Amiga.org

Amiga computer related discussion => Amiga Software Issues and Discussion => Topic started by: Acill on December 22, 2015, 04:12:41 PM

Title: Help: Poseidon 4.5 MUI Stack Error
Post by: Acill on December 22, 2015, 04:12:41 PM
When I installed Poseidon 4.5 on my A4000T with 3.9 BB1 and BB2 and MUI 3.9 I got a stack error from the MUI stack check at boot up. The first one was for Trident telling me the 8k was to low and it recommended 32400. So I went into prefs and took care of that in the icon information.

The 2nd one was for the Poseidon PopUp Notification App called (PoPO) which I have been combing through my system to find!!!! I cant locate this anywhere and I cant get my USB working and suspect its related to the warning.

Can anyone please tell me where to change the stack size for this Poseidon PoPo thing?
Title: Re: Help: Poseidon 4.5 MUI Stack Error
Post by: mechy on December 22, 2015, 07:56:21 PM
Quote from: Acill;800578
When I installed Poseidon 4.5 on my A4000T with 3.9 BB1 and BB2 and MUI 3.9 I got a stack error from the MUI stack check at boot up. The first one was for Trident telling me the 8k was to low and it recommended 32400. So I went into prefs and took care of that in the icon information.

The 2nd one was for the Poseidon PopUp Notification App called (PoPO) which I have been combing through my system to find!!!! I cant locate this anywhere and I cant get my USB working and suspect its related to the warning.

Can anyone please tell me where to change the stack size for this Poseidon PoPo thing?

I thought this was part of the main stack program, its what pops up alerts. I think you can adjust it in the main program prefs,but unfortunately i cant help other than that. i had a few odd things happen with 4.5 so i dropped back to 4.4 and all is smooth.
Title: Re: Help: Poseidon 4.5 MUI Stack Error
Post by: Acill on December 22, 2015, 08:10:49 PM
I haven't even tried 4.4 but have it now. Can I just install it over 4.5 to replace it?
Title: Re: Help: Poseidon 4.5 MUI Stack Error
Post by: Oldsmobile_Mike on December 22, 2015, 10:23:24 PM
I have Poseidon 4.5.  From what I recall I updated from 4.4 when I got my RapidRoad.  It wasn't much of a change, just a few classes and hardware drivers, more than anything, from what I recall.

For what it's worth, PoPo is started by PsdStackloader

Specifically, the command should be in your S:User-Startup file, as:

Code: [Select]
ENVARC:PsdStackloader
I confirm that commenting that command out kills the "PoPo" commodity on reboot.

I swear there was a setting for stack size somewhere within Prefs:Trident preferences program, but I'll be damned if I can find that now.

Will try to poke around a little more for you but am buried at work right now.  In any case, I wouldn't recommend rolling back to 4.4 - 4.5 does work!  ;)
Title: Re: Help: Poseidon 4.5 MUI Stack Error
Post by: Oldsmobile_Mike on December 22, 2015, 10:28:20 PM
Side thought - if you get the error message again can you take a screenshot?  Maybe that would help someone else identify where it was coming from?
Title: Re: Help: Poseidon 4.5 MUI Stack Error
Post by: Acill on December 22, 2015, 10:34:51 PM
Can try later yup.  Can do file uploads at work. Its an MUI error though. Specifically it reads:

MUI application "PoPo -- Poseidon Popup Provider"

The stack size of 8192 bytes is lower than the
recommended minimum size of 32000 bytes.
Please raise the stack size to at least 32000 bytes,
otherwise the application might crash unexpectedly.

Continue nevertheless                            Exit immediately
Title: Re: Help: Poseidon 4.5 MUI Stack Error
Post by: Oldsmobile_Mike on December 22, 2015, 11:31:39 PM
Where did you get MUI 3.9?  I use a heavily updated 3.8 on my classics, and I think there's a 4.0 for MorphOS and maybe OS4.  I heard there was a 4.0 for classics but that it was unstable as h*** and had obscenely high system requirements.  I think 3.9 was just a beta.

I'd roll it back to stock 3.8 (http://aminet.net/package/util/libs/mui38usr) if possible, then if it works you can update the individual pieces later.

