Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Amiga OS 3.2 released  (Read 28983 times)

Description:

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TribbleSmasherTopic starter

Re: Amiga OS 3.2 released
« Reply #29 on: May 16, 2021, 12:32:31 PM »
Which other disks do i need? Are disks 1 and 10 both needed?

And as far as i understand the modules disk is only needed with an older ROM, isn't it?

I just tried to figure how one would choose a minimal floppy installation:
Do i need disk 1 and disk 10?
Why is an EN or UK localization required? What is the 'internal' language?

For now i am at 9 disks:
2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 10, 11, 14 plus one modules disk (28 - 35)..

for one language you need at least 14 Disks. The localization disks are for the included HELP-System by just pressing HELP you get infos and Help for the options in any language. This needs a seperate disk
« Last Edit: May 16, 2021, 12:33:54 PM by TribbleSmasher »
 

Offline bubbob42

Re: Amiga OS 3.2 released
« Reply #30 on: May 16, 2021, 03:11:43 PM »
They didn't, Hyperion did all the chosing.

With a feeling of wonder and amazement I can only comment: kolla is right about this one.  ;D
 

Offline Matt_H

Re: Amiga OS 3.2 released
« Reply #31 on: May 16, 2021, 04:01:17 PM »
And I haven't even had time to install 3.1.4 yet! It's a strange feeling when Amiga developments move faster than you! :D
 

Offline TribbleSmasherTopic starter

Re: Amiga OS 3.2 released
« Reply #32 on: May 16, 2021, 04:14:28 PM »
Yep! You pass out on the sofa and wooops two years are gone.. :o
 

Offline Beast96GT

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2008
  • Posts: 191
    • Show only replies by Beast96GT
Re: Amiga OS 3.2 released
« Reply #33 on: May 16, 2021, 06:07:15 PM »
Is there any news about an upgrade fee for existing 3.1.4 users?

I think we can do both, support our hobby and ask about an upgrade.   8)   

I just bought 3.1.4. ROMS for my A1200 and A4000, plus I still need to buy for an A2500 and A3000 that are on 3.1 still.

There's a place in France called "Amedia" that lists an upgrade from 3.1.4. in a dropdown, but I'm not sure how it works.     Maybe Matthew from AmigaKit can set something up.   
 

Offline QuikSanz

Re: Amiga OS 3.2 released
« Reply #34 on: May 16, 2021, 08:03:38 PM »
 I'll be getting this ASAP, hope the new CDFS version is as good as my missing AsimCDFS was.

Chris
 

Offline trekiej

Re: Amiga OS 3.2 released
« Reply #35 on: May 17, 2021, 12:51:05 AM »
Noob Question.

I Workbench.Library on disk?

I have 3.X on my A600 and I think it could make upgrading easier.
Is there a minimum of how much a Kick Start needs for booting? I believe so.

Also, if I wanted to go all-out and put everything in Ram for speed and upgrade ability, could it be done?
Amiga 2000 Forever :)
Welcome to the Planar System.
 

Offline Pat the Cat

Re: Amiga OS 3.2 released
« Reply #36 on: May 17, 2021, 12:56:38 AM »
Theoretically. With the Load Module program, you can upgrade or downgrade any component to a "loaded from disk into RAM" capability.

Means slow booting times though. Even if you can get all the relevant modules in Load Module friendly format.
« Last Edit: May 17, 2021, 01:02:17 AM by Pat the Cat »
"To recurse is human. To iterate, divine."

A1200, Vanilla, Surf Squirrel, SD Card, KS 3.0/3.z, PCMCIA dev
A500, Vanilla, A570, Rev 5, KS 1.2/1.3 Testbench system
Rasp Pi, UAE4ARM, 3D laser scanner, experimental, hoping for AmigaOS4Arm, based on Watterott Fabscan Pi
 

Offline trekiej

Re: Amiga OS 3.2 released
« Reply #37 on: May 17, 2021, 01:33:34 AM »
I believe the opposite end of the spectrum is every thing in Rom or Kick Start.
If you have the Ram space either could be useful.
Amiga 2000 Forever :)
Welcome to the Planar System.
 

