Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: New to Amiga  (Read 1316 times)

Description:

Offline yock1960Topic starter

• Show only replies by yock1960
New to Amiga
« on: December 12, 2006, 11:48:39 PM »
Hi All,

I'm totally new to Amiga. I wanted one when they came out but couldn't justify it financially, went from C64/C128 to PC's and even dabbled in Mac's for a couple of years in the late 90's early 00's. I recently have gotten re-interested in my Commodore roots and dug all of the stuff out of storage, hacked a Hummer/DTV for keyboard/disk drive use and last but not least, purchased an A500.

I immediately had to learn about the hardware because the thing didn't work. Fortunately some folks over on comp.sys.amiga.hardware helped me work through it and after putting a new Agnus chip in, it works great!

It's strictly a nostalgia thing, even though I never had one. I'll enjoy figuring it out and using it for some games and maybe I'll dabble in AmigaBasic a little.

I plan on expanding it a little from it's current 1MB, I missed out on a couple of recent auctions, but I see that Elbox still makes some expansion modules for the A500, the 2MB one not being terribly expensive. Any comments on Elbox?

Anyway...Happy Holidays everone!

Offline InTheSand

• Show only replies by InTheSand
    • http://www.ali.geek.nz
Re: New to Amiga
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2006, 11:57:18 PM »
Hi,

Welcome to A.Org!

If you're after playing games and perhaps a bit of BASIC programming, arguably you don't need to worry about expanding your A500 beyond 1Mb...

Beware of catching the Amiga bug - before you know it, you'll be on eBay grabbing an A1200 and a 68060 upgrade for it!  :-)

- Ali

Online amigakit

« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2006, 11:58:02 PM »
Welcome!
www.AmigaKit.com - Amiga Reseller | Manufacturer | Developer

New Products  --   Customer Help & Support -- @amigakit

Offline Opus

• Show only replies by Opus
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2006, 01:35:17 AM »