Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: BOOM 68k Port  (Read 11007 times)

Description:

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Crumb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 1786
  • Country: 00
    • Show only replies by Crumb
    • http://cuaz.sourceforge.net
Re: BOOM 68k Port
« Reply #29 on: May 17, 2012, 03:52:47 PM »
Quote from: NovaCoder;693373
This is what I'm currently working on -> AmiQuake, should be ready in a 2 weeks.


In some platforms like mips or arm they modified some fpu code to use integers so perhaps you could apply some speed up.
The only spanish amiga news web page/club: Club de Usuarios de Amiga de Zaragoza (CUAZ)
 

Offline dreamcast270mhz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: May 2009
  • Posts: 322
    • Show only replies by dreamcast270mhz
Re: BOOM 68k Port
« Reply #30 on: May 17, 2012, 06:12:50 PM »
I wonder.... can it run on Amithlon?
My machines:
PowerMac G4 MDD 1.5ghz 1.25GB 10.5.8 & MOS 2.7
Mac Mini C2D 10.6.8 2GHz 3GB 250GB HDD
MacBook Retina 16GB 256GB SSD 10.8
iPad 2
Underground Gamer invites (a classic game site) PM

Need a part for a PC or Mac? PM me, I\'ll let you know if I come across it.

OS X trumps Windows on every level.

MorphOS, OS4 and Classic Amiga systems are the only ones who are real \'Amigas\', not that joke AROS or Amiga Forever.
 

Offline XDelusion

  • Alien Breeder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 5089
    • Show only replies by XDelusion
    • http://starwarslegacy.net/
Re: BOOM 68k Port
« Reply #31 on: May 17, 2012, 06:27:40 PM »
When I tried it under AmithlOn, nothing happened when I double clicked the icon. I then tried it via command line and it acted as if I never typed a command at all.

An Amithlon specific port of this for PrBoom Plus would be nice though.
« Last Edit: May 17, 2012, 11:23:28 PM by XDelusion »
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
 

Offline fishy_fiz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2005
  • Posts: 1813
    • Show only replies by fishy_fiz
Re: BOOM 68k Port
« Reply #32 on: May 18, 2012, 03:40:28 AM »
You need to have the wad files in the same directory. I encountered the same thing.
I cant seem to get mods to work though, or any command line arguements, and it crashes almost as soon as it launches. Also it only displays the image in top half of the screen a bit squashed (I think its trying to use one of my weird, designed for mame p96 screenmodes).

Any pointers would be appreciated.

@XDelusion

Glad my ab3d mod idea stuck. I cant seem to shake it either.
Any recommendations for editors and whatnot? I'd like to do the whole thing from my amiga and/or amithlon box though, which limits me to amiga tools, or DOS tools (for running inside pc task).
Near as I can tell this is where I write something under the guise of being innocuous, but really its a pot shot at another persons/peoples choice of Amiga based systems. Unfortunately only I cant see how transparent and petty it makes me look.
 

Offline NovaCoderTopic starter

Re: BOOM 68k Port
« Reply #33 on: May 18, 2012, 04:16:43 AM »
A couple of points.

1) Don't even try and launch it from the command line, this is a multi-tasking WB friendly application and can only be launched from the WB.  
2) Use the Icon's Tooltypes to specify locations of WAD files and the BEX files etc.  
3) There is currently a bug with the 060 C2P routines, do not specify 060  with an AGA display type (will be fixed with the next release)
4) The current AmiNet version of BOOM doesn't use P96 for RTG, it's coded as a native CyberGFX app for max speed
5) This game is only targeted at classic 68k, don't try to run it on any other 'Amiga like' platform and expect it to work properly ;)
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


Nice Ports on AmiNet!
 

Offline Crumb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 1786
  • Country: 00
    • Show only replies by Crumb
    • http://cuaz.sourceforge.net
Re: BOOM 68k Port
« Reply #34 on: May 18, 2012, 10:10:48 AM »
Quote from: NovaCoder;693466
A couple of points.

1) Don't even try and launch it from the command line, this is a multi-tasking WB friendly application and can only be launched from the WB.

OS-friendly apps should work correctly launched from CLI. Is the problem stack related? ADoom worked flawlessly launched from both CLI and WB.

Quote
2) Use the Icon's Tooltypes to specify locations of WAD files and the BEX files etc.

If you take code from ADoom you could make it override tooltype settings when CLI parameters are specified.

