Amiga.org

Amiga computer related discussion => General chat about Amiga topics => Topic started by: redrumloa on August 21, 2003, 11:16:33 PM

Title: EULA issue round #2, Emulation installation.
Post by: redrumloa on August 21, 2003, 11:16:33 PM
I was right, this whole thing is getting more weird. I see the EULA, but I also see this.

(http://anachronismindustries.com/redrumloa/os39icon.jpg)

This OS3.9 CD was purchased well before Amithlon was much more than a sparkle in Bernie's eye.
Title: Re: EULA issue round #2, Emulation installation.
Post by: iamaboringperson on August 21, 2003, 11:20:25 PM
Now that *is* strange...

Title: Re: EULA issue round #2, Emulation installation.
Post by: bhoggett on August 21, 2003, 11:28:45 PM
@red

I believe you - it's just that my copy of OS 3.9 most certainly doest not have that option.

It is possible that H&P at some point released some  edition with a special emulation installation script (the standard script would hang when trying to access one of the custom registers in playing a sound), but my copy - which is original - has no such script.
Title: Re: EULA issue round #2, Emulation installation.
Post by: Wolfe on August 21, 2003, 11:29:02 PM
 :roflmao:

EULA what?  This topic is irrelevant ! But Humourous !  :-D
Title: Re: EULA issue round #2, Emulation installation.
Post by: iamaboringperson on August 21, 2003, 11:33:33 PM
Quote
This topic is irrelevant !
How is it irrelevant?  :-?
Title: Re: EULA issue round #2, Emulation installation.
Post by: MarkTime on August 22, 2003, 12:12:43 AM
Don't forget there were Amiga Branded PC's.

I don't mean the Commodore Colt, which was such a big flop that we remember it.

I mean the AmigaDE Developer systems....they were like K6-2/500's preloaded with linux and DE.

I wouldn't be surprised if the Emu thing was because they planned on running the OS in emulation...on Amiga branded pc's.  At one time, classic OS was being sold as a dead end.

An amiga branded box can be anything x86, powerpc, it just needs the amiga logo on it.
(not one you add yourself....)

but you could, enter into the grey area, by gutting a classic Amiga and setting in it your own motherboard.

Quite frankly, that is an Amiga branded box, legitimately.....and so someone could put their pegasos motherboard in a heavlie modified powermac 7500 case (with new powersupply of course).....

etc....

Title: Re: EULA issue round #2, Emulation installation.
Post by: downix on August 22, 2003, 12:18:48 AM
@MarkTime

Hey cool, so my A1000 come Pegasos is an Amiga box, tres cool!
Title: Re: EULA issue round #2, Emulation installation.
Post by: Dan on August 22, 2003, 12:25:51 AM
Quote

Wolfe wrote:
 :roflmao:

EULA what?  This topic is irrelevant ! But Humourous !  :-D

Not if you are a company or selfemployed and use amigas!
Title: Re: EULA issue round #2, Emulation installation.
Post by: BouncingAyatollah on August 22, 2003, 02:08:46 AM
For reference here's my CD, from Power Computing.

[img align=left]http://www.bouncingayatollah.co.uk/aorgimages/OS39grab.jpg[/img]
Title: Re: EULA issue round #2, Emulation installation.
Post by: Wolfe on August 22, 2003, 04:22:47 AM
Dan

Quote
Not if you are a company or selfemployed and use amigas!


 :-?   How so?
Title: Re: EULA issue round #2, Emulation installation.
Post by: Dan on August 22, 2003, 04:38:11 PM
Licensces are a big concern for companys.
If MS finds an unlicenced windowscopy expect to be up to your ears in lawyers.
Of course it isnĀ“t like Amiga DE Inc has money enough to sue  people all over the world :lol: