Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Hollywood MAL AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: AROS enlighten me  (Read 2254 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline XDelusion

AROS enlighten me
« on: June 20, 2003, 12:09:01 PM »
OK call me retarted, but I still am not clear on this whole AROS thing. I have burned ISO's and all that jazz, and at most I got to a command line prompt and that was it, so I didn't get a chance to really play with it. I have read through the pages and know it is supposed to look and act like Work Bench, but beyond that I am clueless. Is this sort of like WINE, where it can somehow make Amiga Apps run in a new OS that can run on X86 hardware, or is it something else all together? I keep hearing mixed stories, one is that yes it is, but then I read about Quake being ported to it and stuff like that, and I wonder, why Quake would need ported if it already runs on Amiag OS!?!? VERY CONFUSED, please inform me.

 Also while your at it, I need to know my those DAMN ISO's don't boot half the time, and if so why there is no GUI.
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
 

Offline Kronos

  • Resident blue troll
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 4017
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.SteamDraw.de
Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2003, 12:20:46 PM »
AROS is an opensource reimplemation of AmigaOS(3.1+MUI),  but it ain't binary-compatible
(unless you run it on a 68k-CPU). Every SW has to be recompiled in order to run on any
other version (mainly x86), but that should be fairly easy as AROS uses the same API.

For x86 you can get 2 versions:
a) Native : Boots directly from the BIOS, and takes over the whole machine. Problem is that
 there aren't that many good drivers, so you may run into trouble if you have the "wrong" HW.

b)Hosted : Runs on top of Linux/x11, and therefore should run on every x86 from 386 to P4.
Also the only way to develop for AROS atm.
1. Make an announcment.
2. Wait a while.
3. Check if it can actually be done.
4. Wait for someone else to do it.
5. Start working on it while giving out hillarious progress-reports.
6. Deny that you have ever announced it
7. Blame someone else
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2003, 12:47:58 PM »
Quote

XDelusion wrote:
OK call me retarted, but I still am not clear on this whole AROS thing. I have burned ISO's and all that jazz, and at most I got to a command line prompt and that was it, so I didn't get a chance to really play with it. I have read through the pages and know it is supposed to look and act like Work Bench, but beyond that I am clueless. Is this sort of like WINE, where it can somehow make Amiga Apps run in a new OS that can run on X86 hardware, or is it something else all together? I keep hearing mixed stories, one is that yes it is, but then I read about Quake being ported to it and stuff like that, and I wonder, why Quake would need ported if it already runs on Amiag OS!?!? VERY CONFUSED, please inform me.

 Also while your at it, I need to know my those DAMN ISO's don't boot half the time, and if so why there is no GUI.


sounds like you are using some old ISO there...
Try the one on my site: www.ahsodit.com/aros/

OK, to answer a few questions.

1. AROS is basily AmigaOS rewritten from scratch using the C programming language.

2. Using C means we can compile (turn it into CPU macvhine language) it for any type of CPU we choose.

3. The current AROS builds available are for the x86 CPU (other than the 68K that the old Amiga's used to use).

4. Running AROS on your PC, means that an OS almost identical to AmigaOS is running your PC :-)

5. Amiga programs have to be recompiled to run on the x86 CPU, since it speaks a different language to the 68K.

6. Should you choose to compile AROS for the 68K CPU (the one the Amiga uses), it will run on an Amiga computer and run the Amiga programs with the need to recompile them.

Offline XDelusion

Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2003, 01:24:21 PM »
Ok thankx, I'll download that ISO when I goto bed. One more question, no wait!! 2. :)

 1.Is AROS as compact and resource friendly as Amiga OS was? I recall my Amiga 500 having 1Mb RAM at one time, and it still multi-tasked, and the OS fit on a half density floppy, can Aros compete with that since it is in C?

2.What is required to run it inside Linux? Just the kernal or do I have to run that gawd forbidden X server?
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
 

Offline XDelusion

Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2003, 01:31:47 PM »
Aghh read your page. Damn that is compact!

