Frankly right now I don't even care if it's jit or not.   :lol:


~runs~
Support AROS sponsor a developer.

edited by mod: this has been addressed
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #16 on: June 20, 2003, 05:07:32 PM »
:lol:

Offline Terminills

Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #17 on: June 20, 2003, 05:10:04 PM »
Oh yeah here's another question how are the pci card drivers handled?   Custom pci library or an Openpci wrapper?
Support AROS sponsor a developer.

edited by mod: this has been addressed
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #18 on: June 20, 2003, 05:20:22 PM »
Quote

Terminills wrote:
Oh yeah here's another question how are the pci card drivers handled?   Custom pci library or an Openpci wrapper?


Custom pci.device... soon to be replaced with openpci

Offline Terminills

Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #19 on: June 20, 2003, 05:28:57 PM »
haha with some of the questions I ask you'd think I followed the project for a while.  :lol:  I get support for a ATI 9800 Pro, 68K emu and,  I'm sold.  :-D
Support AROS sponsor a developer.

edited by mod: this has been addressed
 

Offline sephiroth111

Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #20 on: June 20, 2003, 05:33:04 PM »
question, do you think they could create a transparent emulation layer so that m68k programs could work?

that would be awesome, running an old program on a new computer...
 

Offline XDelusion

Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #21 on: June 20, 2003, 05:51:17 PM »
Oh ya,....


....does AROS UAE have JIT, and Picasso, or is the Winblows version ironically the only one that does?
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #22 on: June 20, 2003, 07:13:44 PM »
Quote

sephiroth111 wrote:
question, do you think they could create a transparent emulation layer so that m68k programs could work?

that would be awesome, running an old program on a new computer...


Well, Transparent emulation probably won't quite be possible on the x86 version (the two CPU's have a serious difference... the Byte order) but I would hope to hide at least 90% of it from the user...

The UAE JIT should be usable on AROS since it is a 68k-->x86 Emu.  :-)

Offline XDelusion

Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #23 on: June 20, 2003, 08:19:11 PM »
Ok, I have tried it out, and this ISO actually worked for me, though it would not use my USB Keybaord and Mouse, fortuanatly I had a PS2 one of each laying around that did work. I am very impressed, if it did not have to load off of CD, it would be blazing fast! Everything ran like a real Amiga with the exception that you programmed in a Magic Menu II clone which was a VERY GOOD MOVE! :) On the other hand, your Quake pak file needs to be in the ID1 drawer to work, so right now that demo is just wasting space.

 As for DOOM...  

...I happen to be a DOOM Editor from newdoom.com, and of course am taking a special interest in this. Did you remove the 32 FPS limit on it or what because I was running around super freaking fast, plus I could not go full screen. I assume it is that way just to show off how well AROS can multi-task?

 I know this is not top priority, but it is definatly something I would hope you could consider for a more final release.

 Since we are no longer limited by the 68K CPU, I think it would be marvel to port over one of the more advanced DOOM clones out there. DOOM Legacy is in C, and moving to C++ currently, or if you want to retain the original DOOM gameplay as much as possible, yet still maintain support for Deh files, BOOM, in game customizable controlls, and what not, there is also PRBOOM:

http://prboom.sourceforge.net/

 Imagine, you could port that over, then include FreeDOOM with it, so that you woudl not be stuck with a mere Demo, but a complete fully functional, low resource FPS!

http://freedoom.sourceforge.net/

 Just something to consider. I know FreeDOOM is not finished, but I know they plan on packing it with a few different Linux Distros when it is.


Oh ya, I think I read this before but can't find it now. Does AROS support dual CPU systems? Sorry for all the questions, just very curious, and I happen to be a Dual CPU owner. :)
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
 

Offline The_Wolf

Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #24 on: June 21, 2003, 02:26:46 PM »
Your a nutcase!
 

Offline PulsatingQuasar

Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #25 on: June 21, 2003, 03:55:42 PM »
Is it allready possible to install AROS on a harddisk? Because I have a laptop that is waiting for it. And if it is, is there some sort of a basic guide on it? I only need to know the outlines of the tools that I need.

I do not like the CD version and so untill there is possibility to install it, I won't look at AROS anymore.
BlizzardPPC powered!!
AmigaOne-XE G3 800 MHz, 512 MB RAM, Radeon 8500, OS4
 

Offline dammy

Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #26 on: June 21, 2003, 04:23:13 PM »
by PulsatingQuasar on 2003/6/21 10:55:42

Quote
I do not like the CD version and so untill there is possibility to install it, I won't look at AROS anymore.


An easy to use installer is currently being worked on as TeamAROS first bounty project is underway.
Dammy

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Arix-OS/414578091930728
Unless otherwise noted, I speak only for myself.
 

Offline Prod

Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #27 on: June 21, 2003, 07:07:00 PM »
btw, the source language is irrelevant, if you want something
recompiled you just download some cheap script that converts the
source to whatever you like and recompile.
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #28 on: June 21, 2003, 07:27:00 PM »
Quote

Prod wrote:
btw, the source language is irrelevant, if you want something
recompiled you just download some cheap script that converts the
source to whatever you like and recompile.


Err.... :-?  :-?  :-?  :-?  :-?

Offline that_punk_guy

Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #29 on: June 21, 2003, 07:55:19 PM »
Quote

Prod wrote:
btw, the source language is irrelevant, if you want something
recompiled you just download some cheap script that converts the
source to whatever you like and recompile.


Ummm....  :-D assembler isn't source, it's damn near the finished product, and too hardware-specific to port without many human-hours of work.