Amiga.org

Amiga News and Community Announcements => Amiga News and Community Announcements => Amiga Hardware News => Topic started by: DJS on May 24, 2016, 10:13:20 PM

Title: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: DJS on May 24, 2016, 10:13:20 PM
We are pleased to inform about new version of the Mediator 4000D:

Mediator PCI 4000D 3V MK-III

Mediator PCI 4000D 3V MK-III (http://eu-shop.elbox.com/en_US/p/Mediator-PCI-4000D-3V-MK-III/5) is a busboard for the Amiga 4000D motherboard installed in the tower case. Mediator PCI 4000D 3V MK-III is equipped with five PCI 2.2 slots and seven Zorro III/II slots (one of them used by the Mediator 4000 Core Logic card). It allows to use the wider range of the PCI cards, including cards which require 3.3V power rail.

Best regards,
ELBOX COMPUTER Team


(http://us-shop.elbox.com/userdata/gfx/8ad8d8cfca0a90b7f85703820c77be5b.jpg) (http://us-shop.elbox.com/en_US/p/Mediator-PCI-4000D-3V-MK-III/48)

Information on the current versions of Mediator drivers is available in the DOWNLOADS (http://elbox.com/downloads.html) | Mediator (http://elbox.com/downloads_mediator.html) section. The current list of supported PCI cards is available in the Mediator Driver Guide (http://elbox.com/mdg.html). Information about Mediator-related sources you will find in the COMMUNITY (http://elbox.com/community.html) section.
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: Acill on May 25, 2016, 05:12:55 PM
Will this work on an A4000T as well? I would guess no since the ZIII slots would get in the way. Its a great looking board, nice work!
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: Heiroglyph on May 25, 2016, 06:08:15 PM
Mine is ancient, like v1.0 ancient.

Is there an upgrade path or buy a whole new one?
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: F1Lupo on May 25, 2016, 11:31:38 PM
awesome to see new products from Elbox:pint::banana:
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: AltRN8 on May 26, 2016, 12:47:57 AM
Doh! I just bought one of the last of the 5v versions. *sigh*
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: Jeff on May 26, 2016, 02:31:47 AM
Doh! Me too, I should have waited just a bit longer.
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: drbrain on May 29, 2016, 07:22:55 AM
What's the difference between all the versions? MK-I, MK-II and MK-III?
MK-III obviously has 3.3V support, but other than that?
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: duga on May 29, 2016, 10:05:06 AM
Altrn8 + Jeff: Well, someone had to finish the current stock before they could start manufacturing the new version.
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: Akiko on May 29, 2016, 02:53:00 PM
Quote from: Heiroglyph;809162
Mine is ancient, like v1.0 ancient.

Is there an upgrade path or buy a whole new one?



The best thing about Amiga hardware, even if you did buy it yonks ago it should still retain at least half its orignal value if you should decide to sell it and upgrade.
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: AltRN8 on May 29, 2016, 03:22:56 PM
Turns out I was completely wrong. I'm doing my install this weekend and when I further explored the box it turns out I must be one of the first MKIII recipients! On top of that I got it for the older price. Big Elbox fan here right now. The busboard itself is still green but Bridge card is the MKIII version. Sorry Jeff you might have been the last of the last.
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: Motormouth on May 31, 2016, 01:08:24 AM
I wonder if AmigaKit will carry the new V3.3 Mediators?
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: Rob on May 31, 2016, 01:38:19 AM
Quote from: Motormouth;809344
I wonder if AmigaKit will carry the new V3.3 Mediators?


I expect so but why not ask them.
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: Motormouth on May 31, 2016, 02:36:21 AM
Quote from: Rob;809345
I expect so but why not ask them.


Alas, I have tried emailing their sales address twice in the past several months, specifically  about 3.3V mediators, to no avail.

The good news is, I ordered a couple things from them during the same time time with no problems.  If they carry them, I know there will be no problems getting them.
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: amigakit on May 31, 2016, 08:41:24 PM
Hi

We have the new Mediator PCI 4000Di MKIII Busboard (http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=517) in stock now:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=517

We hope to also get some 4000D very shortly.
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: Motormouth on June 01, 2016, 03:45:58 AM
Quote from: amigakit;809366
Hi

We have the new Mediator PCI 4000Di MKIII Busboard (http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=517) in stock now:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=517

We hope to also get some 4000D very shortly.


