Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Networking issues  (Read 12194 times)

Description:

Offline nineocTopic starter

• Show only replies by nineoc
Networking issues
« on: December 28, 2020, 08:02:54 PM »
Hello:

Having networking issues between A2000HD, with Wildfire 060, running version 3.5 of the Amiga OS, Older Imac running version 10.11.6 of the Apple OS, and an older generic PC running Windows XP. Network was set up many years ago by experienced Amiga tech, as I am not very tech savvy.

System worked well until our move of 5 years ago. Attempting to look at it now, the Imac shows the Amiga in the network list, but cannot connect to it.

It does not show the PC, and the PC does not show either the Imac or the Amiga.

Win UAE is also installed on the PC, and Explorer is installed on both the Amiga and the PC.

Am attempting to transfer files from the Amiga to the Emulator as a backup in case the Amiga fails.

As stated, I am not very tech savvy, so would appreciate any input as to how to get the systems functional again, if possible.

Offline TribbleSmasher

Re: Networking issues
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2020, 08:26:40 PM »
My guess is the most modern macOs is looking to connect to the other computers based on modern security protocols and this must fail as you probably never upgraded the Winxp machine or the Amiga since years ago. The macOs has certainly updated everything required.
If you didn't change the physical components of the network (new router? different cabling?) only the software side remains.

You might be able to downgrade the Macs firewall etc to allow legacy networking.
If you got a new router then there might be network settings as well you need to take care off.

Another option is to try and add a simple NAS to your network with open unrestricted access just for sharing files.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2020, 08:37:37 PM by TribbleSmasher »

« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2020, 09:07:35 PM »