Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: How to initialize/test Amiga 1020 drive?  (Read 1933 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dragster

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2002
  • Posts: 1000
  • Country: mx
  • Total likes: 0
  • Gender: Male
How to initialize/test Amiga 1020 drive?
« on: September 25, 2004, 11:58:13 PM »
Hi!!! :)

I just got an Amiga 1020 5" 1/4 drive, I've been trying to test it or see it in the amiga os but no luck. Is there a way to test it? I do not see it in the early startup as df1: (connected it to my amiga 4000), the diskchange command says there's no such device, etc... any ideas or somebody experienced with these drives who can give me a hand?

Thanks!

D.
Amiga 1200T 603/240, 060/50, SCSI II, Plextor 40/12/40S SCSI CDRW, Plextor 40X SCSI CDROM, Fujitsu 36GB 10KRPM SCSI HD, Pioneer 305S SCSI DVD, BVisionPPC, 256 MB FASTRAM, PowerFlyer EIDE, Scandex external scandoubler, ZIV busboard, Algor USB, Wireless, repulse audio...Peg II Quadruple boot: OS4.1FE/MorphOS 3.9 regged, OpenSUSE11.1 & Debian Squeeze, Powerbook G4 1139 MorphOS3.9, A4000D CSPPC/PIV/DENEB OS3.9/4.1FE, A4000T CSPPC/CVPPC/SCSI, etc.. 2
 

Offline Jiffy

Re: How to initialize/test Amiga 1020 drive?
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2004, 10:36:51 AM »
I seem to remember this drivetype had to be mounted first in order to be used.

I also remember something about it being able to hold only 440 KB per disk or something like that. Not entirely sure about that, though.

Never had such a beast myself.
Life sucks. Then you die. Then they throw mud in your face. Then you get eaten by worms. Be happy it happens in that order... My Amiga 1200
 

Offline Dragster

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2002
  • Posts: 1000
  • Country: mx
  • Total likes: 0
  • Gender: Male
Re: How to initialize/test Amiga 1020 drive?
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2005, 07:46:51 AM »
Bringing this old topic back to life..

does anyone have a mount list to mount this drive? Come on, somebody outhere must have experience with 1020 drives :-)

I'm having a hard time trying to make AmigaOS recognize this drive and to format a disk..

Cheers!

D.
Amiga 1200T 603/240, 060/50, SCSI II, Plextor 40/12/40S SCSI CDRW, Plextor 40X SCSI CDROM, Fujitsu 36GB 10KRPM SCSI HD, Pioneer 305S SCSI DVD, BVisionPPC, 256 MB FASTRAM, PowerFlyer EIDE, Scandex external scandoubler, ZIV busboard, Algor USB, Wireless, repulse audio...Peg II Quadruple boot: OS4.1FE/MorphOS 3.9 regged, OpenSUSE11.1 & Debian Squeeze, Powerbook G4 1139 MorphOS3.9, A4000D CSPPC/PIV/DENEB OS3.9/4.1FE, A4000T CSPPC/CVPPC/SCSI, etc.. 2
 

Offline bigdan

Re: How to initialize/test Amiga 1020 drive?
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2005, 10:40:23 AM »
Dragster : The A1020 is a 40 track drive (the Amigaos system automounts all 80 track drives, either 3"1/2 or 5"1/4). So you will have to write a mountlist like in earlier days of WB1.2/1.3 ! I'll suggest you simply check and adapt the mountlist file in Devs: directory on a WB1.3 (or 1.2) disk...

Mountlist sample (1.3 style)
Code: [Select]

/* Mount a 5.25" disk drive to be mounted as DF1: */

DF1:       Device = trackdisk.device
           Unit   = 1 /* first external unit */
           Flags  = 1 /* important ! */
           Surfaces  = 2
           BlocksPerTrack = 11
           Reserved = 2
           Interleave = 0
           LowCyl = 0  ;  HighCyl = 39
           Buffers = 20
           BufMemType = 1 /* or 3 if you run OS 1.x */
#

Dosdriver form (2.x/3.x style)
Code: [Select]

           Device = trackdisk.device
           Unit   = 1 /* first external unit */
           Flags  = 1 /* important ! */
           Surfaces  = 2
           BlocksPerTrack = 11
           Reserved = 2
           Interleave = 0
           LowCyl = 0  ;  HighCyl = 39
           Buffers = 20
           BufMemType = 1 /* or 3 if you run OS 1.x */

Simply save it as DF1 (or A1020 if you prefer) in your Dosdrivers directory (generally in Sys:storage). Open a shell and try mount df1: (or A1020:) !

According to (french programmer) Etienne Vogt, the important thing is to set Flags=1 (tells the trackdisk.device that you really want to mount a 40 track drive, else it will ignore it)

You could also try to mount 360 Kb MS-DOS disks with something like (to save as PC1 dosdriver or A1020PC for example):

Code: [Select]

FileSystem      = L:CrossDOSFileSystem
Device          = mfm.device
Unit            = 1 /* first external unit */
Flags           = 1
Surfaces        = 2
BlocksPerTrack  = 9
Reserved        = 1
Interleave      = 0
LowCyl          = 0
HighCyl         = 39
Buffers         = 20
BufMemType      = 1 /* or 3 if you run OS 1.x */
StackSize       = 600
Priority        = 5
BufMemType      = 0
StackSize       = 600
Priority        = 5
GlobVec         = -1
DosType         = 0x4D534400
Mount           = 1


Another thing : your A1020 had an external power ?
www.amigaimpact.org the fresh french news for Amiga and Pegasos !
 

