Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Hollywood MAL AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: ROM Module for booting directly from CD  (Read 1751 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ancalimon

ROM Module for booting directly from CD
« on: December 04, 2011, 06:49:06 PM »
Has anyone made a module for Blizkick (or simply a module which can be loaded with loadmodule) which makes CD0 visible in bootmenu allowing us to boot from a CD ?

I want to create an AmigaOS 3.9 with all the patches made and a floppy which loads things like patched scsi.device and a bootmenu with CD0 in it and reboot the machine.  After that directly booting from OS3.9 cd without need for floppy any longer.
A4000T, 604e@400&060@66, 128MB+16MB+Zorram256, CVisionPPC, VLabMotion, Toccata, XSurf100&RapidRoad, Prisma Megamix

A1200, Blizzard060@50, 256MB, Blizzard IV SCSI, FastATA mk4
 

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: ROM Module for booting directly from CD
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2011, 08:24:48 PM »
I doubt it has been done and while technically feasible I don't quite get the point of this.

You'd boot WB 3.9 CD in order to do what?
 

Offline Ancalimon

Re: ROM Module for booting directly from CD
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2011, 08:35:35 PM »
Quote from: Piru;670197
I doubt it has been done and while technically feasible I don't quite get the point of this.

You'd boot WB 3.9 CD in order to do what?


to install it directly from CD without having to install and setup 3.1

Maybe I could burn a new ROM for it ?


I think being able to boot from a CDROM would be something really useful.
A4000T, 604e@400&060@66, 128MB+16MB+Zorram256, CVisionPPC, VLabMotion, Toccata, XSurf100&RapidRoad, Prisma Megamix

A1200, Blizzard060@50, 256MB, Blizzard IV SCSI, FastATA mk4
 

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: ROM Module for booting directly from CD
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2011, 08:46:30 PM »
Quote from: FaLLeNOnE;670199
to install it directly from CD without having to install and setup 3.1
You install the OS often then?

Quote
I think being able to boot from a CDROM would be something really useful.
For what?
 

Offline Ancalimon

Re: ROM Module for booting directly from CD
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2011, 08:55:30 PM »
@Piru:

Because then I can? :)  I guess booting cd32 games or cd32 compilations would be cool too.

It actually bothers me that I can't see CD0 listed among my drives in the bootmenu :(  Even CC0 is there.

I actually want my Amiga's to be self sufficient.

If it were possible, I would have even wanted to see network drives visible in early boot menu and be able to boot from them :)
« Last Edit: December 04, 2011, 08:59:34 PM by Ancalimon »
A4000T, 604e@400&060@66, 128MB+16MB+Zorram256, CVisionPPC, VLabMotion, Toccata, XSurf100&RapidRoad, Prisma Megamix

A1200, Blizzard060@50, 256MB, Blizzard IV SCSI, FastATA mk4
 

Offline Tension

Re: ROM Module for booting directly from CD
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2011, 08:58:14 PM »
Always thought this would be really cool. You could boot from a cd straight into a game, for instance. Or a CD32 game or whatever.

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: ROM Module for booting directly from CD
« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2011, 09:11:49 PM »
Well okay, fair enough. I can't quite see the "cool factor" in it in however.

It should be doable, at least if you can use 1MB ROM.
 

Offline Tension

Re: ROM Module for booting directly from CD
« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2011, 09:22:11 PM »
Quote from: Piru;670208
Well okay, fair enough. I can't quite see the "cool factor" in it in however.

It should be doable, at least if you can use 1MB ROM.


If I could make an octamed bootable cd with a minimal workbench installation then indeed, that would be extreeeemly cool.

Offline matthey

Re: ROM Module for booting directly from CD
« Reply #8 on: December 04, 2011, 10:32:54 PM »
@FaLLeNOnE
The CyberStorm PPC/MK3 have a primitive bootable CD ROM device in their flash firmware when using cyberscsi.device. You can read about it with the flash updates or play with the "esc" menu settings. I've never enabled it.
 

Offline Louis Dias

Re: ROM Module for booting directly from CD
« Reply #9 on: December 04, 2011, 10:53:36 PM »
Well, you can probably look at the CD32 ROMS and patch in your CDROM driver...
 

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: ROM Module for booting directly from CD
« Reply #10 on: December 04, 2011, 11:25:58 PM »
Quote from: lou_dias;670220
Well, you can probably look at the CD32 ROMS and patch in your CDROM driver...

It's unlikely that would help much as the CD32 CD-ROM is quite different from regular ATAPI device.
 

Offline wawrzon

Re: ROM Module for booting directly from CD
« Reply #11 on: December 05, 2011, 12:20:30 AM »
im not sure, but i thonk aros 68k should offer booting from cd. have never tested that though, and im not sure if with aros kick installed you will boot to aos atm. but it is aimed at in general.