Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: The Amiga Scene: I'd like to come back but don't know how!  (Read 2446 times)

Description:

Offline jupitercoreTopic starter

• Show only replies by jupitercore
The Amiga Scene: I'd like to come back but don't know how!
« on: October 25, 2003, 10:58:57 PM »
About 13-15 years ago, I played on my middle school's Amiga 500S. When I "graduated", the school's Tech Ed teacher was given permission to "donate" the system to me, as I was the only one who had actually turned it on and learned how to use it (after school) during his career at the school. It was great. Then came high school where x86/Win was crammed down my throat - and the same with work (though Linux was there too) and my playfulness with my Amiga went to 0 - eventually being a poor college student, I sold my Amiga.

I've now been a heavy hobbyist supporting Mac, Linux, and BeOS whenever and whereever I could, but it always felt empty, not supporting the Amiga.

So I've decided to start looking around at the groups again, and now I'm finally starting to ask questions. I've found so much on established users, groups, etc. But here's my questions:

1. What's the best way to "jump right in", as many would say? I've used Amiga (I don't remember OS version), so I don't think software is an issue.

2. Is there a decent and cheap platform to run Amiga systems on that would make it a viable solution for everyday use? I like to be the odd-child out there, running Linux in Win-only environments and things like that.

3. I know I still need to go through the FAQs more, but AmigaONE, AmigaDE, WorkBench, GlowIcons, etc are confusing the living heck out of me. Some very basic explanations, or pointing to FAQs, would be appreciated.