Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: Problems installing on G4  (Read 2616 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline curtis

Problems installing on G4
« on: October 12, 2010, 02:01:07 PM »
I am having a VERY bad week!  Dead minimig and now I can't seem to get MOS installed on my G4.

D/L'd the image, burned the CD and popped it in the drive.  Hold C forever and it boots up!  Click on install and wait.  Copied around 1444 files to the hd then hung.  Hmmm.  Hit the reset button and try again.  This time it got up to 3000+ files copied before it died.

Next attempt, format the hd prior to installation.  Danged thing timed out and shifted over to slow mode.

Bad hard drive you say?  Okay, possible, let's try another known good drive.  Same thing.  Drives attempted are 60 Gb (original) and 40 Gb.

I'm suspecting a bad CD burn at this point in time.  However, suggestions would be appreciated.

The computer is a bog standard G4 400 MHz Sawtooth in which I did drop in some slightly slower RAM (100 vice 133), but I don't think that would affect installation.  Would it?

Curtis
Outside a dog, a book is a man\'s best friend. Inside a dog it\'s too dark to read! Groucho Marx

Curtis McCain

http://pages.suddenlink.net/curtismc/
 

Offline nicholas

Re: Problems installing on G4
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2010, 02:06:49 PM »
Are you using 80pin IDE cables for both CDROM and HD?
“Een rezhim-i eshghalgar-i Quds bayad az sahneh-i ruzgar mahv shaved.” - Imam Ayatollah Sayyed  Ruhollah Khomeini
 

Offline Colani1200

Re: Problems installing on G4
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2010, 02:12:49 PM »
Quote from: curtis;584241

The computer is a bog standard G4 400 MHz Sawtooth in which I did drop in some slightly slower RAM (100 vice 133), but I don't think that would affect installation.  Would it?


The Sawtooth 400 has 100 MHz FSB, so this should be no problem. However, since you took the RAM from somewhere, maybe it is faulty or the G4 has problems with the type of RAM (timings etc).

Quote

I'm suspecting a bad CD burn at this point in time.


Might be... try to burn in slowest mode possible. Furthermore, you might want to check the MD5 sum of the downloaded ISO.
 

Offline jj

Re: Problems installing on G4
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2010, 02:28:56 PM »
Also check the jumpers and make sure the HDD is properly jumpered to Master.  MOS can be pick about this or so I have read on other threads
“We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing.” - George Bernard Shaw

Xbox Live: S0ulA55a551n2
 
Registered MorphsOS 3.13 user on Powerbook G4 15"
 

Offline curtis

Re: Problems installing on G4
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2010, 03:56:27 PM »
HD is definitely 80 pin.  Didn't think to check the CD.

I'm going to pull the slower RAM out and run with just the original stick and see what that does also.  The other sticks check out okay in other machines.

Didn't think to check the MD5 on the download.

Already checked the jumpers on both hard drives.  Saw that thread myself!
Outside a dog, a book is a man\'s best friend. Inside a dog it\'s too dark to read! Groucho Marx

Curtis McCain

http://pages.suddenlink.net/curtismc/
 

Offline nicholas

Re: Problems installing on G4
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2010, 04:08:03 PM »
Just a thought for you to try.

Quote
Q: Booting from CD appears to be very slow. Is there any way to speed it up?
A: Yes, simply add the following part to your normal boot command: pc "addbuffers >NIL: cd0: 20000", e.g.
> boot cd boot.img 3d pc "addbuffers >NIL: cd0: 20000"

This should speed up the installation process a lot. Please note that each buffer is 2048, so this will consume about 40 MB of memory. If you can afford an even higher memory usage feel free to increase, if not than lower the value.


http://morphos-team.net/faq.html
“Een rezhim-i eshghalgar-i Quds bayad az sahneh-i ruzgar mahv shaved.” - Imam Ayatollah Sayyed  Ruhollah Khomeini
 

Offline redrumloa

  • Original Omega User
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 10126
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Problems installing on G4
« Reply #6 on: October 12, 2010, 05:45:21 PM »
Make sure the G4 doesn't have exploded caps.
Someone has to state the obvious and that someone is me!
 

Offline curtis

Re: Problems installing on G4
« Reply #7 on: October 12, 2010, 06:10:27 PM »
Nope.  It's in perfect shape.  Was booting OS 10.4 until I stuck the MorphOS CD in and held down C.