Offline Steady

Re: Amiga OS 3.2 released
« Reply #38 on: May 17, 2021, 01:52:12 AM »
@TribbleSmasher

U.S. English is still the default language.

For that language and assuming you don't need a SuperKickstart, you would need the following floppies:

Install
Workbench
Extras
Classes
Fonts
Storage
GlowIcons (only if you are going to install GlowIcons)
DiskDoctor (not required but it is good to have this bootable disk on hand. It is much better than the original DiskDoctor)
Locale
MMULibs (if you have 68030 or higher and you don't already have the manufacturer's version of 680x0.library).
Backdrops

You will also need the modules disk for your machine ONLY IF YOU ARE NOT USING A 3.2 ROM.
« Last Edit: May 17, 2021, 01:53:16 AM by Steady »
 

Offline TribbleSmasherTopic starter

Re: Amiga OS 3.2 released
« Reply #39 on: May 17, 2021, 08:46:49 AM »
So, 7 disks then?
 

Offline Steady

Re: Amiga OS 3.2 released
« Reply #40 on: May 18, 2021, 01:28:32 AM »
8. I included Backdrops because I couldn't remember if it was asked for regardless. In the FAQ it is also not listed as optional, so for that reason I recommend making an ADF of that too.

Update: I just checked. The install will ask for Backdrops so you'll need to write that out to floppy too if you want to install using real floppies.
« Last Edit: May 18, 2021, 01:42:24 AM by Steady »
 
The following users thanked this post: TribbleSmasher

Offline klx300r

  • Amiga 1000+AmigaOne X1000
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2007
  • Posts: 3209
  • Country: ca
  • Thanked: 19 times
  • Gender: Male
    • Show only replies by klx300r
    • http://mancave-ramblings.blogspot.ca/
Re: Amiga OS 3.2 released
« Reply #41 on: May 18, 2021, 07:01:13 AM »
for us Canadians https://retrorewind.ca/amigaos-3.2 will be selling the CD & physical roms/disks too
____________________________________________________________________
c64-dual sids, A1000, A1200-060@50, A4000-CSMKIII
Indivision AGA & Catweasel MK4+= Amazing
! My Master Miggies-Amiga 1000 & AmigaOne X1000 !
--- www.mancave-ramblings.blogspot.ca ---
  -AspireOS.com & Amikit- Amiga for your netbook-
***X1000- I BELIEVE *** :angel:
 
The following users thanked this post: dovegrace

Offline TribbleSmasherTopic starter

Re: Amiga OS 3.2 released
« Reply #42 on: May 18, 2021, 04:40:29 PM »
Could one possibly skip the installation of the Backdrops disk?

Eve if not, we are still far away from the previously mentioned 14 Disks for a floppy install. Dunno where that came from...

Of course if you would order a disk set you want to have all disks for a system, including the modules.
8. I included Backdrops because I couldn't remember if it was asked for regardless. In the FAQ it is also not listed as optional, so for that reason I recommend making an ADF of that too.

Update: I just checked. The install will ask for Backdrops so you'll need to write that out to floppy too if you want to install using real floppies.
« Last Edit: May 18, 2021, 05:07:50 PM by TribbleSmasher »
 

Offline bubbob42

Re: Amiga OS 3.2 released
« Reply #43 on: May 18, 2021, 08:56:44 PM »
I don't know if that helps, but installing 3.2 from a Gotek floppy drive took 15 minutes on a bare A3000. Every Amiga household should have an external Gotek nowadays. ;)
 

Offline trekiej

Re: Amiga OS 3.2 released
« Reply #44 from previous page: May 19, 2021, 07:36:38 PM »
Will 3.1.4 be discontinued?
Amiga 2000 Forever :)
Welcome to the Planar System.