Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: ATX PSU with Amiga schematic  (Read 4975 times)

Description:

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline motorollinTopic starter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2005
  • Posts: 8669
    • Show only replies by motorollin
Re: ATX PSU with Amiga schematic
« Reply #14 from previous page: December 05, 2005, 07:08:56 PM »
Can you elaborate, I'm not sure I understand what you mean  :-)

--
moto
Code: [Select]
10  IT\'S THE FINAL COUNTDOWN
20  FOR C = 1 TO 2
30     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA
40     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAAA
50  NEXT C
60  NA-NA-NAAAA
70  NA-NA NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA NAAA-NAAAAAAAAAAA
80  GOTO 10
 

Offline prismra

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2005
  • Posts: 35
    • Show only replies by prismra
Re: ATX PSU with Amiga schematic
« Reply #15 on: December 05, 2005, 07:12:29 PM »
Well aren't there converter that allow you to use UK powered devices on a US wall plug?
 

Offline motorollinTopic starter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2005
  • Posts: 8669
    • Show only replies by motorollin
Re: ATX PSU with Amiga schematic
« Reply #16 on: December 05, 2005, 07:21:18 PM »
Yes you could use an inverter which would take a 110v suppply from a US outlet and supply 220v. Then you could connect a UK Amiga PSU to the 220v supply.

--
moto
Code: [Select]
10  IT\'S THE FINAL COUNTDOWN
20  FOR C = 1 TO 2
30     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA
40     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAAA
50  NEXT C
60  NA-NA-NAAAA
70  NA-NA NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA NAAA-NAAAAAAAAAAA
80  GOTO 10
 

Offline prismra

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2005
  • Posts: 35
    • Show only replies by prismra
Re: ATX PSU with Amiga schematic
« Reply #17 on: December 05, 2005, 08:47:40 PM »
Will I have any issues with a PAL motherboard.  I'm never going to connect it to a TV (I don't think).  Probably going to track down a 1084 Commodore monitor so...
 

Offline delshay

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2004
  • Posts: 1009
    • Show only replies by delshay
Re: ATX PSU with Amiga schematic
« Reply #18 on: December 05, 2005, 08:58:16 PM »
iv added a rocker switch to my a1200 desktop.

one wire goes to earth ( inside the a1200 ) & a single wire comes out & goes to the power on ( green wire )..

this is great as i can reset/turn on my a1200 without breaking my back..
-------------
power is nothing without control
 

Offline motorollinTopic starter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2005
  • Posts: 8669
    • Show only replies by motorollin
Re: ATX PSU with Amiga schematic
« Reply #19 on: December 05, 2005, 09:06:13 PM »
Quote

prismra wrote:
Will I have any issues with a PAL motherboard.  I'm never going to connect it to a TV (I don't think).  Probably going to track down a 1084 Commodore monitor so...

Hmmm I'm not sure to be honest. I don't know anything about the 1084. A google search may reveal whether it can display pal screenmodes. Is there a reason you're using a PAL Amiga? Why not NTSC?

--
moto
Code: [Select]
10  IT\'S THE FINAL COUNTDOWN
20  FOR C = 1 TO 2
30     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA
40     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAAA
50  NEXT C
60  NA-NA-NAAAA
70  NA-NA NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA NAAA-NAAAAAAAAAAA
80  GOTO 10
 

Offline prismra

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2005
  • Posts: 35
    • Show only replies by prismra
Re: ATX PSU with Amiga schematic
« Reply #20 on: December 05, 2005, 09:23:47 PM »
I may be able to get one on the cheap.  So that may be how I'm going to do it.

The two problems I have are:

What monitor to get (no 'new' VGA monitor supports 15khz.)

Where to get a god damn 110v power supply.

Grrrr.
 

Offline motorollinTopic starter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2005
  • Posts: 8669
    • Show only replies by motorollin
Re: ATX PSU with Amiga schematic
« Reply #21 on: December 05, 2005, 09:48:23 PM »
I've had a look on eBay and can't find any 110v PSUs. Your best bet would probably be to get an inverter from RS or a local hardware store, and then you can use any 220v PSU.

Also, I've discovered that 1084s come in PAL and NTSC flavours, so you would need to get the correct one for your Amiga. The cheaper alternative would be to use a TV. The best, but probably most expensive option is to get a scandoubler and use a VGA monitor.

--
moto
Code: [Select]
10  IT\'S THE FINAL COUNTDOWN
20  FOR C = 1 TO 2
30     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA
40     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAAA
50  NEXT C
60  NA-NA-NAAAA
70  NA-NA NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA NAAA-NAAAAAAAAAAA
80  GOTO 10