 P.S. You DO look like a kid I seen at the mall the other day selling flowers and love.
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #5 on: June 20, 2003, 01:34:21 PM »
Quote

XDelusion wrote:
Ok thankx, I'll download that ISO when I goto bed. One more question, no wait!! 2. :)

 1.Is AROS as compact and resource friendly as Amiga OS was? I recall my Amiga 500 having 1Mb RAM at one time, and it still multi-tasked, and the OS fit on a half density floppy, can Aros compete with that since it is in C?

2.What is required to run it inside Linux? Just the kernal or do I have to run that gawd forbidden X server?


1. Yes. the whole thing even fits on to one floppy :-)

2. I don;t bother withthe Linux version, it's genearlly of most use to the AROS developers as it provides a safe environment in which to design and build AROS.


-Edit- my Pic is about 6 years old... so maybe I have traveled in time or something :-D

Offline XDelusion

Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #6 on: June 20, 2003, 02:17:43 PM »
Wait a second! You said software just needs a re-compile to run in Aros? Have you ever tried to compile Genetic Species in that case?
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
 

Offline XDelusion

Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #7 on: June 20, 2003, 02:22:48 PM »
Wait a second! You said software just needs a re-compile to run in Aros? Have you ever tried to compile Genetic Species in that case?
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
 

Offline 4pLaY

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2002
  • Posts: 779
  • Country: no
  • Total likes: 5
  • Gender: Male
    • https://www.amigalife.org
Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #8 on: June 20, 2003, 03:28:50 PM »
Hehe well "just a recompile" is a big word! you cant just "recompile" if the code is in 68k ASM or AMOS etc! if its however written in C its easier some appz only need a recompile but some might need adaption but for Games i would think most are written in such a manor that it bangs the hell out of the hardware so thats a no go! secondly you need to get a hold of those sources :).

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #9 on: June 20, 2003, 03:35:06 PM »
Quote

4pLaY wrote:
Hehe well "just a recompile" is a big word! you cant just "recompile" if the code is in 68k ASM or AMOS etc! if its however written in C its easier some appz only need a recompile but some might need adaption but for Games i would think most are written in such a manor that it bangs the hell out of the hardware so thats a no go! secondly you need to get a hold of those sources :).


Just to add to 4's statement, AROS can only run Amiga software that is OS leagal, and that need the custom chips simply can't work, becuase they are not there on your PC.

To recompile one requires the "source code". Also as 4 said, 68K asm source code is next to useless... C is the only really portable language.

Offline Terminills

Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #10 on: June 20, 2003, 03:48:02 PM »
@bloodline

Quote
AROS can only run Amiga software that is OS leagal, and that need the custom chips simply can't work, becuase they are not there on your PC.


if I throw some spare custom chips on top of my PC ... will it work then?   :lol:

seriously tho I'm all for using AROS full time once it's ready.   I got plenty of spare pc parts for an aros only machine...  Speaking of that is there already or going to be an AROS port of VNC?
Support AROS sponsor a developer.

edited by mod: this has been addressed
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #11 on: June 20, 2003, 03:54:35 PM »
Quote

Terminills wrote:
@bloodline

Quote
AROS can only run Amiga software that is OS leagal, and that need the custom chips simply can't work, becuase they are not there on your PC.


if I throw some spare custom chips on top of my PC ... will it work then?   :lol:

seriously tho I'm all for using AROS full time once it's ready.   I got plenty of spare pc parts for an aros only machine...  Speaking of that is there already or going to be an AROS port of VNC?


I've heard of VNC, and it certainly seems like a very cool idea!!!

Once we get a TCP/IP stack we shall look at it some more :-)



PS:
Quote
if I throw some spare custom chips on top of my PC ... will it work then?   :lol:


Sure why not  :-?   :-P   :-D  :lol:

Offline Terminills

Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #12 on: June 20, 2003, 03:58:58 PM »
VNC is great I use it to control the various machines I use without needing anymore keyboards, mouse errr mice? or monitors etc... Also it's free.
Support AROS sponsor a developer.

edited by mod: this has been addressed
 

Offline XDelusion

Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #13 on: June 20, 2003, 04:59:37 PM »
Oh well, I guess there is always UAE for AROS. :)
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: AROS enlighten me
« Reply #14 on: June 20, 2003, 05:00:58 PM »
Quote

XDelusion wrote:
Oh well, I guess there is always UAE for AROS. :)


There is indeed :-)