Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..  (Read 2826 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Steril707

So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« on: September 18, 2007, 01:25:09 PM »
and i am really surprised how good it already looks...

i am just getting back into the Amiga universe after a decadelong hiatus, and today i finally decided to give AROS a try after reading so much about over last few days of reading up stuff on the current Amiga scene.

some random thoughts of mine on this:

* You should really emphasize the fact that you can boot up the whole thing from cd, without the need of installing anything on a hd, as long as you don't try to save anything. My english is not the best, so i wasn't sure if i have to install anything on the harddrive of my PC to check it out, which would be a big no-no for me for just checking out an alternative OS.
This way probably a lot of people might give this a try who otherwise won't. This is a little bit like Knoppix, you can check out if you like it, and install later on (when everything's up to a state where it makes really sense).

Might give you some more public recognition.



* The "Workbench" looks fine so far. Still some tearing artifacts on the icons while moving the scrollbar, but i guess you are aware of this.


* Using CLI/Shell: i typed "endcli" to terminate the window, but instead the whole system started going down and booting up again. I wasn't sure if this behaviour is wanted or a known bug. It would also be nice to have "Ed" or any other editor starting up from within the shell, when being called.


So far, i really like what i have seen, and i am sure coming back for more.

Can you give me an estimate how many people are working on the various parts of AROS?

Thanks for all the work being done already,
Mike
Check out my free Vectrex homebrews on http://www.borrmann.in  :-)
 

Offline cv643d

Re: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2007, 02:50:45 PM »
(If only AROS had integrated Amiga emulation for 68k programs)

*wishing*
Amiga articles
"New shell. It was finished a while back, but I still see bugs, haha" - SSolie
 

Offline 4pLaY

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2002
  • Posts: 779
  • Country: no
  • Total likes: 5
  • Gender: Male
    • https://www.amigalife.org
Re: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2007, 02:52:54 PM »
Glad you liked it =) there is no set number of people working but there is a few working from time to time.... people working on the core OS itself is probably around a handfull at top at any given month wich is why we are always looking for more people to help out.

Offline Steril707

Re: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2007, 03:17:41 PM »
Is there a site explaining the "core mechanics" of developing for AROS? I mean, stuff like, which language do you use ( guess C), how do you compile and integrate stuff into the system, etc.

I have been doing ASM (6502, 6809, 68k) and C/C++ for a long time, but at the moment contributing something to AROS looks like a big mountain in front of me.

So, is there an "101 on AROS development" existing?   :-)




Edit: I guess i found it:

http://aros.sourceforge.net/documentation/developers/compiling.php

and subpages...

Good !!!  :-)
Check out my free Vectrex homebrews on http://www.borrmann.in  :-)
 

Offline Mazze

Re: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2007, 06:41:17 PM »
Quote

cv643d wrote:
(If only AROS had integrated Amiga emulation for 68k programs)

*wishing*


This is the most wanted feature for AROS. Problem is that a Big-Endian emulator can't be easily implemented on a Little-Endian system.

What should be possible is a better integration of (E)UAE. This means networking, Picasso96 support etc.

Offline Mazze

Re: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2007, 06:51:03 PM »
Quote

Steril707 wrote:

* Using CLI/Shell: i typed "endcli" to terminate the window, but instead the whole system started going down and booting up again. I wasn't sure if this behaviour is wanted or a known bug. It would also be nice to have "Ed" or any other editor starting up from within the shell, when being called.


This is an unknown and unwanted bug. At least I wasn't aware of it. BWT: You can report bugs at AROS' Bug Tracker.

AROS has a simple editor. Just type "editor" in a shell or start "system/tools/editor".

Quote

Can you give me an estimate how many people are working on the various parts of AROS?


There are about 5 people developing AROS core, most of them spare-time. And there are some people which write/port software for AROS.

Offline Steril707

Re: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« Reply #6 on: September 18, 2007, 10:09:00 PM »
I guess there were some ideas about implementing a Java Virtual Machine for AROS before?

Anybody working on this already? Maybe a Kaffe port?

Or would it be too early to think about this?

(lots of question marks  :-D )

greets,
Mike
Check out my free Vectrex homebrews on http://www.borrmann.in  :-)
 

Offline mingle

Re: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« Reply #7 on: September 19, 2007, 12:19:06 AM »
Hmm... I checked out last night's (17-Sep-2007) build, but it doesn't get past the grub boot screen on my Thinkpad R51 laptop.

Any suggestions for command-line settings/options?

Cheers,

Mike.
 

Offline Steril707

Re: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« Reply #8 on: September 19, 2007, 12:39:57 AM »
I think i had the same problem, and i noticed it had something to do with "floppy drive" (that i dont possess) being activated in my bios settings... after switching the floppy off, everything worked like a charm...
Check out my free Vectrex homebrews on http://www.borrmann.in  :-)
 

Offline dammy

Re: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« Reply #9 on: September 19, 2007, 12:58:49 AM »
Quote
(If only AROS had integrated Amiga emulation for 68k programs)


Don't wish for it, fund it!

Dammy
TeamAROS
Dammy

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Arix-OS/414578091930728
Unless otherwise noted, I speak only for myself.
 

Offline Mazze

Re: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« Reply #10 on: September 19, 2007, 06:28:43 PM »
Quote

Steril707 wrote:
I guess there were some ideas about implementing a Java Virtual Machine for AROS before?

Anybody working on this already? Maybe a Kaffe port?



I found this projects on sourceforge:
jamiga
arosgjc

Both don't look very active

Offline Fester

Re: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« Reply #11 on: September 19, 2007, 10:59:05 PM »
Quote

dammy wrote:
Don't wish for it, fund it!

Dammy


Seems like Team Aros website is down ...

Anyway, it didn't work 4 hours ago and I still don't have access now.
 

Offline 4pLaY

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2002
  • Posts: 779
  • Country: no
  • Total likes: 5
  • Gender: Male
    • https://www.amigalife.org
Re: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« Reply #12 on: September 19, 2007, 11:12:46 PM »
i know the site was about to undergo some upgrading on the server side.... while you wait you can view this beauty =) http://aros-exec.org/modules/xcgal/displayimage.php?pid=325

Offline Steril707

Re: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« Reply #13 on: September 20, 2007, 12:17:26 AM »
But Jamiga was developed for OS4 and 3.9 ...

I guess AROS is not compatible to them, anyway, isn't it?

Check out my free Vectrex homebrews on http://www.borrmann.in  :-)
 

Offline Mazze

Re: So, i checked out AROS on my X86 machine a few minutes ago..
« Reply #14 on: September 20, 2007, 12:33:07 AM »
Quote

Steril707 wrote:
But Jamiga was developed for OS4 and 3.9 ...

I guess AROS is not compatible to them, anyway, isn't it?



This depends on what functions of AOS3.9 it uses. The biggest difference between AOS3.1 and 3.9 is the ReAction GUI system.