Quote
3) There is currently a bug with the 060 C2P routines, do not specify 060  with an AGA display type (will be fixed with the next release)
You could auto detect cpu type and use that functions unless user forces the app to use other cpu functions. It is easy, just use something like this:
ULONG detecta_cpu(void)
{

  if ((SysBase->AttnFlags & AFF_68060) != 0)
    cpu_type = 68060;
  else if ((SysBase->AttnFlags & AFF_68040) != 0)
    cpu_type = 68040;
  else if ((SysBase->AttnFlags & AFF_68030) != 0)
    cpu_type = 68030;
  else if ((SysBase->AttnFlags & AFF_68020) != 0)
    cpu_type = 68020;
  else if ((SysBase->AttnFlags & AFF_68010) != 0)
    cpu_type = 68010;
  else
    cpu_type = 68000;
  return(cpu_type);
}
ULONG detecta_fpu(void)
{
  if (SysBase->AttnFlags & AFF_FPU40)
    fpu_type = 68040;
  else
  if (SysBase->AttnFlags & AFF_68882)
    fpu_type = 68882;
  else
  if (SysBase->AttnFlags & AFF_68881)
    fpu_type = 68881;
  else fpu_type = 0;
  return(fpu_type);
}

Quote
4) The current AmiNet version of BOOM doesn't use P96 for RTG, it's coded as a native CyberGFX app for max speed
You won't gain a single fps removing p96 support.
Quote
5) This game is only targeted at classic 68k, don't try to run it on any other 'Amiga like' platform and expect it to work properly ;)

It should work as it's an OS-friendly multitasking game. It would be different if it didn't multitask and took over the machine for maximum speed, writting to chipram at 7MB/s perfectly synchronized with the screen refresh in the short while between a frame ends and the next one is shown (like many demos do), but it's not the case.
« Last Edit: May 18, 2012, 10:13:51 AM by Crumb »
The only spanish amiga news web page/club: Club de Usuarios de Amiga de Zaragoza (CUAZ)
 

Offline Abu the monkey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 23
    • Show only replies by Abu the monkey
Re: BOOM 68k Port
« Reply #35 on: May 18, 2012, 02:23:42 PM »
very nice... :)
 

Offline XDelusion

  • Alien Breeder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 5089
    • Show only replies by XDelusion
    • http://starwarslegacy.net/
Re: BOOM 68k Port
« Reply #36 on: May 18, 2012, 03:14:32 PM »
Quote from: fishy_fiz;693463
@XDelusion

Glad my ab3d mod idea stuck. I cant seem to shake it either.
Any recommendations for editors and whatnot? I'd like to do the whole thing from my amiga and/or amithlon box though, which limits me to amiga tools, or DOS tools (for running inside pc task).

If you want to do any DOOM editing in an Amiga related OS, you are going to be confined to DosBox running old archaic dos programs. Unless of course you update DosBOX for AROS at some point with your previous plans...

...then we may be able to run the old version of DOOM Builder inside Win98 lite.

Other than that I suggest these two windows programs.

DOOM Builder 2

http://www.doombuilder.com/

(I started mapping when DOOM editing was like using an old 80's CAD program. Editing within DOOM Builder 2 saves SOOOOO VERRRRRRYYYYY MUCH TIME!!!! Just watch the tutorials linked on the page, you'll see!!!!)

Slade

http://slade.mancubus.net/

(Slade is the most advanced tool in relation to editing DOOM resources files such as textures, sprites, sound files, audio files and so forth.)

If you insist upon running something inside Dosbox, well then you have... well just have a look here:

http://www.doomworld.com/classicdoom/utils/editors.php


For the note, some of the special tools made to take advantage of some of BOOM's features can only be run in DOS. This includes the tool to create new animated textures amongst others.
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
 

Offline Frags

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jun 2005
  • Posts: 89
    • Show only replies by Frags
Re: BOOM 68k Port
« Reply #37 on: May 18, 2012, 03:24:19 PM »
At the risk of sounding like a party-pooper, isn`t porting Quake and Doom a bit of a pointless exercise when we already have extremely well optimised 68K ports of both?
Not that it`s any of my business how you spend your pleasure time of course! :)

edit: I think I see now - you`re trying to accomodate the AB3DII assets right?
« Last Edit: May 18, 2012, 03:28:31 PM by Frags »
-insert clever profundity here-
 

Offline XDelusion

  • Alien Breeder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 5089
    • Show only replies by XDelusion
    • http://starwarslegacy.net/
Re: BOOM 68k Port
« Reply #38 on: May 18, 2012, 03:39:39 PM »
Quote from: Frags;693490
At the risk of sounding like a party-pooper, isn`t porting Quake and Doom a bit of a pointless exercise when we already have extremely well optimised 68K ports of both?
Not that it`s any of my business how you spend your pleasure time of course! :)

edit: I think I see now - you`re trying to accomodate the AB3DII assets right?

Optimizations. Think of BOOM as DOOM with a TON of bug fixes, mapping limitations removed and a ton of extra goodies...

http://doom.wikia.com/wiki/Boom

Flags:

http://www.doomworld.com/tutorials/boom5.php

Properties Transfer:

http://www.doomworld.com/tutorials/boom2.php

Advanced Teleports:

http://www.doomworld.com/tutorials/boom4.php

Ice, Mud, Wind Currents:

http://www.doomworld.com/tutorials/boom6.php

Scrolling Effects:

http://www.doomworld.com/tutorials/boom3.php

Advanced Elevators:

http://www.doomworld.com/tutorials/boom7.php

More Triggers:

http://www.doomworld.com/tutorials/boom8.php

Man's Best friend:

The ability to add drones to help the player fight enemies within the game, I.E. Gradius or Shadow Dancer.