Edit:  I don't think your application is compatible with 3.9:  https://muidev.de/ticket/123
Title: Re: Help: Poseidon 4.5 MUI Stack Error
Post by: Acill on December 23, 2015, 01:34:09 AM
You can get 3.9 from the MUI dev site. Its here: https://muidev.de/downloads

Here is the screen shot as well.
Title: Re: Help: Poseidon 4.5 MUI Stack Error
Post by: Oldsmobile_Mike on December 23, 2015, 03:04:01 AM
Roll back to 3.8.  I bet your problem will disappear.  ;)
Title: Re: Help: Poseidon 4.5 MUI Stack Error
Post by: Oldsmobile_Mike on December 23, 2015, 07:06:00 AM
Well hey, check this out:

http://aminet.net/package/util/boot/ShellUpdate

Just showed up on Aminet.  Do I think it will help you?  Probably not, but being as it's to correct bugs in stack size, it couldn't hurt.  ;)

And thanks, THoR!  :D
Title: Re: Help: Poseidon 4.5 MUI Stack Error
Post by: Geit on December 23, 2015, 08:50:29 AM
Popo ist a runtime created component in Poseidon. If you want to disable go to "poseidon settings (Trident)" and select "PopUps".  

There you can disable and modify the requesters as well as the audio output for usb connect/disconnect.

Disabling "PSDStackloader" of course disables the Popo stuff, because it disables the entire Poseidon USB Stack.
Title: Re: Help: Poseidon 4.5 MUI Stack Error
Post by: Oldsmobile_Mike on December 23, 2015, 10:26:13 AM
Quote from: Geit;800635
Popo ist a runtime created component in Poseidon. If you want to disable go to "poseidon settings (Trident)" and select "PopUps".  

There you can disable and modify the requesters as well as the audio output for usb connect/disconnect.

Disabling "PSDStackloader" of course disables the Popo stuff, because it disables the entire Poseidon USB Stack.

Yes. Point was that there's no separate executable for PoPo. No separate icon to adjust it's stack size. And unless I didn't look far enough, no option in Trident prefs, either. The amount of stack is hard-coded into the runtime with no option to change.

Still sticking with my previous suggestion: MUI 3.9 is a memory hog (as mentioned in the muidev link).  Try going back to 3.8 and see if that helps. ;)
Title: Re: Help: Poseidon 4.5 MUI Stack Error
Post by: Acill on December 23, 2015, 02:59:03 PM
I ended up using MinStack and setting it in my startup to 32400. Seems to have done the trick. I have USB working now as well. Although if I boot with anything in the USB ports my system will come up to workbench fine for about a half second and reboot by itself. If I take out all USB items it works fine and I can put my mouse or flash dive back in and all is well.

Strange stuff. As for MUI I need some help figuring out how to remove 3.9 so I can put in 3.8 because the 3.8 installer will tell you it has a more recent version installed.
Title: Re: Help: Poseidon 4.5 MUI Stack Error
Post by: mechy on December 23, 2015, 03:53:31 PM
Quote from: Acill;800658
I ended up using MinStack and setting it in my startup to 32400. Seems to have done the trick. I have USB working now as well. Although if I boot with anything in the USB ports my system will come up to workbench fine for about a half second and reboot by itself. If I take out all USB items it works fine and I can put my mouse or flash dive back in and all is well.

Strange stuff. As for MUI I need some help figuring out how to remove 3.9 so I can put in 3.8 because the 3.8 installer will tell you it has a more recent version installed.

remove all the mui assigns in s:user-startup,reboot then delete the mui drawer.
that should allow you to do a fresh 3.8 install.
Title: Re: Help: Poseidon 4.5 MUI Stack Error
Post by: Ancalimon on January 14, 2017, 12:21:56 AM
I have encountered the same problem but I have inserted poseidon stack into my blizkick line (so it's inside my rom). What do you suggest to fix this problem?