Quote from: redrumloa;584296
Make sure the G4 doesn't have exploded caps.
Outside a dog, a book is a man\'s best friend. Inside a dog it\'s too dark to read! Groucho Marx

Curtis McCain

http://pages.suddenlink.net/curtismc/
 

Offline amigadave

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2004
  • Posts: 3836
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.EfficientByDesign.org
Re: Problems installing on G4
« Reply #8 on: October 12, 2010, 07:27:38 PM »
Are you attempting a full format, or quick format of the hard drive?  I think I have gotten by with the quick format command for my partitioning and installation of MorphOS in the past.
How are you helping the Amiga community? :)
 

Offline curtis

Re: Problems installing on G4
« Reply #9 on: October 13, 2010, 02:17:18 PM »
First thing I tried was just clicking on Install and let it do it's own thing, accepting all the defaults, except for keyboard and language settings.

I then tried to format first then install.  That's when the sucker took so long the system down-shifted and essentially shut down.

When I get time, I'm going to also try a smaller hard drive, say 1-2 Gb and see what happens.  Won't happen until the weekend due to other priorities during the week.


Quote from: amigadave;584323
Are you attempting a full format, or quick format of the hard drive?  I think I have gotten by with the quick format command for my partitioning and installation of MorphOS in the past.
Outside a dog, a book is a man\'s best friend. Inside a dog it\'s too dark to read! Groucho Marx

Curtis McCain

http://pages.suddenlink.net/curtismc/
 

Offline peroxidechicken

Re: Problems installing on G4
« Reply #10 on: October 13, 2010, 10:27:19 PM »
I haven't tried MorphOS on any Mac hardware but I have installed it quite a few times since 2.0 was released.  After booting from usb or cd, I quick format a partition and then copy the install iso to it.  The last thing the install wizard lets you do is choose the install source and destination.  Using the iso on the hard drive has always given me a quick and successful install.
H2O2
 

Offline Tension

Re: Problems installing on G4
« Reply #11 on: October 13, 2010, 11:16:44 PM »
Sounds like a RAM problem to me.  Have you tried swapping it out?

Good luck.

Offline Fingers

Re: Problems installing on G4
« Reply #12 on: October 14, 2010, 03:55:38 AM »
Quote from: peroxidechicken;584552
I haven't tried MorphOS on any Mac hardware but I have installed it quite a few times since 2.0 was released.  After booting from usb or cd, I quick format a partition and then copy the install iso to it.  The last thing the install wizard lets you do is choose the install source and destination.  Using the iso on the hard drive has always given me a quick and successful install.


Yep, that's pretty much what I do on the Efika, but just to clarify;
1: Boot via CD/USB, prepare/format HDD & shut down.
2: Boot via CD/USB, copy install ISO to HDD & shut down.
3: Boot via CD/USB & install using HDD as ISO source.

This will stop it timing out on you, as each of these rather lengthy operations are done after a fresh boot, meaning you have a full 30 minutes available for each operation :)

PZ.
 

Offline curtis

Re: Problems installing on G4
« Reply #13 on: October 17, 2010, 04:29:54 AM »
No joy in Mudville.

I've tried every combination of RAM, hard drives, iso's, and various and sundry boot options all to no avail.  BTW, with just 256M RAM, this sucker is dog slow!

I'm thinking a fresh Tiger install on this one and onto ebay it goes then I'll pick up a Mac mini and start afresh.
Outside a dog, a book is a man\'s best friend. Inside a dog it\'s too dark to read! Groucho Marx

Curtis McCain

http://pages.suddenlink.net/curtismc/
 

Offline magnetic

Re: Problems installing on G4
« Reply #14 on: October 17, 2010, 06:32:31 AM »
Yes, these machines are VERY sensitive to ram. They are not Amiga 1200s... I built a render farm using g4 pmacs mostly quicksilvers (for FCP and After Effects) and the ram was sensitive (tried to upgrade them it was frustrating the RAM was)
bPlan Pegasos2 G4@1ghz
Quad Boot:Reg. MorphOS | OS4.1 U4 |Ubuntu GNU-Linux | MacOS X

Amiga 2000 Rom Switcher w/ 3.1 + 1.3 | HardFrame SCSI | CBM Ram board| A Squared LIVE! 2000 | Vlab Motion | Firecracker 24 gfx

Commodore CDTV: 68010 | ECS | 9mb Ram | SCSI -TV | 3.9 Rom | Developer EPROMs