Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: I just received the ZorRam128  (Read 4118 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline omnicron10

Re: I just received the ZorRam128
« Reply #15 on: June 28, 2010, 06:27:37 AM »
Yes I agree.  They should not get damaged in shipping.  That does not preclude them from ever getting damaged.  I have seen USPS so some nasty things to mail!

I am just trying to figure out why I cant get mine to work.  I am waiting a new reply from Amigakit support.  Each update takes 2-3 days from Amigakit as they send me questions or ideas as to why it does not work.

If they dont have a many other good ideas at this point I have asked them if I can ship it back so they can test it on know good systems.  I only have one Z3 machine.  My Deneb is working so I believe my machine is good but I can not 100 percent preclude a damaged machine.

Waiting can be a bit tiresome.
A500/030 40mhz with A530, Indivision ECS, , KS 3.1, 2 Megs Chip, 8 Megs fast.
A600 Vampire II
SAM440EP 667, Amiga OS 4.1u1
Dual G4 1.2 Mac MorphOS
Chameleon
CD32
SX64
128D
128
C64
64C
 

Offline mboehmer_e3b

Re: I just received the ZorRam128
« Reply #16 on: June 30, 2010, 05:24:55 PM »
Quote from: omnicron10;567414
It is the zorrram that I am having problems with.  I wonder if it got damaged in shipping.

Which Buster revision do you have in that machine, and which CPU card?

What exactly do you mean by "having problems"? Red screen on powerup/reset with ZorRAM board being marked "defective"?

Michael
« Last Edit: June 30, 2010, 05:25:52 PM by mboehmer_e3b »
 

Offline omnicron10

Re: I just received the ZorRam128
« Reply #17 on: June 30, 2010, 08:20:54 PM »
Quote from: mboehmer_e3b;568212
Which Buster revision do you have in that machine, and which CPU card?

What exactly do you mean by "having problems"? Red screen on powerup/reset with ZorRAM board being marked "defective"?

Michael


A4000 buster 11 and MK3 060/50 with 128 megs.  16meg MB ram.  Mediator 4000D, Deneb. Voodoo 3.

It is like it is not in the machine.  No power up problems.  No screen colors.  Does not show up in the early startup screen with the boards. Z3 slot works in the Deneb will work in any slot.  I have the system booting from USB flash off the Deneb.  

I need to take some pictures for Amigakit.  They want to see the card installed.

Thanks for the reply!
A500/030 40mhz with A530, Indivision ECS, , KS 3.1, 2 Megs Chip, 8 Megs fast.
A600 Vampire II
SAM440EP 667, Amiga OS 4.1u1
Dual G4 1.2 Mac MorphOS
Chameleon
CD32
SX64
128D
128
C64
64C
 

Offline mboehmer_e3b

Re: I just received the ZorRam128
« Reply #18 on: July 01, 2010, 08:56:22 AM »
Quote from: omnicron10;568253

It is like it is not in the machine.  No power up problems.  No screen colors.  Does not show up in the early startup screen with the boards. Z3 slot works in the Deneb will work in any slot.  I have the system booting from USB flash off the Deneb.  

I need to take some pictures for Amigakit.  They want to see the card installed.


OK. So from hardware point of view, if not even an entry inside the Early Startup list of autoconfig cards exists, then something must have gone wrong during autoconfig process, namely reading out the ROM for the ZorRAM.
This indicates a very basic problem.
Which could be a missing reset signal, or completely screwed up signals (regarding timings) on your busboard. Do you have the original busboard still available?

If autoconfig would at least have seen the card, but a red screen with "defective" would have appeared, then the problem would have been known :-)

Keep me updated.

Michael
 

Offline HammerD

Re: I just received the ZorRam128
« Reply #19 on: July 09, 2010, 02:00:14 AM »
Quote from: omnicron10;568253
A4000 buster 11 and MK3 060/50 with 128 megs.  16meg MB ram.  Mediator 4000D, Deneb. Voodoo 3.

It is like it is not in the machine.  No power up problems.  No screen colors.  Does not show up in the early startup screen with the boards. Z3 slot works in the Deneb will work in any slot.  I have the system booting from USB flash off the Deneb.  

I need to take some pictures for Amigakit.  They want to see the card installed.

Thanks for the reply!


I have same machine as you, basically, and both my ZorRAM's work ok.  So perhaps something up with your ZorRAM card...got a screenshot of your early startup boards?
AmigaOS 4.x Beta Tester - Classic Amiga enthusiast - http://www.hd-zone.com is my Amiga Blog, check it out!
 

Offline omnicron10

Re: I just received the ZorRam128
« Reply #20 on: July 09, 2010, 08:55:27 PM »
No screen shots.  The board is on its way to Germany for review.

Thanks for your reply.
A500/030 40mhz with A530, Indivision ECS, , KS 3.1, 2 Megs Chip, 8 Megs fast.
A600 Vampire II
SAM440EP 667, Amiga OS 4.1u1
Dual G4 1.2 Mac MorphOS
Chameleon
CD32
SX64
128D
128
C64
64C
 

Online amigakit

Re: I just received the ZorRam128
« Reply #21 on: July 09, 2010, 11:04:24 PM »
We extensively test every ZorRAM (read/writes) for about 4 hours before dispatching to customer to ensure that cards are not DOA.  We have comprehensive quality assurance processes.

Of course our tests are a secondary set of tests after production quality assurance.
www.AmigaKit.com - Amiga Hardware/Software Dealer

New Products  --   Customer Help & Support -- @amigakit

USA Toll Free Order Tel: 1-888-698-6758
 

Offline TheGoose

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2002
  • Posts: 1458
  • Country: us
  • Total likes: 0
  • Gender: Male
    • http://www.amiga.org/forums/blog.php?u=827
Re: I just received the ZorRam128
« Reply #22 on: July 20, 2010, 10:54:05 PM »
Quote from: amigakit;569706
We extensively test every ZorRAM (read/writes) for about 4 hours before dispatching to customer to ensure that cards are not DOA.  We have comprehensive quality assurance processes.

Of course our tests are a secondary set of tests after production quality assurance.


What happens if you don't have a buster 11 and pug it in ? I have had no luck with buster 11 in my A3000D, been through all that with the Deneb mess.
G1200, A3000D, A1200 PPC AOS4.0C

I\'m on Google +
 

Offline TheGoose

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2002
  • Posts: 1458
  • Country: us
  • Total likes: 0
  • Gender: Male
    • http://www.amiga.org/forums/blog.php?u=827
Re: I just received the ZorRam128
« Reply #23 on: July 20, 2010, 10:59:28 PM »
Quote from: TheGoose;567186
Ah duh, I forgot about that free 3.5 spot, perfect for the right card reader! I just added one to my A1200 with subway, turned out nice with a direct hook up to the pins on the subway.

Like to do the same for A3000D. Pic of inside would be nice, where / how the cables reach over or under the daughter board?


Well that works for the A4000 3.5 bays, but not the A3000, front bezel is the front of the case, they use floppies with face plate removed. :confused:
G1200, A3000D, A1200 PPC AOS4.0C

I\'m on Google +