The ability to add color schemes to your maps so it looks like some rooms are lit up in blue while others appear red, green, yellow, normal etc.

And so much more.

As for Alien Breed 3D II under BOOM...

...that's an idea of Fish's that him and I are currently tossing around in our heads. Boom was not ported to accommodate, but now that we have BOOM we want to do something Amiga centric with it.



BTW, what was the name of the Amiga based DOOM source port that allowed for Free Look?


Do you think code from that could be worked into your port of BOOM Nova?
« Last Edit: May 18, 2012, 03:52:54 PM by XDelusion »
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
 

Offline Frags

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jun 2005
  • Posts: 89
    • Show only replies by Frags
Re: BOOM 68k Port
« Reply #39 on: May 18, 2012, 03:45:00 PM »
Looks good, I`m going to give it a try on this here PC right now...

BTW, it was DoomAttack that had free look
-insert clever profundity here-
 

Offline XDelusion

  • Alien Breeder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 5089
    • Show only replies by XDelusion
    • http://starwarslegacy.net/
Re: BOOM 68k Port
« Reply #40 on: May 18, 2012, 03:52:11 PM »
Quote from: Frags;693493
Looks good, I`m going to give it a try on this here PC right now...

BTW, it was DoomAttack that had free look


I think you are correct, I do believe it was DOOM Attack...

man, if we could have that feature in the Amiga source port of BOOM!!!!

Well that would give the Amiga it's own original Source Port! ;)
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
 

Offline NovaCoderTopic starter

Re: BOOM 68k Port
« Reply #41 on: May 18, 2012, 11:39:49 PM »
Quote from: XDelusion;693495
I think you are correct, I do believe it was DOOM Attack...

man, if we could have that feature in the Amiga source port of BOOM!!!!


I'll have a look at implementing free-look in BOOM when I get the time, it shouldn't be too hard now that I have the DoomAttack source code.

BTW, the official BOOM thread lives here -> EAB BOOM Thread
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


Nice Ports on AmiNet!
 

Offline XDelusion

  • Alien Breeder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 5089
    • Show only replies by XDelusion
    • http://starwarslegacy.net/
Re: BOOM 68k Port
« Reply #42 on: May 19, 2012, 01:21:09 AM »
Quote from: NovaCoder;693530
I'll have a look at implementing free-look in BOOM when I get the time, it shouldn't be too hard now that I have the DoomAttack source code.

BTW, the official BOOM thread lives here -> EAB BOOM Thread


Groovy! That would do us a lot of justice if we take on this AB3DII TC.

Thanks for taking a look.
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs
 

Offline fishy_fiz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2005
  • Posts: 1813
    • Show only replies by fishy_fiz
Re: BOOM 68k Port
« Reply #43 on: May 19, 2012, 02:09:21 AM »
@XDelusion

Apart from Odamex, what would be the best option for this AB3d TC idea? While its nice to have Boom It doesnt sound like Novacoder has any interest in fixing it for RTG systems, which makes it kinda useless for me. I was thinking I might be better off porting/constructing something myself for AB3d:TC.
Near as I can tell this is where I write something under the guise of being innocuous, but really its a pot shot at another persons/peoples choice of Amiga based systems. Unfortunately only I cant see how transparent and petty it makes me look.
 

Offline XDelusion

  • Alien Breeder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 5089
    • Show only replies by XDelusion
    • http://starwarslegacy.net/
Re: BOOM 68k Port
« Reply #44 from previous page: May 19, 2012, 02:23:17 AM »
Quote from: fishy_fiz;693544
@XDelusion

Apart from Odamex, what would be the best option for this AB3d TC idea? While its nice to have Boom It doesnt sound like Novacoder has any interest in fixing it for RTG systems, which makes it kinda useless for me. I was thinking I might be better off porting/constructing something myself for AB3d:TC.

My first thought, and I think this would be the easiest choice would be to have a coder take Nova's code and begin a specialized version to support Picasso modes. This would also ensure compatability with classic hardware.

For a feature rich engine, I can't say enough for ZDOOM, though it uses the FMOD library for it's audio and FMOD's sources are under lock and key from what I understand. Booo!!!!! :/

Then there is ReMood, the spiritual successor to my old and first love, Doom Legacy. Though it's mow a one man project and not developing very fast.

What OS are you thinking of targeting Fish? I can keep going... ;)
« Last Edit: May 19, 2012, 02:29:58 AM by XDelusion »
Earth has a lot of things other folks might want... like the whole planet. And maybe these folks would like a few changes made, like more carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and room for their way of life. - William S. Burroughs