Just for clarification the link you posted is for the MKIII, but under the product info it says PCI 2.1, I assume this is the MKII description and is suppose to be PCI 2.2.  I just want to make sure this is correct.
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: midway on June 01, 2016, 03:55:22 AM
would be nice to see some 8mb cdtv expansions too and respond too emails, unless the elbox website is not hosted anymore ?
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: mechy on June 02, 2016, 02:50:12 AM
Quote from: Jeff;809186
Doh! Me too, I should have waited just a bit longer.


its easy to make the old mediators 3.3v compatible, if u run a atx psu just run a 3.3v wire to the pci slots.you can prob. google for the picture of it.
i did this to mine many years ago and can use 5v or 3.3v cards with no problem.
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: mechy on June 02, 2016, 02:50:54 AM
Quote from: Heiroglyph;809162
Mine is ancient, like v1.0 ancient.

Is there an upgrade path or buy a whole new one?

hahahahaha :)
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: Jeff on June 02, 2016, 03:32:51 AM
Quote from: mechy;809406
its easy to make the old mediators 3.3v compatible, if u run a atx psu just run a 3.3v wire to the pci slots.you can prob. google for the picture of it.
i did this to mine many years ago and can use 5v or 3.3v cards with no problem.

Thank you that's a good idea. My A4000D Mediator is populated and it working fine. I don't think I need 3.3 volts unless something new comes out that I must have :) I suppose it's a good excuse to buy more new Amiga hardware!
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: HammerD on June 02, 2016, 06:11:24 AM
Quote from: Jeff;809408
Thank you that's a good idea. My A4000D Mediator is populated and it working fine. I don't think I need 3.3 volts unless something new comes out that I must have :) I suppose it's a good excuse to buy more new Amiga hardware!


The Sonnet Crescendo PPC board requires 3V.  There is an ongoing effort to make it work with already great results.

See this thread at English Amiga Board:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=76633&highlight=sonnet
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: AltRN8 on June 02, 2016, 12:07:29 PM
This is the exact reason I picked up the PCI board. I happen to have a Sonnet Crescendo PPC board. I was planning to mod the 3V into the card but since I received the 3v version I won't have to now. Currently I'm just waiting to get my hands on the patched pci.library and I should be able to test it out.
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: magnetic on June 02, 2016, 12:15:32 PM
Quote from: amigakit;809366
Hi

We have the new Mediator PCI 4000Di MKIII Busboard (http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=517) in stock now:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=517

We hope to also get some 4000D very shortly.


Ordered! Cant wait! Just be sure its the 3.3 "black" MK III model  please ;-) What Radeon card would be the best and cheapest to get? Can I now buy just any Radeon 9250 card?
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: kreciu on June 02, 2016, 02:58:13 PM
Only problem with Sonnet it... you can't buy it anywhere :(
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: HammerD on June 02, 2016, 03:22:10 PM
Quote from: kreciu;809418
Only problem with Sonnet it... you can't buy it anywhere :(

Yes you have to find it second hand now.  Sonnet sold off all the stock a few years ago at dirt cheap prices.   They do periodically show up on eBay.  And maybe at computer stores that sell used Macs.

I was lucky enough to get my Sonnet during the fire-sale.  I paid $29.95 USD for the G3/500MHz version.

Elbox is shipping my new Mediator 3V 4000Di today so hopefully I will have it in a week or two and I can also actually use my Sonnet now :)
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: kreciu on June 02, 2016, 04:20:11 PM
Lucky you with purchase of Sonnet. I got my "black" Mediator A1200 already :).
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: Motormouth on June 03, 2016, 12:07:02 AM
Quote from: HammerD;809410
The Sonnet Crescendo PPC board requires 3V.  There is an ongoing effort to make it work with already great results.

See this thread at English Amiga Board:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=76633&highlight=sonnet


Ditto!

Also there are many 3.3V ATI 9200 cards out there
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: AltRN8 on June 03, 2016, 03:24:38 AM
I got mine in the fire sale as well. So glad I picked it up back then.
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: magnetic on June 03, 2016, 04:51:49 AM
Quote from: Motormouth;809440
Ditto!

