Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Views on Linux (from AmigaOS x86 thread)  (Read 8271 times)

Description:

Offline wawrzonTopic starter

Views on Linux (from AmigaOS x86 thread)
« on: January 22, 2017, 02:04:40 PM »
Quote from: psxphill;820365
The only experience worse than Linux on a desktop, is Linux on a laptop.

even though im pretty new to linux native, i have mostly ran it in vm as compiler environment tilllately, i cant agree with it. i was pretty surprised how useful and simple it may be even for creative tasks like multitrack audio recording or graphics. i consider it even more handy than windows i must admit. the problem is a choice of not overloaded distribution. for me it has been lubuntu so far.

Offline stefcep2

• Show only replies by stefcep2
Re: Would you purchase AmigaOS if it supported ARM or x86?
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2017, 02:22:37 PM »
Quote from: wawrzon;820370
even though im pretty new to linux native, i have mostly ran it in vm as compiler environment tilllately, i cant agree with it. i was pretty surprised how useful and simple it may be even for creative tasks like multitrack audio recording or graphics. i consider it even more handy than windows i must admit. the problem is a choice of not overloaded distribution. for me it has been lubuntu so far.

Until something goes wrong.  And it will.

The greatest tragedy in the opens source movement is it chose Linux.

Offline EugeneNine

• Show only replies by EugeneNine
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2017, 07:26:28 PM »
The only experience worse than Linux on a desktop, is Linux on a laptop.

I've been running Linux on my laptop since 2002.  Its much faster and more stable than windows.

Offline Pat the Cat

« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2017, 08:01:19 PM »
The only experience worse than Linux on a desktop, is Linux on a laptop