Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Trouble with Multiview and AmigaGuide  (Read 2372 times)

Description:

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mrknightTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 152
    • Show only replies by mrknight
Trouble with Multiview and AmigaGuide
« on: September 12, 2013, 07:37:56 AM »
I installed Multiview and Multiview Preferences (2b_mv_os2.lha 2b_mv_prefs.lha) yesterday. I had to extract both archives to the same directory and using the assign command but I managed to install it. however, after opening a .guide icon with default tool Multiview I get the following error:

"Cannot open AmigaGuide.library! Using DEFAULT instead"

I installed AmigaGuide as found on AmiNet but I still get the same error. Now I'm lost. amigaguide.library is located in libs and the command amigaguide can be used from the cli. Have I missed something? Was inte installation of Multiview of Amigaguide incomplete?  And what is this DEFAULT?

Sorry if this sounds like a simple problem. Workbench is a new experience for me...

My machine is an A500 68010, 1MB CHIP, 8MB FAST, 4GB CF HDD
 

Offline Oldsmobile_Mike

Re: Trouble with Multiview and AmigaGuide
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2013, 07:52:10 AM »
What version of Workbench are you running?
Amiga 500: 2MB Chip|16MB Fast|30MHz 68030+68882|3.9|Indivision ECS|GVP A500HD+|Mechware card reader + 8GB CF|Cocolino|SCSI DVD-RAM
Amiga 2000: 2MB Chip|136MB Fast|50MHz 68060|3.9|Indivision ECS + GVP Spectrum|Mechware card reader + 8GB CF|AD516|X-Surf 100|RapidRoad|Cocolino|SCSI CD-RW
 Amiga videos and other misc. stuff at https://www.youtube.com/CompTechMike/videos
 

Offline mrknightTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 152
    • Show only replies by mrknight
Re: Trouble with Multiview and AmigaGuide
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2013, 07:57:52 AM »
I'm using Workbench 2.05 (37.71) and Kickstart 37.350.
 

Offline Oldsmobile_Mike

Re: Trouble with Multiview and AmigaGuide
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2013, 08:33:36 AM »
Offhand I believe MultiView requires WB3+, but AmigaGuide should work with 2+.  You might want to try removing everything and starting fresh with just the Amigaguide stuff?

Edit: try upgrading to Workbench 2.1, that should have it included.  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AmigaGuide
« Last Edit: September 12, 2013, 08:36:33 AM by Oldsmobile_Mike »
Amiga 500: 2MB Chip|16MB Fast|30MHz 68030+68882|3.9|Indivision ECS|GVP A500HD+|Mechware card reader + 8GB CF|Cocolino|SCSI DVD-RAM
Amiga 2000: 2MB Chip|136MB Fast|50MHz 68060|3.9|Indivision ECS + GVP Spectrum|Mechware card reader + 8GB CF|AD516|X-Surf 100|RapidRoad|Cocolino|SCSI CD-RW
 Amiga videos and other misc. stuff at https://www.youtube.com/CompTechMike/videos
 

Offline mrknightTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 152
    • Show only replies by mrknight
Re: Trouble with Multiview and AmigaGuide
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2013, 08:59:39 AM »
I'm not using the real Multiview, it's a replacement that I found at Aminet for WB2.04:
http://aminet.net/package/util/sys/2b_mv_os2

I did some more testing and one .txt file is using multiview as stadard tool. This file can not be opened and gives me the same error. It's like multiview can't find amigaguide. Maybe some settings? Or has the amigaguide.library not been registered or similar on the bootable workbench partition?

This is the amigaguide I installed:
http://aminet.net/package/text/hyper/aguide34

Good to know that WB2.1 has multiview. I might upgrade if I can't solve this problem. I see it as a chance of learning move about the Amiga OS:)
 

Offline Oldsmobile_Mike

Re: Trouble with Multiview and AmigaGuide
« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2013, 09:01:09 AM »
2.1 has AmigaGuide.  3.1 has Multiview.  Might as well upgrade to 3.1, you can get a ROM for under $20 from AmigaKit, and learn the "latest and greatest", haha.  ;)
Amiga 500: 2MB Chip|16MB Fast|30MHz 68030+68882|3.9|Indivision ECS|GVP A500HD+|Mechware card reader + 8GB CF|Cocolino|SCSI DVD-RAM
Amiga 2000: 2MB Chip|136MB Fast|50MHz 68060|3.9|Indivision ECS + GVP Spectrum|Mechware card reader + 8GB CF|AD516|X-Surf 100|RapidRoad|Cocolino|SCSI CD-RW
 Amiga videos and other misc. stuff at https://www.youtube.com/CompTechMike/videos
 

Offline paul1981

Re: Trouble with Multiview and AmigaGuide
« Reply #6 on: September 12, 2013, 10:08:23 PM »
Quote from: mrknight;747709
I installed Multiview and Multiview Preferences (2b_mv_os2.lha 2b_mv_prefs.lha) yesterday. I had to extract both archives to the same directory and using the assign command but I managed to install it. however, after opening a .guide icon with default tool Multiview I get the following error:

"Cannot open AmigaGuide.library! Using DEFAULT instead"

I installed AmigaGuide as found on AmiNet but I still get the same error. Now I'm lost. amigaguide.library is located in libs and the command amigaguide can be used from the cli. Have I missed something? Was inte installation of Multiview of Amigaguide incomplete?  And what is this DEFAULT?

