Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Any chemists out there?  (Read 2115 times)

Description:

Offline HodgkinsonTopic starter

• Show only replies by Hodgkinson
    • http://www.myspace.com/em_radiation *****and ***** www.booni.info
Any chemists out there?
« on: May 03, 2008, 11:33:24 AM »
Hi all,
I've got a home chemistry-related project going at the moment and im wondering if there are any chemists here on A.org that could help me out ;-) - The results of the project aren’t what I expected to find (Purity issues).

Help appreciated, :help:
Hodgkinson.  
Main A1200D: WB3.0, 3.1 ROMs, 2GB HDD, Blizzard 1230IV (64MB RAM + FPU) and a whole load of custom heatsinks... :flame:

Offline bloodline

• Master Sock Abuser
    • Show only replies by bloodline
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: Any chemists out there?
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2008, 11:40:22 AM »
I was a Chemist... But that was nearly 10 years ago now...

Offline JaXanim

• Show only replies by JaXanim
    • http://www.intuitionbase.com/waveguide/home.html
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2008, 03:33:07 PM »
Yep. What's the problem?

JaX
Be inspired! It\\\'s back!

« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2008, 05:30:51 PM »
Hi there!
As I've found with chemistry there's not much point "Beating around the bush" so I’ll just describe what im trying to do.
What im working on is a process to recycle isopropyl alcohol left over in the container from these and to reduce the water content for use with electrical contacts and electronics in general.

I have strung together a process where the alcohol is "Salted out" (Excess table salt added) to cause the alcohol and water to separate into distinct layers. Once the alcohol layer is carefully removed, it's distilled to remove the salt component, leaving what should be pretty nearly pure isopropyl alcohol (Well, according to the associated "Instructable" that is...Note that the distillation step used is somewhat more *appropriate* to that shown...).