I am using psdstackloader as a blizkick module. I wonder if there is a stack command that works inside blizkick and only for one file.
Title: Re: Help: Poseidon 4.5 MUI Stack Error
Post by: Ancalimon on July 16, 2020, 10:46:37 PM
still having this problem :(
Title: Re: Help: Poseidon 4.5 MUI Stack Error
Post by: Dynamic_Computing on July 18, 2020, 02:34:56 AM
Wow... Resurrected after nearly four years! Are you having the same issues with the stack as the original poster, or other problems with the USB stack. I read in your post something about Blizkick, but was not sure what that had to do with your USB stack

There certainly are programs that adjust the stack size. I use Stackattack myself, and set the stack to 32K. Works great for me.

http://aminet.net/package/util/boot/StackAttack2
Title: Re: Help: Poseidon 4.5 MUI Stack Error
Post by: nbache on July 18, 2020, 11:31:07 AM
@Dynamic_Computing:

I think you might be confusing two meanings of the term "stack".

The "USB stack" means the suite of programs/drivers which implement the USB protocols. The same term is often used in the expresseion "TCP/IP stack", among others.

The stack you are referring to seems to be the program stack, which is the area a program uses to store local variables and return addresses while running.

Best regards,

Niels
Title: Re: Help: Poseidon 4.5 MUI Stack Error
Post by: Dynamic_Computing on July 18, 2020, 05:38:16 PM
Not confused. The Poseidon software requires a very large stack to run, and will error out if it does not have it. 32K is best. You can set the stack size by adjusting the setting in it's Icon, but that does not help when it launches at boot time. Using a utility like I mentioned allows you to set the stack for every program, or for specific program, right from the Startup Sequence.
Title: Re: Help: Poseidon 4.5 MUI Stack Error
Post by: nbache on July 18, 2020, 10:53:57 PM
I stand corrected.

I seem to have been misled by the words "USB stack". I guess those actually referred to the stack of the USB stack, then?

Sorry :-)

Best regards,

Niels
Title: Re: Help: Poseidon 4.5 MUI Stack Error
Post by: Ancalimon on July 19, 2020, 10:48:35 AM
Wow... Resurrected after nearly four years! Are you having the same issues with the stack as the original poster, or other problems with the USB stack. I read in your post something about Blizkick, but was not sure what that had to do with your USB stack

There certainly are programs that adjust the stack size. I use Stackattack myself, and set the stack to 32K. Works great for me.

http://aminet.net/package/util/boot/StackAttack2

I already use stackattack2.  I use blizkick to make usb stack resident in ROM allowing me to have usb ports after first reboot even in AmigaOS Boot menu (the one you get with holding two mouse buttons), so that I can boot from usb or use usb mouse, etc.

Unfortunately stackattack does not work for popo. I do not know how to set stack size for poseidon when its kicked into kickstart using blizkick.
Title: Re: Help: Poseidon 4.5 MUI Stack Error
Post by: sandpiper on July 19, 2020, 02:03:58 PM
Interesting thread. I have been experiencing the same head scratching issue with PoPo for several years now with an A2000, Blizzard2060 and Deneb. I had moved the Poseidon USB stack to the Deneb ROM and I have been receiving the same PoPo insufficient stack messages at boot-up.  Seeing this thread, I installed StackAttack and it has now resolved the issue. Thank you. I checked the stack size for the PoPo task after boot-up and it is now 65k.

Here is what I have inserted right at the top of my startup-sequence, as it may help:

PsdLoadModule DEVS:Input.device QUIET ;first line of startup-sequence
C:SetPatch NOROMUPDATE QUIET
C:StackAttack AUTO

Title: Re: Help: Poseidon 4.5 MUI Stack Error
Post by: Ancalimon on July 28, 2020, 07:34:19 PM
Interesting thread. I have been experiencing the same head scratching issue with PoPo for several years now with an A2000, Blizzard2060 and Deneb. I had moved the Poseidon USB stack to the Deneb ROM and I have been receiving the same PoPo insufficient stack messages at boot-up.  Seeing this thread, I installed StackAttack and it has now resolved the issue. Thank you. I checked the stack size for the PoPo task after boot-up and it is now 65k.

Here is what I have inserted right at the top of my startup-sequence, as it may help:

PsdLoadModule DEVS:Input.device QUIET ;first line of startup-sequence
C:SetPatch NOROMUPDATE QUIET
C:StackAttack AUTO

But I do not have deneb and I need to use blizkick for updating rom modules and not psdloadmodule.