Also there are many 3.3V ATI 9200 cards out there


Will ALL Radeon 9200 work now?

What about Radeon 9250?
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: Acill on June 03, 2016, 05:08:28 AM
They SHOULD, but some of the Chinese ones are strange and may be hit or miss.
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: magnetic on June 03, 2016, 05:30:34 AM
thanks acill what do you mean 'chinese' ones lol?
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: Acill on June 03, 2016, 01:47:05 PM
Quote from: magnetic;809452
thanks acill what do you mean 'chinese' ones lol?


Plain box, some brand you never heard of and the descriptions tell you things in what looks like english at first glance but leaves you asking yourself what the hell you just read.

This will work on a 3.3V mediator I am sure, and only $20

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Diamond-S9250-SB-Edition-3D-Graphics-PCI-256MB-DDR-ATI-Radeon-Graphics-/282054245268?hash=item41abbe3b94:g:wLYAAOSwNsdXTafl
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: mechy on June 03, 2016, 07:27:38 PM
Quote from: Acill;809458
Plain box, some brand you never heard of and the descriptions tell you things in what looks like english at first glance but leaves you asking yourself what the hell you just read.

This will work on a 3.3V mediator I am sure, and only $20

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Diamond-S9250-SB-Edition-3D-Graphics-PCI-256MB-DDR-ATI-Radeon-Graphics-/282054245268?hash=item41abbe3b94:g:wLYAAOSwNsdXTafl

sapphire radeon is usually a safe bet also
.
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: kreciu on June 03, 2016, 08:00:04 PM
I have 9200 with 128MB and it was not very easy to make it work on my Mediator A1200. Not all PCI slots recognized card etc. etc. I used PCIinfo to see is Radeon is "visible". I love Amiga, all this plug and pray ;)
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: Erol on June 04, 2016, 07:27:53 PM
Nice to see Elbox still supporting the Amiga.

I wonder what happened to the Dragon 1200 Accelerator?
http://elbox.com/news_04_12_17.html

I guess i'll be waiting for the Vampire2 board to appear for the A1200 and A4000..
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: Acill on June 04, 2016, 08:39:07 PM
Quote from: Erol;809496
Nice to see Elbox still supporting the Amiga.

I wonder what happened to the Dragon 1200 Accelerator?
http://elbox.com/news_04_12_17.html

I guess i'll be waiting for the Vampire2 board to appear for the A1200 and A4000..


I would guess they couldnt source enough of the Sonnett boards they planned to rebadge the same way the Spider and Spider II was done.
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: QuikSanz on June 04, 2016, 08:48:42 PM
Quote from: kreciu;809470
I have 9200 with 128MB and it was not very easy to make it work on my Mediator A1200. Not all PCI slots recognized card etc. etc. I used PCIinfo to see is Radeon is "visible". I love Amiga, all this plug and pray ;)


PCI has no "Autoconfig" chip, so yes, plug&pray. To bad no other manufacturer picked up this feature.
Title: Re: 3V version of Mediator 4000D
Post by: Rob on June 05, 2016, 12:54:49 AM
Quote from: Acill;809499
I would guess they couldnt source enough of the Sonnett boards they planned to rebadge the same way the Spider and Spider II was done.


The Dragon was the Coldfire based accelerator with an AGP and PCI slots.  It was shown working at an Amiga meeting in Krakow back in 2006.  I can only assume that they never got satisfactory speed to make it worthwhile.

A Sonnet like board is not beyond the capability of Elbox's engineers maybe with interest in the WarpOS for Sonnet they may consider a making their own Tsi108 based cards.

If any hobbyist fancies doing their own design then there currently a couple of batches of Tsi108 bridges for a knock down price.  It works out at £8.40 a piece.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Qty-34-New-IDT-Tsi108-Series-TSI108-200CL-IC-Host-Bridge-PowerPC-1023PBGA/281754394692?_trksid=p2047675.c100005.m1851&_trkparms=aid%3D222007%26algo%3DSIC.MBE%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D33877%26meid%3D594d7f7fc2b947759478bb168f143422%26pid%3D100005%26rk%3D1%26rkt%3D2%26sd%3D271935322965

Couple that with a tasty 7448 and you can have a classic Amiga that crunches numbers faster than the X1000.