Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Amiga Library C Programming Reference Guide??  (Read 3561 times)

Description:

Offline DavidF215Topic starter

• Show only replies by DavidF215
    • Cross Timbers Haven
Amiga Library C Programming Reference Guide??
« on: June 10, 2003, 08:24:42 AM »
Is there a modern Amiga library C programming guide? I'm somewhat new to Amiga C development, so I would like to have a book, ebook, or website that pertains to Amiga C development. I created a game in Blitz2 on my A1200, and I know C/C++ fairly well. I've done some C++ GUI and OpenGL programming on BeOS, some Crystal Space 3D on Linux, and a limited amount of MS-Windows programming. I am not interested in non-C languages, I know about Blitz2/2000 et al, but I'm wanting C.

I have found the "Amiga C Encyclopedia" on Aminet, but it discusses 2.x programming. Any reference materials that cover something newer than 2.x?  I would like at least a guide to 3.0, but newer would be even better. Are there any major differences in programming 2.x and 3.x Amiga libraries or between 2.x and 4.0? Any newer (better) libraries for 3.x  or 4.0 that replace older Amiga libraries such as intuition.h, graphics.h, sound.h, etc.?

Which Amiga API's would be best to learn for 3.9/4.0+? For 3D API I guess CyberGraphX and Warp3D, maybe? What about MESA? Want something that's quick and easy yet has fast rendering. New libraries for Input devices? Any good reference guides for such libraries? By a good reference guide I mean organized by function groups and small example code.

Also, what API's work with both AmigaOS 3.x/4.0 and MorphOS with little (or preferably no) modifications?

I currently have SAS/C v6.50 installed on my A1200 and a copy of StormC 3.0 in Amithlon. Which would be better for 3.x/4.0 development? Or should I get another compiler, and if so, then which one and why? I don't have a PPC card in the A1200, just an 030 accelerator without an FPU.