Offline Dragster

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2002
  • Posts: 1000
  • Country: mx
  • Total likes: 0
  • Gender: Male
Re: How to initialize/test Amiga 1020 drive?
« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2005, 04:37:07 AM »
@Bigdan

Hi m8! Thanks for the information. It worked! At least know I know the drive is not faulty, I was starting to believe that, fortunately everything's ok.

Now if I could only read/write Commodore64 disks with it.. but I'm told it's impossible. Can you confirm that? ;)

Another thing I noticed.. I could only format a double density disk.. I tried with a high density disk and the drive can't format it.. even my C64's 1571 can't format them.. wonder why.. that procedure works with HD 3.5" floppies  on the amiga...

thanks for the information,

cheers!

D.

Amiga 1200T 603/240, 060/50, SCSI II, Plextor 40/12/40S SCSI CDRW, Plextor 40X SCSI CDROM, Fujitsu 36GB 10KRPM SCSI HD, Pioneer 305S SCSI DVD, BVisionPPC, 256 MB FASTRAM, PowerFlyer EIDE, Scandex external scandoubler, ZIV busboard, Algor USB, Wireless, repulse audio...Peg II Quadruple boot: OS4.1FE/MorphOS 3.9 regged, OpenSUSE11.1 & Debian Squeeze, Powerbook G4 1139 MorphOS3.9, A4000D CSPPC/PIV/DENEB OS3.9/4.1FE, A4000T CSPPC/CVPPC/SCSI, etc.. 2
 

Offline TjLaZer

Re: How to initialize/test Amiga 1020 drive?
« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2005, 04:52:54 AM »
You cannot write C64 disks but you can read a disk to a D64 image!  See 1541 on Aminet.  You can read/write Atari 800 disk images though!  See 551Conv on Aminet! :P

The Amiga 1020 drive looks EXACTLY like a Commodore 1571 drive!  Thus no External PS!  It is internal.
Going Bananas over AMIGAs since 1987...

Looking for Fusion Fourty PNG ROMs V3.4?

:flame: :banana: :banana: :banana:
 

Offline bigdan

Re: How to initialize/test Amiga 1020 drive?
« Reply #6 on: May 23, 2005, 06:02:45 PM »
The old "Disk2Disk" program from Central Coast Software allows reading C64 disks (1541 and 1571 format diskettes) on the 1020.

As TjLazer said, same thing with th excellent 1541 on aminet/misc/emu

There also has many hacks to plug 1541/1571 drives on Amiga (generally via // port).



Personally, i select the Catweasel MK4 solution (robust and modern) to use with my Pegasos and PeeCee !
www.amigaimpact.org the fresh french news for Amiga and Pegasos !
 

Offline patrik

Re: How to initialize/test Amiga 1020 drive?
« Reply #7 on: May 23, 2005, 06:47:05 PM »
@Dragster:

Per default the first external drive on an A4000 appears as DF2:.


/Patrik
 

Offline TjLaZer

Re: How to initialize/test Amiga 1020 drive?
« Reply #8 on: May 23, 2005, 07:21:35 PM »
Grab 1541 and also the 1541 GUI!  Guess who did the GUI?



Going Bananas over AMIGAs since 1987...

Looking for Fusion Fourty PNG ROMs V3.4?

:flame: :banana: :banana: :banana:
 

Offline Dragster

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2002
  • Posts: 1000
  • Country: mx
  • Total likes: 0
  • Gender: Male
Re: How to initialize/test Amiga 1020 drive?
« Reply #9 on: May 23, 2005, 07:25:36 PM »
@Patrik

hehe.. thanks for the clarification.. :-) I'm kinda "new" to the A4k.. I've been always an A500/A1200 guy.. hehe

cheers,

D.
Amiga 1200T 603/240, 060/50, SCSI II, Plextor 40/12/40S SCSI CDRW, Plextor 40X SCSI CDROM, Fujitsu 36GB 10KRPM SCSI HD, Pioneer 305S SCSI DVD, BVisionPPC, 256 MB FASTRAM, PowerFlyer EIDE, Scandex external scandoubler, ZIV busboard, Algor USB, Wireless, repulse audio...Peg II Quadruple boot: OS4.1FE/MorphOS 3.9 regged, OpenSUSE11.1 & Debian Squeeze, Powerbook G4 1139 MorphOS3.9, A4000D CSPPC/PIV/DENEB OS3.9/4.1FE, A4000T CSPPC/CVPPC/SCSI, etc.. 2
 

Offline Dragster

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2002
  • Posts: 1000
  • Country: mx
  • Total likes: 0
  • Gender: Male
Re: How to initialize/test Amiga 1020 drive?
« Reply #10 on: May 24, 2005, 03:50:22 PM »
Thanks for the information, @Tj and @Bigdan

I tried 1541 from aminet last night just to find that I have to change the speed of my A1020 drive in order to make working .d64 images out of real C64 floppies.. it doesn't seem too risky, but I don't wanna touch the drive. I guess I'll better connect my 1571 to the Amiga to make the .d64 images...

Cheers!

D.
Amiga 1200T 603/240, 060/50, SCSI II, Plextor 40/12/40S SCSI CDRW, Plextor 40X SCSI CDROM, Fujitsu 36GB 10KRPM SCSI HD, Pioneer 305S SCSI DVD, BVisionPPC, 256 MB FASTRAM, PowerFlyer EIDE, Scandex external scandoubler, ZIV busboard, Algor USB, Wireless, repulse audio...Peg II Quadruple boot: OS4.1FE/MorphOS 3.9 regged, OpenSUSE11.1 & Debian Squeeze, Powerbook G4 1139 MorphOS3.9, A4000D CSPPC/PIV/DENEB OS3.9/4.1FE, A4000T CSPPC/CVPPC/SCSI, etc.. 2