Sorry if this sounds like a simple problem. Workbench is a new experience for me...

My machine is an A500 68010, 1MB CHIP, 8MB FAST, 4GB CF HDD

Normally an error like "Cannot open xxx.library" either means that the library is missing (not in your case though) or that the library is the wrong version (not a high enough version number usually).
I can have a look at this over the weekend if you like as I too run a KS2 machine.
 

Offline magnetic

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 2531
    • Show only replies by magnetic
Re: Trouble with Multiview and AmigaGuide
« Reply #7 on: September 12, 2013, 11:51:37 PM »
Mr. Knight

If you are new to amiga os and workbench i would advise DO NOT use patches and alternative libraries, devices, etc. Stick with the org commodore ones.
bPlan Pegasos2 G4@1ghz
Quad Boot:Reg. MorphOS | OS4.1 U4 |Ubuntu GNU-Linux | MacOS X

Amiga 2000 Rom Switcher w/ 3.1 + 1.3 | HardFrame SCSI | CBM Ram board| A Squared LIVE! 2000 | Vlab Motion | Firecracker 24 gfx

Commodore CDTV: 68010 | ECS | 9mb Ram | SCSI -TV | 3.9 Rom | Developer EPROMs
 

Offline mrknightTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 152
    • Show only replies by mrknight
Re: Trouble with Multiview and AmigaGuide
« Reply #8 on: September 13, 2013, 05:31:20 AM »
I solved the problem! It turned out that there were no DEFAULT action set for OS2, only for OS3. I can give a detailed explanation if someone is interested just in case someone else have the same problem?

Strangely enough MV identified the file as a AmigaGuide database but still uses the action defined my DEFAULT to open it. In my case, DEFAULT was missing and hence the file couldn't be opened. But why does it say that amigaguide.library can not be found? It shouldn't even be aware of that tool since no action is defined.  don't understand the inner working of MV but it does work so so I'm happy.

Magnetic, I would do that but I never found MV for OS2 from Commodore. This replacement MV was all I found.

Thank you all for your help!
 

Offline gonk23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 5
    • Show only replies by gonk23
Re: Trouble with Multiview and AmigaGuide
« Reply #9 on: February 27, 2016, 12:29:44 PM »
I know this is an old thread, but a google search sent me here after I experienced a similar problem with my A500 running KS2.05+WB2.1.

The solution is to:
* Install aguide34.lha from aminet.
* Install 2b_mv_os2.lha and 2b_mv_prefs.lha from aminet.
* Navigate to SYS:Utilities and left-click the MultiView icon, then right click and select Icons->Information from the menu. This brings up the Information window.
* The "Tool Types" box is where the MultiView config details are kept. Click "New" and enter "DEFAULT=SYS:Utilities/AmigaGuide" (without quotes) in the box and click "Save".
* MultiView should now correctly display AmigaGuide and text files.

It appears MutliView defaults to using AmigaGuide, but maybe it's looking for a newer version (like paul1981 hinted at) so it fails. By defining DEFAULT to use our installed AmigaGuide, things start to work.

By the way, I was using a fresh install of WB2.1 (from original disks) and it didn't contain AmigaGuide. I had to install it from aminet. That wikipedia article linked above is either incorrect or there are different "versions" of WB2.1 out there.
« Last Edit: February 27, 2016, 12:33:16 PM by gonk23 »
 

Offline Sideburn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2022
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • Show only replies by Sideburn
Re: Trouble with Multiview and AmigaGuide
« Reply #10 on: November 27, 2022, 09:49:05 AM »
I know this is an old thread, but a google search sent me here after I experienced a similar problem with my A500 running KS2.05+WB2.1.

The solution is to:
* Install aguide34.lha from aminet.
* Install 2b_mv_os2.lha and 2b_mv_prefs.lha from aminet.
* Navigate to SYS:Utilities and left-click the MultiView icon, then right click and select Icons->Information from the menu. This brings up the Information window.
* The "Tool Types" box is where the MultiView config details are kept. Click "New" and enter "DEFAULT=SYS:Utilities/AmigaGuide" (without quotes) in the box and click "Save".
* MultiView should now correctly display AmigaGuide and text files.

It appears MutliView defaults to using AmigaGuide, but maybe it's looking for a newer version (like paul1981 hinted at) so it fails. By defining DEFAULT to use our installed AmigaGuide, things start to work.

By the way, I was using a fresh install of WB2.1 (from original disks) and it didn't contain AmigaGuide. I had to install it from aminet. That wikipedia article linked above is either incorrect or there are different "versions" of WB2.1 out there.

Thank You! Had same struggle. Now my AmigaOS 2.04 finally has MultiView  ;D
 

Offline Tygre

Re: Trouble with Multiview and AmigaGuide
« Reply #11 on: November 28, 2022, 03:40:14 AM »
Hi!

Great that you could fix your problem :)

For similar problems, SnoopDOS is a great tool to use before trying something that doesn't work: it will show you what your Amiga is doing "behind the scene"...

Cheers!