Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: A500 GVP HD+ Memory Expansion Issues  (Read 1209 times)

Description:

Offline AndrewPTopic starter

• Show only replies by AndrewP
A500 GVP HD+ Memory Expansion Issues
« on: March 15, 2023, 03:06:25 PM »
Hi everyone,

long time Amiga owner here, I've got an A500 which I've been using for a few years with no issues. Full Spec is A500 Rev 6, 1MB Chip RAM, 1.5MB Slow RAM (via a 2MB trapdoor expansion and the chip ram mod), Dual 1.3 and 3.1 ROMS,HDMI output via a Pi and a GOTEK floppy emulator. I recently added a A500 GVP HD+ 40mb drive with WB 3.1 installed. This boots and works absolutely fine.

However, I recently added a couple of 1MB 30 pin SIMMS to the GVP (2MB total) and can't get them to run. They were apparently tested ok. When the machine boots it goes straight in the Amiga Expansion Board Diagnostic with the red screen and tells me the SCSI controller board is OK (Board 1, Manufacturer 2017, Product 11) but the Memory board is defective (Board 2, Manufacturer 2017, Product 10). The jumper settings have been triple checked, I've cleaned both ram contacts and the GVP ram pins as well as the sidecar bus on the A500 with IPA, the version 4.13 ROM in the GVP is seated correctly and I've checked the SCSI lead to the HDD.

Bizarrely, in Workbench 3.1, SYSINFO->Boards and the Autoconfig tools both tell me they can see the RAM board in the GVP (the Product and Manufacturer numbers all match) and that it is populated with 2MB ram so I'm now quite confused...

I've reached the limit of my knowledge and googling the issue hasn't turned up anything extra. Any advice as to what if anything I can try next? Many thanks.

Offline Matt_H

Re: A500 GVP HD+ Memory Expansion Issues
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2023, 05:36:10 PM »
Welcome!

Are the RAM jumpers set correctly? http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/impact500mk2