Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: AROS68K and the Freescale Coldfire CPU  (Read 13739 times)

Description:

Offline WolfToTheMoonTopic starter

• Show only replies by WolfToTheMoon
AROS68K and the Freescale Coldfire CPU
« on: January 16, 2011, 11:12:16 AM »
I've been following the Atari Firebee(Coldfire) project with great interest.

They seem to be close to delivering their promised product(for 599 euros which includes the 120 euros for the FPGA onboard which we would not need if the AGA would be used for legacy apps). The hardware phase is mostly over and now they're primarily busy with porting software.
As far as I can see, they have successfully managed to overcome the Coldfire 68K incompatibility with something they claim to be a "light compatibility layer".

Since AROS68K is open source(the Atari team has done some patching of the TOS source code). I'm no expert here and I'd be interested in some of the more knowledgeable members opinion, but I believe a similar process could be possible to enable full Coldfire compatibility for the AROS68K.

Why am I bringing this up? Well, the Coldfire v4 offers DDR RAM, has MMU, FPU and clocks at 266 MHZ(400 MIPS). It is also cheaper then 68060 and runs with very little power(3-5 W). For those not being able to buy what is probably going to be a very expensive NATAMI board, it might be a viable alternative to get significantly more performance out of AROS68K and their 68K systems. The Firebee can now run FireTOS at 1920x1080 resolution!!! :)

http://acp.atari.org/

Offline Piru

• \' union select name,pwd--
    • Show only replies by Piru
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: AROS68K and the Freescale Coldfire CPU
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2011, 11:22:12 AM »
It still won't run amiga 68k software so I don't see the point. Why not just use x86?

Offline psxphill

« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2011, 11:28:32 AM »
Quote from: WolfToTheMoon;607002