Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Advice re. embedded systems, FPGA, & DSP design/career  (Read 1672 times)

Description:

Offline OliverTopic starter

• Show only replies by Oliver
Advice re. embedded systems, FPGA, & DSP design/career
« on: April 18, 2008, 04:22:55 AM »
Hi people,

I'm looking for some technology and career advice regarding development of embedded systems, FPGA design, and DSP programming. I am an electronic engineering grad, one year out of uni, and looking to develop my skills in the above areas.

My motivation is partly due to personal interest, and partly due to career motivation. I am currently working in HF radio design, which is not a field I would like to remain in. I would like to still be in a design role, and am considering embedded systems, which I think may still allow me to draw on my background in RF, EMI, and comms.

I did a couple of small VHDL FPGA projects in uni, which is something I have wanted to explore more, for a while. I have also thought that DSP programming would be handy to learn, as well as a general background in embedded systems.

Most of my recent programming experience is in MATLAB, and PIC assembly. A while back, I programmed in Java and ASNI C in Linux and Windows without trouble. I have been told that embedded systems designers should know how to implement Linux environments in embedded processors, and be able to write hardware drivers, for use at the various software layers. I use Linux at home for basic PC tasks, and have a basic understanding of the role of drivers, but am certainly not an expert in either aspect.

In the last few days, I attended a Xilinx promotional training session, and have been offered a discount on development kits. I am considering buying an XtremeDSP starter kit, which has an entry level development board from Xilinx using a Spartan 3A DSP FPGA (XC3SD1800A-4FGG676C). The kit comes with a programming interface, and some of the Xilinx development software (EDK).