Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Is PowerVR chip (used in Dreamcast) a good one?  (Read 5431 times)

Description:

Offline AmiDelfTopic starter

• Show only replies by AmiDelf
    • http://www.amitopiatv.com
Is PowerVR chip (used in Dreamcast) a good one?
« on: January 29, 2004, 04:05:06 PM »
I wonder. I am not a hardware expert, but for me when I watch something, I watch it. I get the pics wich is on my screen, thinking how it is and how it should be.

For me, Dreamcast have the best ever picture quality of all consoles, even if its dated 1998. It dosent have this blurred 3D games or screen at all, wich GameCube have and also X-BOX.

When you connect a Dreamcast to VGA monitor, the screen is just amazing good! And I mean it.

Would this technology be nice for a future Amiga computer?

Regards,
Michal, www.amigaworld.org
I love and respect people which care! And not those with
a heart made of stone.

Offline Crumb

• Show only replies by Crumb
    • http://cuaz.sourceforge.net
Re: Is PowerVR chip (used in Dreamcast) a good one?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2004, 04:12:34 PM »
I'm not sure... but the chip used in dreamcast is of the same family of Kyro I or II?

Anyway a Matrox G550 probably will provide a quality as good if not better than DC and will allow you to use AGP, so you'll be able to upgrade or change your card easily.
The only spanish amiga news web page/club: Club de Usuarios de Amiga de Zaragoza (CUAZ)

Offline downix

• Show only replies by downix
    • http://www.applemonthly.com
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2004, 04:16:30 PM »
The Dreamcast used the PowerVR 2.  A PC version of the PowerVR3 was called the Kyro (and II).  PowerVR licenses their cores, including newer cores than the ones used in both the DC and Kyro.

But even with slight improvements, the cores of the Kyro could be made competitive with modern video cards.